Customer Reviews for

Untamed City: Carnival of Secrets

Average Rating 4
( 214 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended! A dangerous new world you will never want to leave!

My First Thoughts:
Well, let me start by saying that I was extremely excited to read this one. The cover is freaking awesome, I loved the title and concept. Plus, I had seen so much promo for this book that I felt as though I had been waiting forever by the time my cop...
My First Thoughts:
Well, let me start by saying that I was extremely excited to read this one. The cover is freaking awesome, I loved the title and concept. Plus, I had seen so much promo for this book that I felt as though I had been waiting forever by the time my copy finally arrived on my doorstep! So, was the wait worth it? Absolutely! I liked Carnival of Souls after the prologue, and was in love by chapter 3. It just kept getting better and better with every page I turned!

My Review:
This is one of the most original books I have read in quite a while. The world was absolutely brilliant! The City where the daemons live was crafted so brilliantly that I felt as if it was somewhere I had actually been in real life. The Carnival of Souls is the center of the city. It is where all of the commerce happens. Oh yes, commerce, such as: murder for hire, prostitution, and drugs. See that may make some people think, wow I don't know if this is for me... Well let me just say that all these things made the story that much more real, the characters lives more desolate, and their situations more desperate. It is important to know what is normal for the daemon society, so the reader can understand just how hard it is to change your lot in life in the city.

The characters were written in such a way that even if they were doing something that you would consider to be morally wrong, it is impossible not feel compassion for WHY they were doing it. This is what really made this book brilliant. It was told from alternating perspectives while never being first person narration. I feel this was a brilliant move because it lets you see so many different views of the same world that it is truly opened up into something with many layers. You really get to know each character intimately. This was such a refreshing way to read a story and I honestly feel like I've never read a book with a character focus like this. After reading the book, I feel as though even if I may not LOVE every character in the book, I completely understand them and their motives.

I cannot say enough good things about this book. It was sinfully dark and full of love at the same time. There was such an honesty in even the worst situations that they were always beautiful. This book made me laugh out loud and shed a tear in the same chapter! I truly loved Carnival of Souls and it comes highly recommended from me! Anyone who loves YA Paranormal and is looking for something refreshing and different, this is the one for you!

posted by JessabellaReviews on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I bought this because of the good reviews

But did not like it as much as the other reviewers. It was ok but the writing was a bit sketchy here and there which made me have to reread pages to understand what was going on. The ending was not good. Just not the best book Ive read in a while but I was hoping it wou...
But did not like it as much as the other reviewers. It was ok but the writing was a bit sketchy here and there which made me have to reread pages to understand what was going on. The ending was not good. Just not the best book Ive read in a while but I was hoping it would be.

posted by Shomesue on September 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended! A dangerous new world you will never want to leave!

    My First Thoughts:
    Well, let me start by saying that I was extremely excited to read this one. The cover is freaking awesome, I loved the title and concept. Plus, I had seen so much promo for this book that I felt as though I had been waiting forever by the time my copy finally arrived on my doorstep! So, was the wait worth it? Absolutely! I liked Carnival of Souls after the prologue, and was in love by chapter 3. It just kept getting better and better with every page I turned!

    My Review:
    This is one of the most original books I have read in quite a while. The world was absolutely brilliant! The City where the daemons live was crafted so brilliantly that I felt as if it was somewhere I had actually been in real life. The Carnival of Souls is the center of the city. It is where all of the commerce happens. Oh yes, commerce, such as: murder for hire, prostitution, and drugs. See that may make some people think, wow I don't know if this is for me... Well let me just say that all these things made the story that much more real, the characters lives more desolate, and their situations more desperate. It is important to know what is normal for the daemon society, so the reader can understand just how hard it is to change your lot in life in the city.

    The characters were written in such a way that even if they were doing something that you would consider to be morally wrong, it is impossible not feel compassion for WHY they were doing it. This is what really made this book brilliant. It was told from alternating perspectives while never being first person narration. I feel this was a brilliant move because it lets you see so many different views of the same world that it is truly opened up into something with many layers. You really get to know each character intimately. This was such a refreshing way to read a story and I honestly feel like I've never read a book with a character focus like this. After reading the book, I feel as though even if I may not LOVE every character in the book, I completely understand them and their motives.

    I cannot say enough good things about this book. It was sinfully dark and full of love at the same time. There was such an honesty in even the worst situations that they were always beautiful. This book made me laugh out loud and shed a tear in the same chapter! I truly loved Carnival of Souls and it comes highly recommended from me! Anyone who loves YA Paranormal and is looking for something refreshing and different, this is the one for you!

    40 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    Definitely RECOMMEND!!

    When I got this book I had no idea what I was getting into. But am I ever glad I didn't! Just when I thought Melissa Marr couldn't get any better, she proved me wrong.

    If I had to choose the right words to describe how each of the characters were developed I would say, PERFECT!!!! Each one had a story to tell and each one was unique to him or her. The way each one had views on daimons and witches was amazing and made me want more.

