Customer Reviews for

A Carnivore's Inquiry

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2005

    A Little Short of the Mark

    It seemed that this novel tried to create a woman with the same moral freedom that most men achieve in fiction. Emphasis on tried. I enjoyed the narritive, but felt it was a pale copy of 'American Psycho'. K's occasionaly functioning moral compass and lucidity, prevented her from ever being a convincing monster. Instead, she just makes the men in her life even more ineffectual by comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    A bit much!

    I was glad to finish this book, just to get away from the subject matter. At first the history of cannibalism is shocking and interesting, but the author goes overboard and it gets just plain boring. Was her intention is educate us on cannibalism or tell us a story? The story seemed like an afterthought. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2004

    DARK AND DRAMATIC - BOTH THE STORY AND THE READING

    Dramatic, dark, disturbing - all describe this tale by Pen/Faulkner Award winner Sabina Murray. Stage, television, and film actress Wendy Hoopes gives articulate voice to 23-year-old narrator Katherine Shea. Apparently lacking any form of moral compunction Katherine first befriends and then cohabits with Boris, an older Russian novelist. She hasn't wasted a great deal of time as she has only recently arrived in New York City from Italy. We already know that this gal is not one for settling down, what we have not yet discovered is that her taste for new adventure may border on the psychotic. Her time with Boris is brief. She's soon seeking the company of other men and other places as she crosses the country and winds up in Mexico. She leaves in her wake a trail of dead bodies. Katherine's interests become increasingly macabre as she begins to research cannibalism wherever she may find it - in art, literature, research. Why is this young woman so transfixed by behavior that repulses most? Listen as her story races to an astounding conclusion. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    Cannibalism at its best

    Sabina Murray's novel of a woman's slow discovery of who she really is will haunt you even after you put down the book. The novel's wry witticisms and observations of life (and cannibalism!) are very refreshing after many other novels' boring preaching. The only thing that I found fault with is that the end is very predictable. I figured out the 'twist' near the beginning of the novel, but it didn't stop me from enjoying the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    A Carnivore's Inquiry

    Ms. Murray proves herself inept at creating either a character or character motivation, and this is ultimately the failure of this book. In the hands of the writers I've listed below, this book, about the cannabalism of men, would be either farcically hilarious or deeply psychologically chilling: but in Murray's hands, it is a demeaning portrayal of the ineffectual woman, and this at its worst. I encourage woman readers and MFA students to read some of the writers I've listed below! As for Murray's implicit stab at alternative feminism alas--she's 10, 15 years too late. Don't always believe what they teach you in school. If you liked this book, Darcy Steinke does a better job of suchlike in SUICIDE BLONDE, also in print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Dark Comic Masterpiece

    The heroine of this compelling dark comedy, Katherine Shea, is unlike any other character in American literature (or World literature, for that matter). Consider her the smart and strange god-child of Angela Carter and Paul Bowles--or Milan Kundera and Jane Bowles. Funnier and more intelligent than--but just as cunning as--Patricia Highsmith's Ripley, with her wry tone, her brilliant meditations on art and exploration, and her fast-paced, sexy, and intimate narration, Katherine will fascinate you--and at times she will frighten you. This novel is a page-turner, and its engaging narrator tells her story with a sense of humor and the confidence to explore any taboo subject. Read it--quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    A Carnivore's Inquiry

    Sabina Murray has great skill as a writer, but no skill for creating characters or narrative. This was the same ten pages over and over...quite boring. I'd had my hopes up about this book from all the pre-release publicity, but two stars is a 'nice' estimate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1