Customer Reviews for

Caribbee

Average Rating 3.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Good Stuff!!

When I downloaded this book, it was the entire book (421 pages). Character building was well done and the storyline was kinda different, but interesting for a history buff like me. It deals with the English Civil War from the perspective of the tobacco/sugarcane planta...
When I downloaded this book, it was the entire book (421 pages). Character building was well done and the storyline was kinda different, but interesting for a history buff like me. It deals with the English Civil War from the perspective of the tobacco/sugarcane plantations in Barbados. My only complaint is that the font size changes throughout the book. For example, on one page, the font goes from very large, to extra small, then to medium, then back to very large.

posted by Redfish1 on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Difficult reading with constantly changing font

This book bored me to tears! This is the best treatment for insomnia since Ambien.

I'm sure it is excellent & full of history but it was so poorly written I couldn't do it.

The font changes were horrible and made the attempt to plod through it not worth the effor...
This book bored me to tears! This is the best treatment for insomnia since Ambien.

I'm sure it is excellent & full of history but it was so poorly written I couldn't do it.

The font changes were horrible and made the attempt to plod through it not worth the effort. That was probably the final blow to this bilious pile of words.

Don't waste your time.

posted by 3977732 on October 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Ryry dhxvqrq

    Xvadxc dgtucvdgetefgxbrucbdfwr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    I love historical novels. This is a great one, providing the historical background of the early Western hemisphere, woven into a excellent novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    very good read!

    Really enjoyed this book. It was researched and is historically correct. (as much as possible in a fiction book) It is well written. I didn't want to put it down until I was done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I enjoyed the historical aspect of the story but it was plodding

    I enjoyed the historical aspect of the story but it was plodding at best. Took me a while to finish this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Good read

    Kept my intetest through the whole story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Recommended. Interesting.

    Hoover weaves a good story line into early life in the caribean islands.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Too much detail not enough of a story

    Too many characters - too much detail. I could not stay awake and had to stop reading - I felt bad and went to the last pages to see what happened but was drowned in details.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Excellent historical novel

    Read it for the story, read it for the historical perspective - it's all good! Thomas Hoover has a fairly engrossing grasp of this time period, and the politics of the day. As with the Mohgul, Hoover blends believable characters that you want to follow, with interesting historical perspective. All the more gratifying in a free novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Historical, fast-moving, informative

    Fills insome basic historical material in a not-as-familiar colonial setting. English, Spanish, Dutch all play their part in the shameful beginnings of slavery in the New World.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Great Book. Don't miss this one

    Loved this Book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Excellent!

    Love historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    As a reader of historical fiction, I found this to be a great story and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Omg i cant believe it is free!

    If u like sho-gun ull love this. Its set in the mid 1600s and focuses on america and the beginning of the sad chapter in our history of slavery. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Caribee

    Great historical novel with history of Britiish greed and slavery involvement. All for profit Dr. Jamal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Great Book!

    Very good adventure... I lived in the Caribbee for a few days through this book.. 1700s... wow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    Great Read

    The perspective of this book was very interesting. I enjoy history and did not realize that the Americans first attempt at freedom from England took place on a tiny island. This book was entertaining, informative and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Loved it!

    Perfect historical story! Enjoyd every twist and turn. Perfect summer read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good stuff

    I agree the font changes were absurd, but the story was great! I really enjoyed it and couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    Good Read

    Font changes were annoying. But the story moves along and if you like historical based fiction, it's a good book (400+ pages).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    couldn't get into this book

    I really wanted to like this novel since I love historical fiction but it did not hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7