BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The most comprehensive & factural story of Elvis' life from his induction into the Army to his death.

I've read dozens of Elvis books, but this one stands out for the extensive research and content about his career transactions, life with his buddies, Priscilla, personality change and his tragic death. This book has no agenda other than to present Elvis' life as factua...
I've read dozens of Elvis books, but this one stands out for the extensive research and content about his career transactions, life with his buddies, Priscilla, personality change and his tragic death. This book has no agenda other than to present Elvis' life as factually as possible.

posted by chinali on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A depressing tale

This second volume of the Elvis bio is a sad story of his descent into drugs, womanizing, conspicuous consumption, and poor professional decisions. Interestingly, there are no real villains. Even Col. Parker comes across as a sincere and successful promoter - desp...
This second volume of the Elvis bio is a sad story of his descent into drugs, womanizing, conspicuous consumption, and poor professional decisions. Interestingly, there are no real villains. Even Col. Parker comes across as a sincere and successful promoter - despite poor artistic tastes. But there are no real good guys either. Guralnick's view is that Presley continued to hold high musical standards but was too insecure to overcome other commercial and personal forces. I have one major stylistic complaint that applies to this and the author's first Elvis book. Guralnick has an annoying habit of introducing people briefly and then mentioning them several paragraphs or chapters later only by their first names. He'll also introduce a person or event, then after a long unrelated tangent, refer again to the person or event as 'he' or 'it'. I often had to reread many pages to remember who he was talking about. Very frustrating!

posted by Anonymous on July 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    The most comprehensive & factural story of Elvis' life from his induction into the Army to his death.

    I've read dozens of Elvis books, but this one stands out for the extensive research and content about his career transactions, life with his buddies, Priscilla, personality change and his tragic death. This book has no agenda other than to present Elvis' life as factually as possible.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    weelll... i haven't read it yet!!

    i've read the little part that they let you read and i love it!!ELvis was surely before my time! he died like 20 years before i was born ,but he is still my favorite singer i've been in love with his music for as long as i can remember and ever since everyone has known me i loved him. i listen to his music all the time and i've watched the 68 comeback special to many times to count!and i've read any books about him and i cant wait to read this one and i'm sure i'll finish it in a heartbeat like any other book i've read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sad reading about the demise of a legend

    Guralnick is an adept writer and after having read "Last Train to Memphis" I could not wait to tackle the latter part of Elvis' life. While Elvis was before my time, this book makes for a fascinating read. Spend some time learning about the incredible influence Elvis had on our culture and then cry a bit as you learn the destructiveness of excess (drugs, women, etc).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2000

    A depressing tale

    This second volume of the Elvis bio is a sad story of his descent into drugs, womanizing, conspicuous consumption, and poor professional decisions. Interestingly, there are no real villains. Even Col. Parker comes across as a sincere and successful promoter - despite poor artistic tastes. But there are no real good guys either. Guralnick's view is that Presley continued to hold high musical standards but was too insecure to overcome other commercial and personal forces. I have one major stylistic complaint that applies to this and the author's first Elvis book. Guralnick has an annoying habit of introducing people briefly and then mentioning them several paragraphs or chapters later only by their first names. He'll also introduce a person or event, then after a long unrelated tangent, refer again to the person or event as 'he' or 'it'. I often had to reread many pages to remember who he was talking about. Very frustrating!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    DO NOT ORDER-Takes 11 months to get...maybe

    I ordered this for my nook in January 2012 as a preorder. I was supposed to get it in February, then March, then April...now it is November of 2012.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2005

    A STORY WELL TOLD

    I read Last Train and couldn't wait to start Careless Love. From the first page until the last, I could not put this book down. I felt that I lived every day with him. He really was The King and rightly so. His legacy will always live on good, bad or indifferent and I wish he was alive today. Thanks Peter for 2 wonderful books and for doing them right!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    I couldn't put it down!!

    This book included alot of detail and interesting facts about Elvis. It includes interviews and quotes from many of Elvis' friends, family and musicians. I could not put this book down, I just wanted to keep reading to find out as much as I could about who Elvis Presley was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Read

    If i could all i would do all day is do things that have to do with elvis only i am hiis number one fan and if you say anything bad about him you will deal with me also do not spell his name wrong or i will correct you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    The King

    Just when you thought you read or heard it all this wonderful book goes to another level . Some many different storys from many different people. 900 pages and I'm thinking all the same old stuff not even close. Read and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Careless Love: Th

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley begins in 1960 and ends in 1977 when Elvis Presley died. A previous book by this author focused on the early years. When Elvis left the army, he had to start his career all over again. Times were changing and starting all over wasn’t so easy. Author Peter Guralnick attempts to state the facts and allow readers to draw their own conclusions. Elvis surrounded himself with rather odd people and most of them were his employees. 

    I found many of the stories in this audio book disturbing because they are both funny and tragic. Presley and his entourage were constantly playing tricks on each other. He wanted to be appointed a Narcotics Agent and approached President Nixon concerning the appointment. Women were fascinated with Elvis and just kept coming back, regardless of how badly he treated them. He was under the influence of the Colonel and refused to listen to anyone else. The Elvis fans longed for and lusted after was merely a myth. In actuality, Elvis was a self-centered person. I found it strange that Elvis started singing Christian music with such greats as J. D. Sumer when in later life he was fascinated with New Age books. 

    This review is of the audio format of Careless Love: The Unmaking of Elvis Presley. There were times the author had me laughing but there were other times that all I felt was sorrow at the talented man spiraling downward out of control. The best part of this book is the honesty. Peter Guarlnick captures the true essence of Elvis without the myths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2