Customer Reviews for

The Cardinal of the Kremlin

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    CLANCYS BEST !!!

    This book was a great read. i read it in 8 days. a real page turner. the technology and science hooked me in while the cutting edge CIA adventure kept me up past midnight many nights. Any one who reads this should read this book. you will not be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    This Book is the best Clancy book I've read yet!

    This is a very good book. A must read for Clancy fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Clancy's Best Work!!!!

    I am an avid reader of Tom Clancy books and I have read every one of his fiction, including those in the Power Play and Op- Center categories. I enjoyed every book to date, and even though I read it over 5 years ago, Cardinal of the Kremlin is the one that sticks out in my mind the most. If you like Cold War spy stories, this one is hands down a winner. The only downfall is that you'll probably finish it in a week and be left wanting more. Very captivating!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    STUNNING!

    This is easily one of Clancy's best works, and I have read them all save one (which I will read next). The 'Cardinal' is a High-Ranking Russian War-Hero who has become disenchanted with all the 'chekist' in his government. He has been supplying the U.S. with information, but still considers himself a patriot. This book provides a wonderful insight into Russia at about the time of the Cold War and still manages to provide several other story lines, including the ever-popular Jack Ryan. A MUST READ for any Clancy fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    Great Book!!

    This is one of Clancy's best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2001

    An intriguing high tech espionage thriller

    The Cardinal of the Kremlin is one of Clancy's good works. He combines technological detail as well as the human factor, making the story utterly realistic. From the high tech Bright Star project to the KGB's nightmarish sensory deprivation tank, this story is top notch. The only major flaw is how Filitov a.k.a Cardinal and the KGB Chairman escape to the United States. The depth is missing here as well as the usual detail. The death of the Cardinal was very sudden and very ill-described. Other than that, this book is a thriller from start to finish and describes the SDI technology very accurately. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2001

    THE HIDDEN SIDE OF INTERNATIONAL POLITICS!!!!

    While Cardinal is certainly not Tom Clancy's best work, it is better than most authors' best attempt. Cardinal introduces the reader to the world of spies. Cardinal shows the reader how information is gained by foreign powers. Then it tells how information is used by either side to gain leverage. In difficult negotiations, spies are what get deals done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2000

    Clancy's best book yet!

    I read a lot of Tom Clancy,and I must say that this is by far his best book ever. This book never lets up on the action, and it seems to me that Clancy is at the top of his game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    Big Disappointment

    The Hunt for Red October was really Clancy's masterpiece. Red Storm Rising was also excellent. The Cardinal of the Kremlin, however, is another story. Like Patriot Games, the ending is rotten. You think Mikhail is going to hold out and not give them the information, but he is defeated. And why do we even need to know about the KGB's method of taking away all senses from their prisoners to get confessions when it has nothing to do with the story? If you want to read a good political thriller, read The Hunt for Red October or Red Storm Rising, skip Patriot Games and Cardinal. Or even better, find another author. These days, Mr. Clancy just doesn't cut it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2000

    Great Book!

    This is a short book by Clancy's standards. I think this is the overall worst book in the Jack Ryan series, but don't be fooled. This is still a very good book. It's just a little out there from all the others. YOU have to read this if you read 'The Hunt for Red October'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2000

    Einstein Eat Your Heart Out

    The story starts out kinda complicated (i think only a hand full of people would probably really understand it) but the plot just gets better and better...Clancy always has a way of delivering in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2000

    wow

    If any individual challenges the validity or literary greatness of this novel, don't believe them. This reviewer was biost because he had been informed that this was not Clancy's best work. However, my mind quickly changed as Clancy brought me through a roller coaster of suspense, mystery, and intrigue. Read this book or u will surely regret it for the rest of your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 141 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8