Customer Reviews for

Cards on the Table (Hercule Poirot Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    A Nice Twist on the Locked-Roo Mystery

    What is often enjoyable about Christie novels is how willing she is to make her job difficult. She can make tricky situations--"And Then There Were None" is a particularly stellar example--that the normal author could never write his or her way out of, and then finesse a unforseen, yet perfect resolution.

    This book is no exception; the victim is murdered in a locked room that contains four others, all four of whom are suspected by the victim to have "killed before." He is alive at the beginning of the evening of bridge playing, and dead at the end--stabbed by one of these four people. The extra twist is that there are four more guests, in another room--four "detectives:" Hercule Poiret, Ariadne Oliver (Christie's semi-autobiographical character,) Superintendent Battle (star of several of Christie's lesser-known mysteries,) and Colonel Race, a not-very-much-sketched-out secret service-type who appears mostly to bring the detective total up to four--one for each suspected murderer.

    It's another enjoyable book, and the ending is satisfying, with a good journey to get there, but the constant switching back and forth as to who is stated as the killer gets a little tiresome, with particularly egergious examples near the end. The almost purely "little grey cells" nature of this detecting, with Poirot finding the killer based mainly on the way the bridge game was played, is excellent, so if you prefer the more-logical side of Christie's book, this is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2009

    Different from most Poirot mysteries.

    This is a great Agatha Christie novel, as usual. The characters are in their regular eccentric form, Poirot is his arrogant Belgian self, but there is one difference from the norm. The crime that is committed doesn't have as many tangible clues as you would usually see. It's much more psychological. Maybe not my favorite by Christie, but still an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of My All Time Favorites

    "Cards on the Table" is one of my all time favorite Agatha Christie books. The characters are well written, the plot will have you guessing till the very end. It is yet another A.C. book that I will reread for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2003

    Where's Hercule ???

    For a book that features Hercule Poirot as the main character I kept wondering when he would show up in depth. This book is very slow and repitious to develop. It is less Hercule and more about the surrounding characters. It's an OK read, but not much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2003

    Cards on the table

    Agatha Christie Cards on the Table Murder, Mystery Someone has murdered Mr.Shanta! Don't worry Hercule Poirot is here. This is a book that will make you grip your covers and sit at the edge of your seat. The invitations have been sent; but there is a horrible surprise in store for the seven guests. Miss Agatha Christie has done it again with another bone chilling, spine tingling novel featuring Hercule Poirot. Miss Christie brings Hercule Poirot alive in front of your very eyes with her great talent to add in every detail possible. Every character she uses is so different that it is amazing how well she can put them all in one novel. Hurcule is the wittiest lad they have at Scotland Yard and he has a job to crack the case of "cards on the table." He is also the main character in other of her books. While reading the book I thought of a text-to-text connection; it is when they made a movie about one of Agatha Christie¿s books called Murder on the Orient Express when a murder has been made on the Orient Express. Hurcule Poriot is the detective also in this book as well many others. Although this is a very good novel some of the vocabulary is very challenging. And sometimes hard to under stand the text and dialogue so in order to totally follow the book you must reread some parts, and be a reader who can ¿get inside the book.¿ But that won¿t be hard since you won¿t want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Killer Strikes During Card Game!!

    Dago Shaitana has a very interesting hoby. He collects people who have gotten away with murder and he invites Poirot to come and meet them.He arrives and finds Mrs.Oliver,Superintendent Battle, and Colonel Race have also been invited.If you notice Shaitana has invited four sleuths and four murders. During a card the sleuths and murders go into different rooms to play cards. Shaitana sits in the room where the murders are playing and by the end of the evening he is dead, murdered.Shaitana's dangerous hoby has finnally cought up with him but which of card players killed him? The answer may lie in the position of the cards on the table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Reading the book so far... It is an Outstanding Book!!

    I have just read the book and the book is Outstanding!! I try to observe the 4 suspects and see 'whodunit' but I can't pick out the murderer. Cards on the Table brings you many twists and turns and I know at the end Christie is going shock me with who the murderer is! Well I'm going going to continue reading and when I finish I'll give you my overall review of the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2001

    Unusual,Would come in top 5!

    A wonderful plot though unusual. Four suspects and a victim and of course Hercule POirot. And man, what a way of catching the murderer. I would rate it in Christie's top 5. Neatly written with twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2001

    Wonderful

    I've just read this book and it's wonderful. It's full of twist and turns, and right when you think you know, your wrong! A wonderful deciver!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2000

    Baffling!

    This is a VERY unusual book. Every time I thought I knew the answer, I had to change my mind. What a great challenge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2000

    Cards on the table

    i love the fact that their are more than one detectives in the story. You wonder if that will make the story easier to solve. Agatha will not let that happen. Instead, the novel is even more difficult to unravel. Have fun!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2