Customer Reviews for

Untamed City: Carnival of Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended! A dangerous new world you will never want to leave!

My First Thoughts:
Well, let me start by saying that I was extremely excited to read this one. The cover is freaking awesome, I loved the title and concept. Plus, I had seen so much promo for this book that I felt as though I had been waiting forever by the time my cop...
My First Thoughts:
Well, let me start by saying that I was extremely excited to read this one. The cover is freaking awesome, I loved the title and concept. Plus, I had seen so much promo for this book that I felt as though I had been waiting forever by the time my copy finally arrived on my doorstep! So, was the wait worth it? Absolutely! I liked Carnival of Souls after the prologue, and was in love by chapter 3. It just kept getting better and better with every page I turned!

My Review:
This is one of the most original books I have read in quite a while. The world was absolutely brilliant! The City where the daemons live was crafted so brilliantly that I felt as if it was somewhere I had actually been in real life. The Carnival of Souls is the center of the city. It is where all of the commerce happens. Oh yes, commerce, such as: murder for hire, prostitution, and drugs. See that may make some people think, wow I don't know if this is for me... Well let me just say that all these things made the story that much more real, the characters lives more desolate, and their situations more desperate. It is important to know what is normal for the daemon society, so the reader can understand just how hard it is to change your lot in life in the city.

The characters were written in such a way that even if they were doing something that you would consider to be morally wrong, it is impossible not feel compassion for WHY they were doing it. This is what really made this book brilliant. It was told from alternating perspectives while never being first person narration. I feel this was a brilliant move because it lets you see so many different views of the same world that it is truly opened up into something with many layers. You really get to know each character intimately. This was such a refreshing way to read a story and I honestly feel like I've never read a book with a character focus like this. After reading the book, I feel as though even if I may not LOVE every character in the book, I completely understand them and their motives.

I cannot say enough good things about this book. It was sinfully dark and full of love at the same time. There was such an honesty in even the worst situations that they were always beautiful. This book made me laugh out loud and shed a tear in the same chapter! I truly loved Carnival of Souls and it comes highly recommended from me! Anyone who loves YA Paranormal and is looking for something refreshing and different, this is the one for you!

posted by JessabellaReviews on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I bought this because of the good reviews

But did not like it as much as the other reviewers. It was ok but the writing was a bit sketchy here and there which made me have to reread pages to understand what was going on. The ending was not good. Just not the best book Ive read in a while but I was hoping it wou...
But did not like it as much as the other reviewers. It was ok but the writing was a bit sketchy here and there which made me have to reread pages to understand what was going on. The ending was not good. Just not the best book Ive read in a while but I was hoping it would be.

posted by Shomesue on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Fantastic

    I was a little skeptic at first because I don't usually read books such as this but once I started reading, I couldn't stop! I'm so excited that I can hardly wait till the next book. I am starting to read it again! It was just that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I loved Melissa Marr's  wicked lovely series and was excited whe

    I loved Melissa Marr's  wicked lovely series and was excited when I went into the store to see that she had started a new series. I bought the book thinking that it would be wonderful. I was highly disappointed after finishing this book and that rarely happens. I don't no if I would even buy the sequel.If some else bought it, maybe, but overall this book was a wast of my time.
    I was disappointed with how it was written. This book seemed like it could of been condensed in half with the same information, but it seemed like it was slacking.  Or at least arranged events in the story differently to give it something more.There was little action or information on the actual main character, except that she is actually related to the "other world". It was nice to have spurts of some tiny action and information here and there but then, nothing, it went stale until the end. The last few chapters reveal some of the questions, but nothing that we didn't exactly know already. There is no cliffhanger to grasp onto. Just nothing. Maybe the next one will be better...
        

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Good

    Good but could have had a better story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    very confusing world

    There was no good intro into the fantasy world Marr created. I spent several chapters confused about logistics. The book was 75% complete before I got a handle on it. When I started to enjoy it, it was over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Zkd

    Awsome book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Totally different and completely refreshing

    For some reason it seems like when a fantasy genre author creates a fantastic series nothing else compares... Melissa Marr is NOT one of them. This book was amazing... completely unique, and refreshing. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Amazing on of Melissa Marr best

    Within the first couple pages you are drawn in to the story. I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great book

    This was a very enjoyable and hard to put down book. Recommended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2015

    Great and captivating, read it straight through

    Title speaks for itself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    great read been waiting forever for the new one in this series.

    great read been waiting forever for the new one in this series. not sure why they renamed it though made it hard to find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Carnival Of Souls was an awesome book!!! So, I bought Carnival O

    Carnival Of Souls was an awesome book!!! So, I bought Carnival Of Secrets thinking it was the sequel and was totally excited that I didn't care that it was a Nook only book> Once I started reading I began to realize it was not the sequel, it was the SAME book!!! I thought it was very underhanded and sneaky of the publisher to change the name of a book no matter how good or bad it is!! I am so disappointed in HarperCollins Publisher that I may NEVER buy another book they release no matter who the Author is!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    Short

    Waited so long to read 15 pages maybe. The first book had so much going on, this was horrible. Then it gives you pages from the first book to that you would've already read. What the hell, waste of money! Not worth it! Should have gotten free wifi at B&N & read for free. Don't waste money buying this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Wow!

    This is by far my favorite book of all time! I love the story plot and all of the characters that are involved in this page turner of a book. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy books that involve mixing the human world with another. Full of action, heart stopping suspense, with the beginnings of love. Five stars and kudos to you Melissa Marr! I can't wait for the sequel to be out so that I can get my hands on the next part of this enticing journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Excellent

    A fun quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    A feel a sequel coming

    Good but it kind of leaves you hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Excellent

    Grreat story. Eagerly awaiting sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    I really loved this book and am wondering when the next will be

    I really loved this book and am wondering when the next will be released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Great book!

    This book starts a little slow but once it gets going it grabs your attention and you can't put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    I'll be honest by trying to do my traditional review would absol

    I'll be honest by trying to do my traditional review would absolutely give too much away. I don't like having books I've not read yet spoiled even before I start them. Carival of Souls is a pulse pounding page turner that keeps you in the edge of your seat. Carnival of Souls is about those that have and have nots in this case daimons and witches. Carival of Souls is about a competition seeking to gain the ultimate prize by winning. These lifes are affected by this competition:Aya, Kaleb, Belias, and Mallory. Good, Bad, or Indifferent makes no difference because they all search for a place to belong. Ms. Marr has once again created a world that has it's good points and bad points too. I would definitely want to live there all the same. The characters and their histories make for an edgy read that leaves little doubt you've read a good book. I will continue reading Ms. Marr's works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Beautiful Fantasy World...Loved living in it for a few days!!!

    In Carnival of Souls, Melissa Marr has created a stunning world filled with magic, love, betrayal and intrigue.
    She chose such an interesting way to narrate the novel, all from different points of view. I couldn't put the book down.
    My only disappointment came at the end, when it was finally over, and I realized there wasn't a sequel.
    I read in one of her blogs that it isn't even in the cards as of yet. Hopefully if enough of us feel the same she will turn this novel into a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 215 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11