Customer Reviews for

A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Princess Merry Gentry

The sequel to A Kiss of Shadows and even better. I loved this book. I could not put it down. Merry continues her quest for the throne by spending every night in bed with one or more of her sexy guards. The plot gets thicker as the Seelie Court is brought further into th...
The sequel to A Kiss of Shadows and even better. I loved this book. I could not put it down. Merry continues her quest for the throne by spending every night in bed with one or more of her sexy guards. The plot gets thicker as the Seelie Court is brought further into the picture. The storyline is amazing and enticing. The description can get a little excessive but it isn't so unbearable you go insane trying to get through it, Laurell K. Hamilton is a master with words. The characters are each amazing in their complexity, each one is unique and quite realistic. I love how she fuses a mythology of gods and godessess into the story of the fey. The tone is sensual and comedic but sometimes serious and dark, always mind bending. A page turner just like the one before it and I'm sure the one after it. Romance is chaotic through out it and in different ways, Merry is in love with one of her guards just as another finally opens up to her and joins her bed. A highly recommended read for anyone of the paranormal/fantasy romance genre.

posted by Josilene_Areck on October 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Oxymoron Collaboration of Mediocre Romance and Fantastic Fantasy

Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish s...
Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish sexual situations just so Merry can have sex and I was ok with that. However this second installment really tried my patience. There was a lot of unnecessary rehashing and explanations, almost as if she were stalling and drawing out the storyline; in addition, the sex she writes in for Merry just sucks! I like the twist of a female having a harem of men to serve her but in Merry's case the men don't seem to be going out of their way to please Merry or even consider pleasing her. It mainly feels like Merry gives a lot of pity sex or just plain passionless and pointless quickies or pretty much just gives. Apart from the nuisances, the fantasy portion of this installment was creative, action-packed and electrifying. Laurell has a created a magical world filled with danger, darkness and excitement. I recommend this series to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers who are fully forewarned of the many bizarre sexual settings and the portrayal of Merry as the center of the universe or the one that everyone desires. If you have the patience to tolerate these things, only then do I recommend this series to you. Aside from my frustrations with the sexual aspect of this installment, when Laurell is sticking to the storyline, the storyline is phenomenal. Fantasy wise, I can't wait to see what happens in the next installment Seduced by Moonlight.

posted by kitkat3ny on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 615 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    With a little terror and a lot of lust, Hamilton has really brought this story to life. I truely appreciate all the detail she supplies for each character and the current situation. I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    a caress of twilight

    Second book in a fairie series. Love Laurell K. Hamilton's writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Second Book in the incredible series!!!

    I really enjoyed this book by Laurell K Hamilton. It was a great kick off from the first book Kiss of Shadows. I liked how it tied in to the first book, and how everything that was done, said, or brought up had a very decriptive history behind it. Or it was explain in great detail.

    I believe Laurell K Hamilton is a master mind in crafting up her own little world for others to fall into.

    I can honestly say, this book was a book I couldnt put down from start to finish!! And anyone whose looking for a escape into another world please buy and read this book. Because it takes you to worlds and boundaries you couldnt even imagine.

    *Spooky*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pulls you in and holds you

    I really enjoyed this book and was drawn in right away. The book's racy scenes aren't really my "thing" but somehow they didn't detract from the story for me. It's not a fairy tale in the traditional sense and I like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Outsanding

    This book is great. I love the sexy character in this book. Merry has to win the race!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2004

    A Touch Of The Fay

    Laurell K. Has got to have a touch of the fay in her. The story comes alive for youy from the first page on. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    My vote is for Doyle!

    Well written, a bit more sexually graphic than the Anita Blake Series. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the first in the series, and eagerly anticipate the new one in February.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2003

    Sensuality, Intrigue, and Magic...What more could a girl want?

    Laurell K Hamilton is my favorite author!!! Her books are sooo great. These books happen to be the only books I can read multiple times. There are so masterfully written. The Merry Gentry books are awesome! I like the blend of magic and sexuality. How many women wouldn't want to be in Merry's place. I would sure love to be in her position! :-) The plot was established well. Merry sure has a lot of responsibilities, like trying to stay alive to create an heir to the faerie throne. But who will be her King? I personally vote for Frost! I like how Laurell made another strong female character, and we see that Merry can have her pick of all the men, but not be a s!ut. It's just Merry being who and what she is. I think the character is presented with all sorts of challenges and I know I can't wait to see her work through them in the next book. The next book is due out in the Spring of 2004. Did anyone notice how Merry is almost the exact opposite of Anita? The Anita Blake and Merry Gentry novels alternate releases! I cait wait!!! Yay!!! If you like LKH's books then while you wait for the next books check out Charlaine Harris' Southern Vampire Novels. Anita Blake and Sookie Stackhouse have a lot in common.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2003

    What happened to the mystery story line.

