Customer Reviews for

Caring for Your Baby and Young Child: Birth to Age 5

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    A baby Bible

    This is the third time I am buying this book. This is a bible , a must have life saving book. I bought this for my sister and then for my friend and now for me. We don't know anything about kids when my sister first gave birth to my niece, We learned literally most of the things from this. I would recommend this to every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    The Baby Bible

    I purchased this book when my son was about 1 week old, after purchasing another book. With the other book, we were left with a lot of questions and resorted to supplementing our info with online research. This book was recommended to me by a friend and has become a mainstay in our house--even now that my son is 4 years old! This book is comprehensive and covers all aspects of parenting from how to bathe and diaper your baby to what to do in an emergency. I give this book as a gift to all new moms and they always tell me how much they love it as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Great Baby Shower Gift !!!

    I found this book when my oldest son was a newborn. It was so helpful, not only answering questions that I had, but providing such good information that I had a much better idea of what questions I should be asking my pediatrician about. I referred to it over and over again with each of my children, and almost always give it as a baby shower gift. Every person I have given it to has come back to tell me how much it helped them after their babies were born. Great book, great resource for all parents !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read for first time parents.

    Caring For Your Baby and Young Child
    Caring for Your Baby and Young Child was written by the "American Academy of Pediatrics" editors Steven P. Shelov and Robert E. Hannemn. This book covers the following: basic care for the first months of a young baby through the toddler years, medical issues parents may encounter, what to do to provide your baby secure surroundings, benchmarks in the process of a child's development, etc. This is a complete and extensive resource of essential -childcare that guides many parents throughout the process of parenthood.
    Caring for Your Baby and Young Child guides readers step-by- step. This book serves as a guide to many caregivers as well, and it is a great resource recommended by many pediatricians that contains plenty of illustrations and covers basic care of your child from infancy to age five. It is a great book to read when your child is taking a nap or even before your baby is born.
    If you are a parent looking for a book just to discipline your child, this is not it. This book helps parents learn how to make you child feel loved. This book was exclusively written for all parents of all ages that are interested in learning basic care for their babies and also discipline for young children. Expecting parents also find this guide very useful; many of them enjoy this book because instead of just giving the parents an idea of what to expect, this book prepares them for this amazing experience with a lot of facts, details, and techniques.
    I found this guide very useful as a first time mom. I was able to understand better the process of raising a child and it also taught me techniques on how to provide the best care for my baby. One thing I loved about this book was that it talks about situations that we as parents may encounter and struggle with, providing solutions, causes, and consequences. Something I found interesting was that this guide, written by pediatricians, does not come across as a "medical book" but as a nurturing book which really makes a connection with the parents that read it. This book will make you want to read more and more; you will find it amazing how many tips and secrets they can give you to improve the care you provide your child.
    "This book is dedicated to all the people who recognize that children are our greatest inspiration in the present and our greatest hope for the future" (Shelov, intro).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Highly Recommended

    I just bought this book for my nephew who recently had a baby boy. My pediatrician gave me a copy when my son was born and it has been my bible for the last two years (my son is two). I helped raise my nieces and nephews and I am an RN/paramedic and I thought I knew all that I needed to know about raising my son. Was I ever wrong. I thank the American academy of pediatrics for writing this book and my pediatrician for giving me this book. It has saved a couple of phone calls to her office and a couple of office visits, as well as giving me peace of mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    1st Time Mom!!!

    I am a 1st time mom, and I helped my mom raise my brother, but I find myself looking in the book atleast 5 times a week to see if my son is supposed to do a certain thing, or why is he doing that!! I find it very informative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    Helpful Guidance Without Causing Anxiety for Parents

    'Caring for You Baby and Young Child: Birth to Age 5' is a trusted reference book associated with the American Academy of Pediatrics that I highly recommend as a pediatrician to the families I care for. New moms and dads can easily find the facts, support and comfort they are searching for to help them make more informed choices regarding their children. This reference guide is very well organized and offers an ample variery of helpful, sound, easy to understand information geared to the common health, developmental and behavior concerns that parents face during the first five years of life. I like the nonjudgmental manner in which the medical facts and suggestions are written which helps a worried parent feel informed but not talked down to or alarmed. That is very important to me as so many books seem to confuse, scare and pressure well-meaning, otherwise competent moms and dads. Although this 736 page book covers a wide spectrum of information especially on medical and baby developmental issues, I feel that the advice relating to discipline strategies and child development insights for the 2-to-5-year-old could be more in depth. However, no one book can cover everything. Therefore, I also recommend 'The Pocket Parent' as a companion book to fill that need. 'The Pocket Parent' is a convenient A-Z pocket-guide focusing on the most challenging toddler/preschool behaviors (such as bad words, biting, hitting, lying, the gimmes, tantrums, & whining). This book is written exclusively for parents of 2's, 3's, 4's and 5's in the same parent-friendly style as 'Caring For Your Baby...' Parenting the little ones can often be frustrating and quite challenging. These two books, embracing the same positive perspective and philosophy, are worthwhile additions to your home library that you can refer to again and again. Neither book needs to be read cover to cover, but rather as you need it regarding the issue at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1