Customer Reviews for

Carnivore: A Memoir by One of the Deadliest American Soldiers of All Time

Average Rating 3
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This is a great read book with some humor with combat experience

This is a great read book with some humor with combat experiences and a well written easy read. Makes you truly appreciate what the men & women in our armed forces do every day to defend our right to read what we want. Thanks for your dedicated service and sacrific...
This is a great read book with some humor with combat experiences and a well written easy read. Makes you truly appreciate what the men & women in our armed forces do every day to defend our right to read what we want. Thanks for your dedicated service and sacrifices.

posted by Anonymous on June 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Dillard Johnson is a fraud. He is well known throughout the mili

Dillard Johnson is a fraud. He is well known throughout the military world as a guy who fakes stories, steals other vets stories and uses it as his own, and comes out with new stories that are reminiscent of movies that recently come out. It has been proven time and tim...
Dillard Johnson is a fraud. He is well known throughout the military world as a guy who fakes stories, steals other vets stories and uses it as his own, and comes out with new stories that are reminiscent of movies that recently come out. It has been proven time and time again that this guy is a fraud and yet the civilian population seems to eat up his stories as fact. Do not give this guy a single dime of your hard earned money. He is a disgrace to the rest of us that wear a uniform.
I call on Barnes and Noble to cease selling this book.

posted by SoldierMedic-Doc on June 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Just finished. Great book. great read.

    Just finished. Great book. great read.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    This is a great read book with some humor with combat experience

    This is a great read book with some humor with combat experiences and a well written easy read. Makes you truly appreciate what the men & women in our armed forces do every day to defend our right to read what we want. Thanks for your dedicated service and sacrifices.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Bought 2 copies in Daytona.This is a good book and well written.

    Bought 2 copies in Daytona.This is a good book and well written. It was nice to read about a soldier and his unit in combat who didn't spend the whole book telling you how cool they are yet saying they weren't supposed to say that! It was a fun read that was hard to put down. There is however foul language, but would recommend to any adult. God bless our soldiers that put their lives on the line to protect our freedoms. ~ KM

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    It took me 4 days to find the book everywhere I went it was sold

    It took me 4 days to find the book everywhere I went it was sold out. When I finally found It only took me a few days 
    to read it start to finish. The book Carnivore is well written and paints a graphic picture of events that took place during wartime.
    There are some that may not agree with what it contains. I did not choose this book because of medal or kill counts
    rather I wanted to read what the author had to write. I was intrigued by the raw emotions that were carried from one
    chapter to the next. Better understanding the pressures and emotions that our troops face during their time overseas.  
    Thank You Dillard "C.J." Johnson for telling us your story. To all the men and women that have served or are currently
    serving "Thank You" for making the ultimate sacrifices to protect and ensure our future. God Bless America and all of the
    men and women that serve.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I found this book very memory jarring. a lot of the events I re

    I found this book very memory jarring. a lot of the events I remember from the invasion, were dead on.
    I was not in His crew but went on multiple missions with that platoon. this book is an excellent read.
    you won't be able to put it down. A lot of the negative comments you see are coming from guys, who served in a different troop, who seem to have an axe to grind. But if you like a good read on the invasion get it. I was a USAF Air support Liaison

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    It's an easy read; a book you will not want to lay down. A real

    It's an easy read; a book you will not want to lay down. A real sense of patriotism with added humor. Thank you SFC Johnson for your service and allowing us a glimpse of what you experienced. I'ld like to see a moive out of this. God Bless those that serve this great country.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    This was a remarkably good and easy to read. Very interesting w

    This was a remarkably good and easy to read. Very interesting with quite a bit of added humor. As for the few people that have given this book 1 star, to be simply trashing w.out having read it...have some respect. I'd say laying down one's life to protect our country is something. Not once in the book does SFC Johnson take credit for thousands of kills. The book is about his experiences with his unit fighting in Iraq. I have and would recommend this book. God Bless our soldiers.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    I just finished this memoir and found it to be a good read. Ent

    I just finished this memoir and found it to be a good read. Entertaining and even has added humor. I have recommended this book to everyone I know and will continue to do so.


    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Great book. great read.

    Great book. great read.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great read, great story! Enjoyed the book. Read it in 2-3 days,

    Great read, great story! Enjoyed the book. Read it in 2-3 days, couldn't put it down. Thanks for sharing your personal story!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    SFC Johnson was my NCO before he became Crazy J. He took care of

    SFC Johnson was my NCO before he became Crazy J. He took care of me and the rest of the section. Even got us single soldiers Christmas gifts. He was a great leader and friend. I loved the book I still remember the day he blew his hand up we all though he meant to do that. SFC Stan Long

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Great read, puts you in the drivers seat of a fast moving funny

    Great read, puts you in the drivers seat of a fast moving funny book about the life of a America Hero.
    Jim Wilson Providence RI

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book. Could not put it down. Would recommen

    Really enjoyed this book. Could not put it down. Would recommend. God Bless you SFC Johnson and to all those that serve.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1