Customer Reviews for

Carolina Home

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Great Read !! This is the first book I have read by this author.

    Great Read !!
    This is the first book I have read by this author. Can't wait for the other 2 books in this Dare Island trilogy so I can follow the Fletcher family . There are some unfinished stories that I hope get a conclusion somewhere in the next 2 books. I especially need to find out more about Luke and Taylor. I really enjoyed the family dynamics-very realistic.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great tale by Virgina Kantra, I love her Children of the

    Another great tale by Virgina Kantra, I love her Children of the Seas series and this is just as good. Hope you enjoy it as much as I have!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Stellar launch to a new series!!

    Virginia Kantra has long been an auto-buy for me and once again she delivers a one-sitting read with CAROLINA HOME! What a stellar launch to the Dare Island series. Matt and Allison are now two of my all-time favorite Kantra couples – I can’t wait for the next book in the Dare Island series. Virginia Kantra is a storyteller extraordinaire whose characters curl right up in your heart to live long after the last page has been turned. Readers who enjoyed Nora Roberts’ Chesapeake Series (as I did!) will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    After reading and loving Carolina Man, book three in the Dare Is

    After reading and loving Carolina Man, book three in the Dare Island series, I considered it a necessity to go back to the beginning. Each book can technically be read as a standalone, but knowing that several threads connect across the books-and knowing that I could find more of what made Carolina Man so special- I had to have more.

    Carolina Home is where the Fletcher family's story begins. Matt Fletcher is a charter boat captain, a devoted son and single father to a teenage son, Josh. When his wife left him and their newborn son all those years ago, Matt vowed to never be open to that sort of heartbreak again. With Matt, Kantra delivers a exceedingly worthy hero. Matt's dedication to his son and their family, his willingness to always be there when needed, had me firmly on his side from the opening. To see that kind of selflessness and resolve to protect his and his son's heart was understandable and sad.

    Literature teacher Allison Carter is new to Dare Island, and determined to make her mark. She initially meets with Matt over concerns for his son's education, but the two quickly make a connection. At only twenty-five, Allison is who I want to be when I grow up. Having been raised in a privileged life, she is dedicated to helping others, particularly those not as fortunate as she, and in education. While Matt questions her longevity on Dare Island, and in a relationship, Allison knows her own mind. His being a single father does not scare her off, nor does his tight-knit family. In fact, what Matt is afraid will scare Allison away are the very parts that pull her in even closer.

    If you've picked up on my affection for these two, then I'm sure you can guess how much I enjoyed their love story. Allison and Matt come from two very different backgrounds. Matt is thirty-six year old single father, she is twenty-five and searching for a true home. Matt has abandonment issues and is determined not to saddle her down with a life she's not prepared for. Allison will prove to Matt that she is ready for it all.

    What is really cool about this series is while you do have lead characters, the entire Fletcher family
    plays a large part of the overall picture. And while the cast is large and various points of view are included, the narrative never becomes confusing or cluttered. I enjoyed every single perspective and thread, especially Taylor's (her story comes to a head in Carolina Man).

    Carolina Home was such an enjoyable story. I am thrilled that I gave this series the time it deserves.


    Favorite Quotes:


    I love you.
    The realization loomed inside her, solid as a rock sticking out of the ocean, staggering in its simplicity.
    She loved him. Loved his quiet steadiness, his uncomplicated directness, his commitment to family, his determination to do the right thing. Loved Matt, the whole man.


    She was as full of contrasts as the sea, the bright surface and cool depths. Every time he thought he had her figured, she surprised him. Like that tattoo she wore,waiting to be discovered under her pastel cardigans. She stirred him up, he admitted...He was drawn to her warmth, challenged by her determination to embrace life, to try things out, to take things on, to put herself out there. To be naked, in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Matt Fletcher is a single dad who was nearly destroyed after a f

    Matt Fletcher is a single dad who was nearly destroyed after a failed marriage. Ever since, he shies away from relationships and never gets involved with women who live on the Island. That is, until a certain new teacher, Allison, enters his life and reawakens feelings he thought long dead. As their relationship progresses, Matt finds himself falling hard and he doesn’t know what scares him most; 
    Allison leaving the island, or worse, staying permanently.

    The story has so much heart. I love the family-oriented businesses and everyone pitching in to help and take care of each other. I love Matt and Allison together. They complement each other so well. Matt’s son Josh is a hoot and I love the dynamic he brings to the story and to Matt and Allison’s relationship. 

    We get a quick peek at Matt’s siblings, Luke and Meg. Luke has shown up on the family inn’s doorstop with a daughter, Taylor, in tow. A 10-year-old daughter he had no knowledge of until recently. Since Luke is in the Marines, he has only enough time to drop the girl off with his family and head back overseas. Taylor is gun shy and obviously dealing with some hidden traumas, but she is welcomed into the family and loved instantly.

    I absolutely LOVED this book. It’s a beautiful story about family, overcoming fears and accepting change. It’s about perseverance, pulling together in times of need, and there’s so much love. Yes, there were some bumps along the way but Matt and Allison claimed their happily ever after. I look forward to following their story in future books. Meg’s book is up next and I am looking forward to unraveling her mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wonderful beginning to the Dare Island series. I enjoy

    This is a wonderful beginning to the Dare Island series. I enjoyed the characters and wanted to know more. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Have read several of Kantra's books and liked them, but this by far is the best! The area the story is set in is as down to earth as she portrays. I could "see" the different characters and situations. Can't wait for the next two and to see if my conclusions about Taylor are correct.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1