Customer Reviews for

Caress of Steel

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Caress of Steel

    Caress of Steel IS the greatest album of all-time. Bastille Day is probably Rush's best opening song on an album. I Think I'm Going Bald is a comical and yet serious reflection on ones life. Lakeside Park is a beautiful description of a Place near where the members of the band lived. It's very nostalgic. The Necromancer is a tale inspired by The Lord of the Rings. The beginning of the piece is peaceful dark. It sets the scene for the next parts. The middle section is incredibly raw and fierce. The guitar solo in this section is Alex's most energetic and most unbridled guitar playing of his career. The last section is much lighter than the rest of the piece..while By-Tor comes to save the day. The Fountain of Lamneth is the ultimate 20 minute song. To describe this song in a few sentences would never do it any justice. In Didacts and Narpets Neil plays an awesome drum solo that ends with the band (especially Geddy) screaming ''Listen!''. No One at the Bridge features the most beautiful guitar solo I've EVER heard. This is another high point in Alex's career. Panacea is a melodic masterpiece. Bacchus Plateau is the ultimate drinking song. The end of the song, he reaches the fountain and realises ''It's really not the end!''. This song is perfect from beginning to end. So, from the first hair-raising notes of Bastille Day to that undescribable sound that races across your speakers at the end of Fountain, it should keep you captive in awe of the greatness of Rush.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Melody, Music, Mood and Songwriting

    I've been a Rush fan for about 16 years now. Back when I first heard the album Caress of Steel, I only liked some of the songs on the cd. However, the more I listened to it, the more I liked it. It is now one of my favorite albums (Rush or otherwise) of all time. The album is a masterpiece. INCREDIBLE and MEMORABLE SONGS and MELODIES. Awesome musicianship and singing. I love this album. I own it on CD and listen to it still, years later after first purchasing it years ago. Austin, TX

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of..

    Caress Of Steel has always been my favorite Rush album..I remember buying the vinyl when it came out, putting it on my Denon turntable with the Infinity Black Widow Arm and Grado G1 + cartridge and CRANKING it with the headphones on. Alex's guitar mixing was superb, really moving all over the place which incredibly enhanced his playing to a greater level than could ever be realized with simple stereo separation. I was totally blown away...a wonder i can still hear! The playing and creativity of Geddy and Neil are also most outstanding on this effort too. Definately one of top 20 lps of all time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Heavy Prog-Rock Super-album

    From the powerful punch of Bastille Day to the ending taps of The Fountain of Lamneth, this album still proves to be one of Rush's heaviest and most well-balanced albums. Though it's true the last two tracks tend to drag at some points, stellar moments in the songs make each very much worth sitting through. Frankly, the world wasnt ready for this album. If Rush had waited till they were more popular, then released this album it would have become a huge hit. Still, an amazing album (if you ignore the lyrics of "I Think I'm Going Bald."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Caress of Steel

    Rush composed this masterpiece with more confidence than any of the other albums. And it shows. This is the greatest album of ALL TIME...IMHO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recorded in 1973/1974 ?

    I was born in 1974 and only heard Caress of Steel when I became 13 years old. But when I heard Panacea I thought I heard it all my life ! This album is the ethalon of rock music of it's time. It is musicaly perfect the theme is timeless, and you must appreciate art to comprehend and enjoy any of it ! It takes off with the Necromancer and the rest of the album plays like a beautiful tale. If you have not listened to this one you missed out probably one of the greatest piece of music of all times. Try listen to the album on vinyl !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Grand and noble challenge to the listener!

    With ''Caress of Steel'', RUSH made what might prehaps be the most daring musical move made in this half of the century. It is very very very terrible rock and roll. It is the most sublime peice of music in the last thirty years. That said, it doesn't compare at all to any of their other works, perhaps except Hemispheres. But it shouldn't be compared to them. It has transcended rock in any form, and to find something worthy to compare it to for good or for ill, you have to go all the back to the likes of Bach, Bethoven, and most of all Wagner (Wagner in particular, in reference to Necromancer). I hated this album when I first listened to it. But I listened to it again. And again. After about the tenth time I finally ''got'' it. Now I love it like a child, and Necromancer is my favorite song, Lamneth my second. A work that educates the listener in aestetic taste. A true work of art. In Caress of Steel, the boys from Montreal achieved what Nietzche would call, a most sublime moment of self-overcoming, and everything they have done since, is just a bringing back to the masses, what they found at this height.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A gem that was widely over looked!!!

    To call this the worst album of the collection is a mistake. Yes, it went ''down the tubes'' quick, but the true Rush fan can see the genius of the work. Fountain of Lamneth proves the intent they were working on to get 2112. The song is laced with metaphors that are wonderfully descriptive. An example is ''Life is like a candle and the dream must give it flame.'' That is the truth. The album musically and lyrically flows together. I think I'm going Bald is a jab at the humor of life while at the same time exploring more serious themeslike the storming of the Bastille or the search for the Fountain of Lamneth. The Fountain of Lamneth could be viewed as the epic fantasy of what if Ponce de Leon actually found the Fountain of Youth would he share the same views as the members of Rush or would be an estatic find. I highly recommend this album to anyone interested in Rush. It is a taste of what was to come with 2112 and Hemispheres.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    *The Best Album of All Time*

    Sweeter than life itself, Caress is true artistic beauty. This album is utterly timeless. While it's too sophisticated for a lot of people to take, it is a musical masterpiece. A monument to Rush in their purest form. Here the band was at their most downright dangerous. Not only is it their best work of art; it is sublimely magical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1