BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Caregiver (Families of Honor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A new take on the Amish story

    There are so many Amish books out there right now that sometimes it can be hard to sort through them and find ones that are a little unique or different. Here's a hint, find ones with Shelley Shepard Gray's name on them, pick them up and read them. "The Caregiver" is a beautiful story that deals with marital abuse, cancer, widowhood, love and trust. I'm thinking that Shelley knows someone that has gone through cancer because her descriptions as she deals with Lucy helping her cousin Mattie go through her chemotherapy I was near tears. It was moving and touching as Mattie deals with depression and Lucy struggles to keep her from losing hope. Lucy is Mattie's caregiver, but she soon finds out that maybe she needs a little more care herself than she realized. There are some wonderful plot points in this book and Shelley has a way of making you really care about the different characters. A beautiful story and I look forward to the next one in this series.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Inspirational

    Inspirational

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    1st in Families of Honor series is enjoyable read

    The Caregiver by Shelley Shepard Gray is the first book in the Families of Honor series. Lucy Troyer is traveling alone on a train to Jacob's Crossing to help care for her cousin Mattie who is battling cancer. Lucy's still trying to get her life back after the death of her husband, Paul, a year ago. Although they were only married for two years, Lucy was permanently changed by his constant and brutal physical and verbal abuse. She's no longer the independent, strong and happy woman she once was. She meets Calvin Weaver and his little sister, Katie, on the train, and the trio lean on each other when the train has technical problems, creating a bond in the midst of adversity. Calvin and Katie just happen to be from Jacob's Crossing, which Lucy sees as a sign of God's hand. Calvin is still smarting from the betrayal of his best friend and girlfriend who fell in love with each other, leaving him humiliated in front of the community. Calvin and Lucy both tentatively connect through their enforced time together, but misunderstandings leave them both disturbed by the other's behavior. Still, neither can deny the connection between them, and their hesitant and sweet romance is the strength of the book. Mattie's battle with cancer and the ensuing depression and distance from the Lord adds depth and complexity to the plot. Without her, the story would seem almost too sweet, but Mattie makes Lucy speak her mind and face the truth, even when it's uncomfortable. The two young women come to see that they have much in common: both were placed in terrible situations where they questioned God's will and their lives were irrevocably changed by it. Gray has filled Jacob's Crossing with a variety of interesting characters who will surely make the series an enjoyable read. While Lucy and Calvin's romance is delicate and sweet, Mattie's anger is very real and gritty, and her relationship with Graham is an enigma. Plus John, Calvin's uncle who left the faith twenty years ago, has returned and is torn between an Englischer woman and an Amish widow with a son. There's a lot to love about this series. Gray is one of my favorite writers of bonnet fiction; she really makes the characters come to life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I loved this book , could hardly put it down , and most of all w

    I loved this book , could hardly put it down , and most of all wanted it to be much longer . I finished and went directly on to book 2 . I love the way Mrs. Gray writes and will read many more of her books . I highly recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    This book has a heavier theme than most Amish fiction. The situa

    This book has a heavier theme than most Amish fiction. The situations are very real though and draw you in. It can hit home for many readers as we can relate to a traumatic event that makes you change the way in which you view your life. The feelings of the domestic violence victim were accurately portrayed affecting other relationships and all facets of her life. The young cancer patient starts out being brave and upbeat until she has had enough and feels she can take it no more. The characters come to life. I like the way the characters are able to deal with their misunderstandings and mistakes without too much time going by. They seem like real adults.
    I loved it and highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Didn't want to put it down!

    I really enjoyed reading this. I just bought 2 & 3. Looking forward to continuing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    First book i read on my new Nook and i loved it! Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Too bad that I've read the 2nd book in series before this one. H

    Too bad that I've read the 2nd book in series before this one. However it was still very interesting and captivation fast pace writing. Liked it alot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I bought this book at a recent conference and thoroughly enjoyed

    I bought this book at a recent conference and thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's a time to heal the lives of two women by helping one another.

    Lucy Troyer is coming via train to visit her cousin Mattie who is undergoing treatment for breast cancer among the Amish community of Jacob's crossing. Lucy feels that since Mattie was there for her when her husband Paul died and in the midst of years of abuse from him, it's the very least she can do.

    Lucy is also hoping to finally put some of the deep, dark nightmares to rest that have been haunting her since he died. She feels that this time away focusing on Mattie's care may bring the healing they both need. She ends up becoming friends with Calvin Weaver and his young sister Katie aboard the train and when it breaks down, she discovers that God has a bigger plan in her life than she thought.

    Mattie Lapp is beginning to wonder whether she can ever begin to live her life. She fears that cancer sits at her door waiting to take all it can including her life. She has already lost one breast and with the chemotherapy she isn't sure that she will be able to fight this final battle. Her only hope besides the expected visit of Lucy, is her childhood friend, Graham Weaver who lives next door. It is his unconditional caring that seems to help Mattie when everything else fails.

