Customer Reviews for

Caring for Your Baby and Young Child: Birth to Age 5

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    An instruction manual for your kid!

    After reading reviews of childcare books I chose this one. I have a 15-month old and thought that this book would provide useful information for a few more years. When my son was an infant I used "What to Expect the First Year," so in this book I have only read the chapter titled "Your One-Year old." It gave valuable information about relevant topics such as weaning from the bottle, dealing with tantrums, recommended forms of discipline and nutrition. I think this book is up-to-date and trustworthy because it is based on research and the expert opinion of many pediatricians, not just one or two authors that have theories about child-rearing. Also the information seems to be unbiased and it doesn't make you feel like you have to be a perfect parent, either. The only problem that I found with it is that the index is not organized very well, I feel like you have to do some digging if you want to find info. on a particular topic. Also the chapter about emergency information has some charts that are difficult to read due to small print.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Very helpful, especially for 1st time parents

    We received this book as a gift and it has been extremely helpful. It breaks down the months in key milestones with information/guidelines on eating and sleeping patterns as well as behavioral. Our baby was almost 'textbook' you could say! Being 1st time parents we had lots of questions and often feel as if we're treading new territory every day. This book has been a valuable tool for us and I now buy it for my friends as a gift!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS MY BEST FRIEND!!!!!!!!!

    I buy this for everyone that I know is having a baby!!!!!!!!!I recieved this book as a gift at my shower and it has gotten me through so much! When our boy was 10 weeks, the doctors kept telling us he had a "cold" over the phone and we kept insisting it could be more! Thanks to this book, I would not give up and pushed to get in to the office....we found he had RSV and had to be hospitalized....thanks to my gut instinct and the knowledge of this book...my little boy is now 3 and has no lung damage from the RSV!!!!! It reads very easily and spells things out in regular terms!!!!! It is also easy to cross reference and find topics!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2002

    2 of the Best Books on the market for parents of infants-preschoolers (2's, 3's, 4's, & 5's)

    CARING FOR YOUR BABY AND YOUNG CHILD; BIRTH TO AGE 5 is a wonderful comprehensive reference book that I highly recommend to the new parents in my practice. It offers an abundance of helpful, sound information addressing the many questions and concerns that arise during the early years. The book's reassuring compassionate tone and easy to understand presentation is just what an anxious parent craves. It is especially helpful in explaining common health issues thereby often relieving a worried parent on the spot about those many wonders and fears that occasionally come to mind. Although this book is a weighty compilation of a wide spectrum of information, it is conveniently formatted for quick referral. My only criticism of this book is that the advice relating to discipline strategies and child development insights for the 2-to-5-year-old isn't nearly as helpful or extensive as the medical information or the infant information. Therefore I would like to also recommend THE POCKET PARENT to fill that need. This outstanding book is designed as a troubleshooting A-Z guide written exclusively for parents with preschoolers (2's, 3's, 4's, & 5's). This book is literally pocket-sized--totally portable-- easy to consult at a moment's notice-wherever...all you have to do is look it up...40 common worrisome behavior issues are addressed such as ANGER, BAD WORDS, BEDTIME, BITING, FEARS, THE 'GIMMES', INTERRUPTING, LYING, MEALTIME, MORNING 'CRAZIES', POTTY TRANING, QUIBBLING SIBLINGS, SEPARATION ANXIETY, STRANGERS, TANTRUMS, WHINING, and more. It is written in the same friendly, non-judgemental style as CARING FOR YOUR BABY... It is filled with compassion, humor and excellent practical advice. The format is geared to busy parents-- loaded with hundreds of quick bits of wit and wisdom to help a parent restore his or her sanity! The authors call the bullets of tips...'Sanity Savers'. The short anecdotes clearly illustrate the suggested strategies, often demonstrating the exact words to try in order to get cooperation and compliance from the child. Parenting, especially in the early years can feel scary, lonely, and quite frustrating, especially on a very bad day. The large encyclopedic CARING FOR YOUR BABY AND YOUNG CHILD; BIRTH TO AGE FIVE along with the small POCKET PARENT are 2 different yet very compatible books, both embracing the same underlying positive perspective and attitude for raising healthy, happy children. Keep them handy whenever you need some fast answers, positive discipline strategies, or just a little 'verbal hug' to reassure you that you are not losing your mind and that everything will be OK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    A must have!

    This book gives you information on every subject regarding your children. It's a great reference for anything from what that rash your child has might be to how much your 2 year hold should weigh. A great gift for expecting parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    AWESOME!!!!

    This book is great!! I am a first time mother and this has helped me understand what stages my child is going through. It has helped with questions that I have had. It is a must to read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2001

    Excellent source for a young unexperianced mother...

    I bought this book one month before I gave birth in hope for some knowledge on how to care for a baby. It has been a great source of infomation for both me and my husband. I reccomend this book for unexperianced to be mothers and fathers. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Great Book!!!

    I love this book!! It has been a lifesaver with my three children. I give this book to all my friends who are expecting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2000

    Book gives 1st time Parents Life saving tools.

    This book gave me (1st time parent) the guidance and step by step help I needed, when at 1:30AM my 4 day old infant began screaming at the top of his lungs without stopping. In clear, concise language I was guides through a step by step process as to what to do to figure out what was going on. As a result, I was able to talk informatively and capably with the pediatrician so that together we could take a quick course of action. When I went back to work I bought my babysitter a copy and it has helped us both enormously. Authors, Thank You for writing it; and Publishers/BN thank you for keeping the price affordable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2