Customer Reviews for

Carolina Isle (Edenton Series #2)

Average Rating 3
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Fun Read

    Who doesn't want to trade lives with someone else and find your gorgeous true love in the process? Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    enjoyed it!

    enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    i just read the book again for a second time. and i loved it. lo

    i just read the book again for a second time. and i loved it. loved it the first time. couldnt put it down. the characters were well written, the plot was exciting and it was totally not a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    Don't waste your time!

    This book is absurd, to say the least. Life is too short to be wasted on something as poorly written and developed as this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I think it was cute and exciting. It was an easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    not one i would read again

    I've read most of Devereaux works and love most of it, but this one is a boring read flat story line. I don't how she can write something so long out of something so boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2006

    Worst Deveraux book I read

    This was perhaps the worst Jude Deveraux book I read, and I've read almost all of them. I kept waiting for the story to happen, for something, but it was just boring. I couldn't understand how they are supposed to have traded places - Sara and Ariel- and that Ariel's mother did not recognize that it wasn't her daughter? The only clue we got was that they used wigs.. I would think that's not enough, I mean are they THAT much alike?! I find that unrealistic that no one questioned that. I'm glad RJ didn't fall for it, or it would have been a total joke. I didn't really get what happened at the end either, it ended too fast. I totally don't get why the book isn't called King's Isle? I did not buy the chemistry between the characters, the plot was extreme and unrealistic.. unlike any other Jude book I read. I was totally disappointed. The narrative felt so simple to me, like it was children's book...?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Very disappointing

    I have read most of Ms. Deveraux's books, and must say that this is probably the worst one she has ever written. The story was clumsy, and the writing almost juvenile. I hope this isn't a forecast of her future books. She's done so much better in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2006

    Not the only who hated this book

    I am so glad to know I was not the only one who thought this story was disjointed and so very bad. I have all of Jude Deveraux's books and much prefer the historical romances to the present time. I also did not like the Forever Series these to me were hard to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2006

    Was a fan!

    I have read all of Deveraux's books, but this one was very disappointing. I couldn't find the interest to get past the second chapter. Congrats to those that could finish reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    not as good as the others

    I read this book lastnight and I couldn't put it down because it got very interesting. However, I got confused by the way she changed POV and then the book just ended so fast without really telling how it ended. For example, what happen to RJ and Sara in the cave for them to get together. Also, I didn't understand how they all got rescued in the end and what Ariel found. Maybe I was just so tired lastnight that the ending will sound better to me after I try to read the end again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Could have been a lot better!

    I usually like Jude's book but I thought this was very disappointing. It seemed like an old manucript that they printed to tide over fans while she wrote a new book. The book changes the main plot half way through and then the book is wrapped up in the Epilogue rather than in the chapters themselves. The book ended way too abruptly. This book was a big letdown! I would recommed skipping it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2006

    a big let down

    This book absolutely lets down Jude Deveraux fans. The whole time you think of the book as one written by a novice instead of a best selling author. Any one reading this book will think twice about picking up another title by her. Big dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    Book readers

    This was a terrific book. But ending should have been a whole lot better. It seem like the writer was in a hurry to end the story. Well this was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    Not very impressed

    I am usually a fan of Ms. Deveraux's work, but this book felt flat. At points while reading, I wondered if someone else was writing the book for her, it just seemed like it was written by an amateur. I look forward to her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2006

    Not impressed

    I am a huge fan of her books, but this one was a bit disappointing. I was into the book from the beginning and then it just ended. I was expecting a lot more to come of the characters and the mysterious plot. I was anxious to know more about this island(which is what the book is mostly about, not the switching places), but for the most part, it was a let down. It just needed a bit more pizzaz which any Deveraux fan expects. Oh well, maybe the next book will prove to be a better read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Where's the rest?

    This book could have been better. It started out good, if a bit slow, but then the whole switching places idea sort of became pointless (and a bit confusing). The story then shifts focus to a crime/mystery that the four characters need to figure out - only when the characters split up the reader is lead down one path (with one couple) then the story jumps to the other couple and it ends - with a chapter tying everything up in a quick summary. For all the thought put into the character creation in the begining of the book, the mystery and the relationship developement seemed only half complete - and then the book ended. (part of the problem might have been the fact that there were two couples - unfortunetly, instead of adding the extra pages to dive into each relationship - it ended up more like one relationship with one couple portraying the begining steps and the other couple finishing off the rest of the steps to the happy conclusion (the 'I Love You')). I usually like Ms. Deveraux's books - but it could have been better towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Not Her Best

    I am a huge fan of Jude Deveraux and actually quite liked this book until it got to page 295. I kept flipping back to see if I missed accidentally missed some pages. My guess is that Ms. Deveraux was in a hurry and patched together an ending or another writer had to come in and finish it. There was no explanination of the resolution of the RJ/Sara story line, there wasn't any mention of all the money that Sara was due to inherit, and the ending was so flat and canned. It was very disappointing because I liked the book up until that point and I wanted to know how it was all going to be resolved! Oh well...I hope she fares better with her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2