    I received The Caregiver by Shelley Shepard Gray compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and must say it was an award winner. The story between Lucy and Calvin is so much a different romance story than that happening between Mattie and Graham and the overlapping parallels of healing in both women's lives is touching on some many different levels. You can see how much God plays a part of every part of what each woman is dealing with and how His love, once more prevails. This one rates a perfect 5 out of 5 stars.

    This is also the first book in the Families of Honor series and can't wait to read them all. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Caregiver

    "The Caregiver" by Shelley Shepard Gray touches on a subject that I have rarely read about in the amish stories that I read, and that is domestic violence among the Amish. In this story we have the protagonist Lucy, who married a man that the Amish community thought well of.Soon after marrying Paul, he becomes verbally and physically abusive towards her. While many of the people in her community knew what was going on they did nothing. Lucy figures that she is destined to live the rest of her life with abuse,something that she blamed herself for. The only place that she could pour out her emotions were in the pages of her journal, so when an accident claims the life of her husband, she finds herself writing that she is actually relieved that he is dead.

    When her friend Mattie is diagnosed with breast cancer, Lucy decides she will head to Jacob's Crossing near Cleveland to help take care of her. Traveling alone by train she meets Calvin Miller and his precocious sister Katie, the only other Amish people on the train. When the train breaks down outside Toledo, the trio spends the day together,and while Lucy wants to believe that Calvin is nothing like Paul, she is afraid to trust.

    Calvin is carrying the hurt of betrayal of his former girlfriend Gwen and his friend Will. But when he finally gets home to Jacob's Crossing he can't quit thinking about Lucy. Will Lucy's past keep her from realizing what a great guy Calvin is, or will they be able to work beyond their past hurts to claim a future together?

    I really enjoyed reading this story, I felt like the author accurately portrayed the feelings that Lucy would have probably experienced as a person living with domestic violence. My heart broke for her on several occasions, especially when she longed to be the girl she was before the abuse began. I felt like Lucy's role as caregiver started long before she started helping to take care of Mattie. She was a daughter that married, so that it would ease the burden of her parents overcrowded house. When she found herself in an abusive marriage she then took the blame on herself, but always tried to anticipate the needs and wants of her husband. I was so glad when she found him dead, although had I been the author I would have probably had him ran over by a car or stomped by a bull, instead of simply falling off of a ladder.

    The author introduces to several secondary characters that have interesting stories of their own, which makes me anxious to read the next book in the Families of Honor series. While this book will definitely appeal to readers of Amish fiction, I think it would hold appeal to anyone who enjoys a well written inspirational story that weaves together the elements of faith, love and learning to trust again.

    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me an e-copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    he first Families of Honor tale is a terrific and stunning story

    For two years, Paul abused his wife Lucy. She concealed the bruises from friends and families; however those aware of his viciousness also pretend all was right with the couple. Now Lucy feels relief since Paul fell off a ladder to his death although it is one year since he died and she still remains frightened of men.

    Lucy rides the train to visit her ailing cousin Mattie in Jacob's Crossing. Timid Lucy meets Amish siblings extroverted Calvin and precocious Katie on board. The train breaks down near Cleveland, which allows additional time for Lucy to become less frightened with Calvin. He notices how comfortable she is with his younger sister but is wary of him. When they reach Jacob's Crossing, they learn they are neighbors, but her focus is on her relative suffering from breast cancer while he concentrates on his family farm. He hopes to help her move past the big hurt that has her acting like a scared cat around him but fears giving her his heart.

    The first Families of Honor tale is a terrific and stunning story as Shelley Shepard Gray makes a case that even in the most pious communities abuse occurs and is often ignored by those who should intervene. Lucy makes the plot work as she is afraid of men yet attracted to Calvin; while she also remains a true believer, in contrast her cousin is losing her faith in the Lord. Character driven, readers will enjoy this insightful look at an abuse victim starting to heal due to her faith and people showering her with love.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Amish Read

    I enjoyed reading this book and it made me realize that being Amish doesn't guarantee that there won't be abuse and heartbreak.
    Lucy shows great courage as she tries to get on with her life. I can't imagine the abuse she has suffered in her young life. Now she is headed to a new challenge ...helping her cousin Mattie. Mattie has been diagnosed with breast cancer and is about to start her chemo treatments.
    Calvin had what he thought was his heart broken, his girlfriend Gwen had betrayed him with his best friend Will.
    I "loved" how Calvin and his brothers treated their Mom! They truly showed their love and joy with her, going out of their way to make her happy. Then there is delightful Katie and their Uncle John. John is struggling to find his way in the English world, or back to his Amish roots.
    My main criticism of this book is that almost everything is left hanging. There are so many unanswered questions, but I take it they will be answered in the coming books.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from HarperCollins Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3