BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Caress of Twilight (Meredith Gentry Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(394)

4 Star

(142)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Princess Merry Gentry

The sequel to A Kiss of Shadows and even better. I loved this book. I could not put it down. Merry continues her quest for the throne by spending every night in bed with one or more of her sexy guards. The plot gets thicker as the Seelie Court is brought further into th...
The sequel to A Kiss of Shadows and even better. I loved this book. I could not put it down. Merry continues her quest for the throne by spending every night in bed with one or more of her sexy guards. The plot gets thicker as the Seelie Court is brought further into the picture. The storyline is amazing and enticing. The description can get a little excessive but it isn't so unbearable you go insane trying to get through it, Laurell K. Hamilton is a master with words. The characters are each amazing in their complexity, each one is unique and quite realistic. I love how she fuses a mythology of gods and godessess into the story of the fey. The tone is sensual and comedic but sometimes serious and dark, always mind bending. A page turner just like the one before it and I'm sure the one after it. Romance is chaotic through out it and in different ways, Merry is in love with one of her guards just as another finally opens up to her and joins her bed. A highly recommended read for anyone of the paranormal/fantasy romance genre.

posted by Josilene_Areck on October 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An Oxymoron Collaboration of Mediocre Romance and Fantastic Fantasy

Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish s...
Since there are over 150 reviews for this book, my review will be brief. This second installment was pretty good but could have been better. I went in reading this book fully aware of the fact that Laurell has a mini obsession with conveniently writing in outlandish sexual situations just so Merry can have sex and I was ok with that. However this second installment really tried my patience. There was a lot of unnecessary rehashing and explanations, almost as if she were stalling and drawing out the storyline; in addition, the sex she writes in for Merry just sucks! I like the twist of a female having a harem of men to serve her but in Merry's case the men don't seem to be going out of their way to please Merry or even consider pleasing her. It mainly feels like Merry gives a lot of pity sex or just plain passionless and pointless quickies or pretty much just gives. Apart from the nuisances, the fantasy portion of this installment was creative, action-packed and electrifying. Laurell has a created a magical world filled with danger, darkness and excitement. I recommend this series to only those fellow dark urban fantasy readers who are fully forewarned of the many bizarre sexual settings and the portrayal of Merry as the center of the universe or the one that everyone desires. If you have the patience to tolerate these things, only then do I recommend this series to you. Aside from my frustrations with the sexual aspect of this installment, when Laurell is sticking to the storyline, the storyline is phenomenal. Fantasy wise, I can't wait to see what happens in the next installment Seduced by Moonlight.

posted by kitkat3ny on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2003

    Very well done.

    This story was very well done, it was a very good follow up of A Kiss Of Shadows. I can't wait for the next book in the series. I must say, the best part of this whole book was when she came into her second hand of power, when she called up the hand of blood, very very nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    BEAUTIFUL!!

    Hamilton's writing makes me feel like It could really happen. This one was magnificent and kept me guessing through the whole thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    Amazing Book

    This book is just fun... for a variety of reasons. Who needs serious 'real-life' drama stories anyway? We deal with enough reality and it's books like this one that make the real world a lot easier to bear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    this book kicks ass!!

    I LOVED this book! i usually never read fantasy books, but the hamilton series changed my mind. she has become one of my favorite authors. i can't wait for the next one.finally, a heroine that's a girl who's short, yet beautiful and tough. simply put, read this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    The perfect mix of Magic..Sex.. And Politics!

    I love this book and the Meredith Series. I thought this book was a little short but it was great while it lasted. I cannot wait for the next one! Over 20 beautiful men to have sex with.. What more could a girl ask for? I love all the magick in this book. You must read it.. After I started it, I could not even put it down. You will read this in one sitting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2003

    this isnt your every day fairy tale

    i love this book.this is a play on fantasy that just wont stop.LADIES....woudnt we all love to have our pick of handsome men an and have some one say sleep with them all or die!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Great New Series

    I thought that this book was great. She has this great view of how to get people into these books. I love the way that she mixes the worlds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    LKH's best book yet.

    I own all of the books LKH has writen and this is by far her best work yet. She gives you a mix of horror romance love and some of the steamiest bedroom scenes ever created. She gives all of her charters a kind of depth that is wonderful and still believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2002

    ...Perfect...

    This book was the best!!! I almost did not read this book because of the not-so-great reviews it got, spacificly about the sex part. There was not "loads" of it in there, it was perfect. All the men in there are so hot, and if i had my way with Frost, he'd better watch out or he'd melt baby! The ending of the book kinda got me there, it was as if she got tired of writing and ended it as soon and as acceptable as possible. Can someone please tell me if there is another book after this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2002

    loved it

    I noticed in a lot of other peoples reviews there was many complaints about how Hamilton gets too involved in the sex of the novel Yet i feel as though the story is truly based on the idea of sex but not just sex but sex of a different kind.The detail of such mystical beings creating light just by the power of desire. You can't help but admire the thought of such beauty. I mean no matter what the story was meant to be based upon sex not necessarily love as you have all known a good love story. the story is about lust not only the lust of men but of all things.I found the novel quite intriquing and i am impatiently awaiting the arrival of the next one. The anticipation has truly gotten me in a bind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    Haven't finsihed it yet, but it's awesome!

    I LOVE this book and I haven't even finished. I don't have enough money to buy it and It's always checked out in the library so I've been reading one chapter at a time as I go to the book store. It's driving me crazy! Laurell K Hamilton is an excellent writer, I've been hooked for quite sometime. Say, does anyone know when the paperback comes out? If so please E-mail me with the answer so I may count the hours! Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Great Book!

    I've read all the Laurell K. Hamilton books in the Anita Blake series, as well as in the Meridith Gentry series and I think they're all great! A Caress of Twilight has fascinating descriptions of interesting characters and non-stop action. This plot has alot of unpredictable twists...I never get bored reading Laurell K. Hamilton!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    THE BEST BOOK EVER MADE!!!!!

    I love this book . i read the book it two days . the book is very well writing and it had action . the book is vey outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2002

    Princess Meredith's all new adeventure

    Princess Meredith is back in Los Angeles and trouble keeps following her. I found 'Caress of Twilight' gently draw me into the story, awaiting 'Merry's' newest escapade. Hamilton creates characters with depth and provides them credible backgrounds. I enjoyed how the history of the Seelie and Unseelie Courts unfolds smoothly and where the demi fey fit into the scheme of things. Also, Hamilton provides superb imagery when detailing the characters and locations, but never too much to be boring. I wonder how Merry and the Seelie and Unseelie Courts will be affected by the fantastical end?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2002

    LOVED IT!!

    I was also one of the lucky few that got a advance copy of her book! Everyone who loves Ms. Hamilton's novels should get this book! It has a perfect blend of many genres. Merry is witty, sassy and kicks @$$!!! (supernatural and/or human) I hope the next installment comes out soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    Great new book by Laurell K. Hamilton!

    I was one of the lucky 50 readers chosen to receive an advance reader's edition of A Caress of Twilight by Laurell K. Hamilton. I read it in one night! It was a great continuation of the story of Princess Meredith, of the Faerie. Hamilton has yet another soon to be award winning novel! You should definately buy this novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 394 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 20