    I knew Melissa could write dark, but I had no idea she could make you want more. Just imagine a fight, imagine the words floeing together to make it seem real. The way she wrote it made me feel as though I was watching it in real life.

    I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves drama, suspense, and a challenge. Because Melissa's books always give the reader a challenge to keep on reading. Go check it out!!!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Wow

    the only bad thing about this is having to wait for the next one. I absolutely loved this book :)

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Absolutely Amazing

    Melissa Marr is definitely one if my top ten authors. She paints such a vivid picture. I am amazed at the the talent and ability it takes to create these different worlds that she comes up with. Wicked Lovely was an amazing series and clearly this author has not peaked. This book was a page turner i couldnt stop reading and finished it in a day! I cannot wait to see whats in store for Mallory; her relationship with Kaleb and her relationship with her father adam. I yearn to to see the love between bel and aya survive the challenges they are going through. If u purchase this book u will not be dissapointed. Meliss marr deserves an award ! More please!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Best $2 spent (:

    Bought this on a whim in english class because i needed a new reading book...and IT WAS MY BEST PURCHASE!!! LOVED IT SOOO MUCH!!!!!!! CANT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    What I Liked: 1) Well, first of all, this was anything but "

    What I Liked: 1) Well, first of all, this was anything but "watered down." There was much more emotion from the characters in this story, and that's something that I always love to see. Seeing the characters connect to each other (and I don't always mean in a good way) made it a lot easier for me to jump in and connect with the characters. 2) Emotional connection aside, the way that all of these characters are connected to each other - I guess spatially would be the best word to use - was awesome. There were all these overlapping storylines that we as the reader have an easy time following, but we are watching the characters try and unravel them. On top of the overarching storyline, this was a very fun addition to the plot. 3) Aya. Aya was my favorite character, with her kick-butt fighting skill and the secrets that she is trying to protect. She was multi-dimensional, giving the reader a lot of ways to connect with her. 4) The setting. We were jumping between The City, and the human world. So there wasn't anything special really about the human world (ah, the reason I tend to like spec fic comes to light!) but The City is shady and mysterious, and was one of the biggest questions I had about the story. I would love to just walk around it and peer around corners. You know, explore. Though it was pretty dangerous, according to Kaleb and Zevi!

    What I Didn't Like: Well, there are still so many questions left unanswered that just made me anxious for the next one. Like any good cliffhanger!

    Overall Thoughts: Melissa Marr really hit one out of the park with Carnival of Souls. Her level of creativity cannot be denied as you get wrapped up in this story of a magical world competing with the human world. With an intriguing cast of characters that span the magical spectrum, Carnival of Souls has a character that everyone can feel connected with, and a story that will ensnare you from the beginning. This series is one I know I'm going to love!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Great book!

    Always love Melissa Marr and this book was another great read. Looking forward to the next book!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Wondrous

    Carnival of Souls has to be one of the most creative books i have ever read. The daimons, the City, Mallory's relationship with Adam and hints at Katsa's relationship with Mallory was just blowing my mind. There were some things i didnt like, but i dont even remember them. I am DYING to read the sequel and solve all of these riddles, and if you havent read the book yet, read it now.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Outstanding!

    This novel breathes a new life and desire for Melissa Marr's work for me. I did appreciate the Wicked Lovely series but this book put me under a spell (no pun intended)! When I read the summary for Carnival of Souls I was deeply interested in the subject- it is so much different than what I'm used to!

    I love a book that isn't predictable in the beginning and that is exactly what I got. I not only love the subcultures she created, but also the navigation and scheming by the characters therein. Entrancing and nearly impossible to put down, I spent time thinking about the storyline as I was going about my day and couldn't wait to delve back in. I cannot wait for the sequel! Fantastic read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Delightful and engaging

    Delightful and engaging

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Book

    Recomed to the max!!!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Fantastic

    I was a little skeptic at first because I don't usually read books such as this but once I started reading, I couldn't stop! I'm so excited that I can hardly wait till the next book. I am starting to read it again! It was just that good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Zkd

    Awsome book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Totally different and completely refreshing

    For some reason it seems like when a fantasy genre author creates a fantastic series nothing else compares... Melissa Marr is NOT one of them. This book was amazing... completely unique, and refreshing. I can't wait for the next book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Amazing on of Melissa Marr best

    Within the first couple pages you are drawn in to the story. I couldn't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Great book

    This was a very enjoyable and hard to put down book. Recommended

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    great read been waiting forever for the new one in this series.

    great read been waiting forever for the new one in this series. not sure why they renamed it though made it hard to find

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Wow!

    This is by far my favorite book of all time! I love the story plot and all of the characters that are involved in this page turner of a book. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys fantasy books that involve mixing the human world with another. Full of action, heart stopping suspense, with the beginnings of love. Five stars and kudos to you Melissa Marr! I can't wait for the sequel to be out so that I can get my hands on the next part of this enticing journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Excellent

    Grreat story. Eagerly awaiting sequel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6