    This book has the series developing into erotica and less the mystery, science fiction fantasy, horror tale, I love and enjoy. I can't imagine how the author can get the character's to develop into half-way mentally balanced individuals in her next book. Anita's a mess. The mystery portion of the story is weak. The male characters are in need of therapy and the only mystery I can determine in this book, is to find males Anita did not engage in gratuitous sex. The different relationships Anita had with the characters, (horror fiends and policemen) made the story enjoyable. Most of the male characters seem to be developing with the same psychological profile (mentally tortured, disturbed and co-dependent). Anita was a strong female character who had her own beliefs and personal moral standards. This book has Anita¿s personality and standards subjugated to the downward de-evolving, co-dependent male characters. The focus is now on Anita's changing personality and loss of moral and sexual standards to dominate (through sex and intimidation) the passive- aggressive male characters. Most of the males are in pain and need to have plenty of sex to help them achieve mental health while clinging to Anita, to reinforce the co-dependent relationship. Laurell, please refer the males to a Psychiatrist, get rid of Anita¿s Messiah complex and get back to the God-Like-Powered-super-Witch, I love and admire, with a strong mystery story line.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Very well done.

    This story was very well done, it was a very good follow up of A Kiss Of Shadows. I can't wait for the next book in the series. I must say, the best part of this whole book was when she came into her second hand of power, when she called up the hand of blood, very very nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    BEAUTIFUL!!

    Hamilton's writing makes me feel like It could really happen. This one was magnificent and kept me guessing through the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Amazing Book

    This book is just fun... for a variety of reasons. Who needs serious 'real-life' drama stories anyway? We deal with enough reality and it's books like this one that make the real world a lot easier to bear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    this book kicks ass!!

    I LOVED this book! i usually never read fantasy books, but the hamilton series changed my mind. she has become one of my favorite authors. i can't wait for the next one.finally, a heroine that's a girl who's short, yet beautiful and tough. simply put, read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    The perfect mix of Magic..Sex.. And Politics!

    I love this book and the Meredith Series. I thought this book was a little short but it was great while it lasted. I cannot wait for the next one! Over 20 beautiful men to have sex with.. What more could a girl ask for? I love all the magick in this book. You must read it.. After I started it, I could not even put it down. You will read this in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    this isnt your every day fairy tale

    i love this book.this is a play on fantasy that just wont stop.LADIES....woudnt we all love to have our pick of handsome men an and have some one say sleep with them all or die!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    Once you start it you cannot put it down

    The characters are frightening, the Ravens sensual and the action bloody. The best way to read a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Great New Series

    I thought that this book was great. She has this great view of how to get people into these books. I love the way that she mixes the worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    LKH's best book yet.

    I own all of the books LKH has writen and this is by far her best work yet. She gives you a mix of horror romance love and some of the steamiest bedroom scenes ever created. She gives all of her charters a kind of depth that is wonderful and still believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    ...Perfect...

    This book was the best!!! I almost did not read this book because of the not-so-great reviews it got, spacificly about the sex part. There was not "loads" of it in there, it was perfect. All the men in there are so hot, and if i had my way with Frost, he'd better watch out or he'd melt baby! The ending of the book kinda got me there, it was as if she got tired of writing and ended it as soon and as acceptable as possible. Can someone please tell me if there is another book after this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    loved it

    I noticed in a lot of other peoples reviews there was many complaints about how Hamilton gets too involved in the sex of the novel Yet i feel as though the story is truly based on the idea of sex but not just sex but sex of a different kind.The detail of such mystical beings creating light just by the power of desire. You can't help but admire the thought of such beauty. I mean no matter what the story was meant to be based upon sex not necessarily love as you have all known a good love story. the story is about lust not only the lust of men but of all things.I found the novel quite intriquing and i am impatiently awaiting the arrival of the next one. The anticipation has truly gotten me in a bind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 615 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 31