BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 608 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(393)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Phenominal Read

This series just gets better and better! Once you read the first book you can't seem to stop reading the rest. Once I started the first, I couldn't wait until the other two came out. I hope there is alot more to come!

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Oxymoron Collaboration of Mediocre Romance and Fantastic Fantasy

Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish s...
Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish sexual situations just so Merry can have sex and I was ok with that. However this second installment really tried my patience. There was a lot of unnecessary rehashing and explanations, almost as if she were stalling and drawing out the storyline; in addition, the sex she writes in for Merry just sucks! I like the twist of a female having a harem of men to serve her but in Merry's case the men don't seem to be going out of their way to please Merry or even consider pleasing her. It mainly feels like Merry gives a lot of pity sex or just plain passionless and pointless quickies or pretty much just gives. Apart from the nuisances, the fantasy portion of this installment was creative, action-packed and electrifying. Laurell has a created a magical world filled with danger, darkness and excitement. I recommend this series to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers who are fully forewarned of the many bizarre sexual settings and the portrayal of Merry as the center of the universe or the one that everyone desires. If you have the patience to tolerate these things, only then do I recommend this series to you. Aside from my frustrations with the sexual aspect of this installment, when Laurell is sticking to the storyline, the storyline is phenomenal. Fantasy wise, I can't wait to see what happens in the next installment Seduced by Moonlight.

posted by kitkat3ny on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Oxymoron Collaboration of Mediocre Romance and Fantastic Fantasy

    Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish sexual situations just so Merry can have sex and I was ok with that. However this second installment really tried my patience. There was a lot of unnecessary rehashing and explanations, almost as if she were stalling and drawing out the storyline; in addition, the sex she writes in for Merry just sucks! I like the twist of a female having a harem of men to serve her but in Merry's case the men don't seem to be going out of their way to please Merry or even consider pleasing her. It mainly feels like Merry gives a lot of pity sex or just plain passionless and pointless quickies or pretty much just gives. Apart from the nuisances, the fantasy portion of this installment was creative, action-packed and electrifying. Laurell has a created a magical world filled with danger, darkness and excitement. I recommend this series to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers who are fully forewarned of the many bizarre sexual settings and the portrayal of Merry as the center of the universe or the one that everyone desires. If you have the patience to tolerate these things, only then do I recommend this series to you. Aside from my frustrations with the sexual aspect of this installment, when Laurell is sticking to the storyline, the storyline is phenomenal. Fantasy wise, I can't wait to see what happens in the next installment Seduced by Moonlight.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Princess Merry Gentry

    The sequel to A Kiss of Shadows and even better. I loved this book. I could not put it down. Merry continues her quest for the throne by spending every night in bed with one or more of her sexy guards. The plot gets thicker as the Seelie Court is brought further into the picture. The storyline is amazing and enticing. The description can get a little excessive but it isn't so unbearable you go insane trying to get through it, Laurell K. Hamilton is a master with words. The characters are each amazing in their complexity, each one is unique and quite realistic. I love how she fuses a mythology of gods and godessess into the story of the fey. The tone is sensual and comedic but sometimes serious and dark, always mind bending. A page turner just like the one before it and I'm sure the one after it. Romance is chaotic through out it and in different ways, Merry is in love with one of her guards just as another finally opens up to her and joins her bed. A highly recommended read for anyone of the paranormal/fantasy romance genre.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    second book is as good as the first...

    The second book in the Meredith Gentry series continues where the first left off, and is just as great as the first. Full of fantasy, steamy romance, and a little bit of suspense, I love this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    A Phenominal Read

    This series just gets better and better! Once you read the first book you can't seem to stop reading the rest. Once I started the first, I couldn't wait until the other two came out. I hope there is alot more to come!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was completely engrossed

    Another fantastic read from LKH. I am highly enjoying this series. I find myself completely engrossed into the story line and carrying about the fate of the characters. A great read for readers not prudish to the amount and type of sexual context.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Laurell K. Hamilton's best...

    LKH out did herself with her second book in the Merry Gentry series. I thought her first book was all about erotic sex and no plot. A Caress of Twilight more set the stage for her series. You could've started the series with this book. The plot was intriguing and drew me in from page one until the end. The characters definately became more defined and more loved. I don't know who I love more. Some of the characters that I didn't like in the first book, I now love in the second book. LKH is a beautiful writer and so talented. I can't wait to read the rest of her novels in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    You've got to love ms Hamilton's Meredith series

    I love this book and it just keeps getting better and better. Once you pick it up there is no way that you could stop. My husband got upset with me cause i burnt the rice while I was cooking and reading at the same time. (lol). <BR/>This book and a lick of Frost just love it i think they are my fave two for now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    Out of all of them, I love Doyle!!!!

    Laurell K. Hamilton is amazing. Her creativity never ceases to amaze me. This book combines myster, action, horror, fantacy, a sex all together. The sex in this book has nothing to do with romance or love, but it is driven by need and power. The characters and the various cultural differeces between the faerie's both Unseelie and Seelie and the humans never fails to amaze me. This book along with the first, A Kiss of Shadows, are must reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    Hot!

    A fanasty, paranormal/romance with a thrilling ending. The sex scenes were hot and romantic! The suspense to find out who wins the throne will keep you reading until the end. Like author Sherry Mauro not everything is sunshine and roses with this kind story...but nicely written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Big fan.

    Always loved the Anita Blake series but now I have a new love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Re-reader!

    I can read these books over and over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    Merry Gentry, Faerie Princess of America, is still finding her w

    Merry Gentry, Faerie Princess of America, is still finding her way thru the Unseelie Court. She had lovers among her guards. When unknown magic is killing people in Los Angeles Merry and her allies are caught in a web that none of them expect. Maeve Reed, an exiled fey, is asking to meet with Merry and her guards but is stunned by the shocking secret and request Maeve has of her and her guards. Maeve has found true love and desires what all women want a child but is this something Merry can help her with. Rhys harms Kitto nearly ruining the alliance with the Goblins by his actions. Doyle learns that Merry may have given her heart to Frost, so he must prevent Merry from giving more of her heart away now before it's too late. Merry's Uncle Taranis,the King of Light and Illusion, wants something from her as well. What will Doyle do next? How can Merry fix her alliance with the Goblins? What is killing people in LA? Can Merry give Maeve what she wants? Will Taranis believe what she is telling him? Will the Queen of Air and Darkness be able to help Merry and her guards? Your answers await you in A Caress of Twilight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Good book

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Not bad...

    Though I don't like this series as much as the Anita Blake series, it is a great take on the Fae creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Follows the story

    Follows the story line but i could have skipped this book and not have missed much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Laurell

    Laurell k hamilton is the best writer i have ever encountered. This series and her anita blake series are my favorite books in the world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Amazingly creative!

    I'm an avid Anita Blake reader and decided to try Merry to pass the time waiting for the next book. I didn't really think that this series would grab me like the other did, but boy, was I wrong! You will not regret picking up thisnseries, as long as some sex and gory violence doean't bother you. In my opinion it works well in this series. Some have said it's too much, but I disagree. The Meredith Gentry series is a perfect blend of fantasy, sex, action and gore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    I love this series

    I read the first book and loved it, i read this one and loved it, and i am about to start the next. Its a great series with a very unique plot that all of the books move to. It is one of the best series i have read, ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Wow

    Ms. Hamilton's books are unbeatable! I have read all of her anita blake novels and have been searching for another series as entertaining. Just finished the first meredith gentry novel and have purchased the next two in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    finding ones plase at the head

    learning to be ruler be for ganing the crown

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 613 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 31