Customer Reviews for

Carolina Reckoning

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    I received this book free in exchange for my opinion! Carolina R

    I received this book free in exchange for my opinion!
    Carolina Reckoning is a thriller infused with emotion that will take you on an edge of your seat adventure.  I was so thrilled with the pace of this book.  I really found myself reading faster and faster so I could see what would happen.  I love the fact that in some troubling circumstances the characters go to God for help and don't rely on others to come to their rescue and that the ultimate happiness is found in Him.
    The rich history of the Weathersby was almost a character of it's own.  I could picture the lush gardens and offices where Allison worked.
    I really came to adore the characters and became invested in their struggles.  I felt as though I was going through the story with them and to me that means great story telling!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    Carolina Reckoning is a "Christian Mystery", set in pr

    Carolina Reckoning is a "Christian Mystery", set in present-day North Carolina.  The story opens with Alison, the protagonist, finding a picture of her husband, Frank,  and another woman taken during one of his trips out of town; he is a pilot who travels extensively and is commonly regarded as an adulterer, but she had never had the actual proof of his liaisons.  While she waits on the couch so she can confront him immediately upon his return, she falls asleep only to be awakened by local police informing her that Frank has been murdered.  The plot takes Alison on a journey to seek the truth about her husband and his murder, which becomes a journey into her own self and what she wants for her family.

        I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads First Reads, in exchange for an honest review.   After reading the first 100 pages or so, I have to admit that I was a little afraid of what this review would look like.  The novel started out with a "bang" (literally), but immediately began throwing in character transformations, even before we got to know the characters.  I found the beginning a little "disjointed" and unbelievable; I'll spare details to prevent spoilers.  I am so glad I kept reading, however, because the pace of the book suddenly picked up, and quickly became a "page turner".  I started getting invested in the characters, the intriguing mystery, and where this story may be leading.  In the end, I was quite satisfied.  Not only did I get a great mystery, but a great story about the journey into oneself and what it takes to find your own strength, independent of others.  I look forward to reading Lisa Carter's next book, Beneath a Navajo Moon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I sooo enjoyed this book.  I am a fan of mysteries and I always

    I sooo enjoyed this book.  I am a fan of mysteries and I always love it when I can't identify the whodunnit until the end of the book.  This book keeps me guessing the whole time.  The message of hope also rings out throughout the book as we develop the characters in our mind.  Easy and fast reading in its finest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this whodunnit with so many suspects, it'll mak

    I really enjoyed this whodunnit with so many suspects, it'll make your head spin! I really liked Alison and Mike and I loved that we got both of their perspectives, along with her daughter's. I liked that there were so many aspects to the story, from her grief to wanting to solve his murder to being torn between two men but also being terrified because of her shambles of a marriage. I also liked that we got to see from the perspective of unbelievers who start to wonder about God and watch their relationships with God progress. There were some sweet romantic moments and a lot of suspense as Alison doesn't always think before she leaps! I also love history, so the setting of a historic plantation being restored was great. I highly recommend this book if you like suspense and mysteries and I look forward to reading more by this author!

    I received this book free from Abingdon Press in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    Carolina Reckoning, by Lisa Carter, was the type of book I love

    Carolina Reckoning, by Lisa Carter, was the type of book I love to read, mystery with a little romance.

    Alison Monaghan, the deceased’s wife and now the suspect, was a very courageous person. I don’t think I could have gone to work near the place where someone special was murdered, like she did. She even spent a lot of time with people who could have murdered Frank, the husband.

    I liked her two children, best friend, and Homicide detective Mike Barefoot. They were supportive and courageous as well. They are the type of people I would like to have in my corner when things aren’t going well.

    I recommend Carolina Reckoning to anyone who likes suspense and romance.

    Disclosure of Material Connection- I received Carolina Reckoning by Lisa Carter for free from Abingdon Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Carolina Reckoning is the kind of suspense novel I enjoy¿one wit

    Carolina Reckoning is the kind of suspense novel I enjoy—one with enough mystery to keep my inner suspense-lover intrigued and enough romance to satisfy the romantic in me. It also isn't remotely gory or supernatural—something I don't enjoy in a suspense novel.

    I especially appreciated the way Christianity is portrayed in the novel. At the beginning, neither Alison nor Mike has any relationship with God. But the Christians around them model Christ in such a way that they both long to know Him. Author Lisa Carter weaves faith into the novel in an organic way—never does she come off as preachy.

    I did have a little trouble following the twists and turns that ultimately led to Frank's killer, and I think that's because I couldn't remember all of the characters. While the main characters (and even those in fairly large supporting roles) were distinct and fleshed out, those on the periphery seemed to blend together. So when the truth began coming to light, I found myself going, "OK, who was that again?" If I'd had a better handle on those characters, I think I would have enjoyed the payoff more.

    That said, I did greatly enjoy Carolina Reckoning. It's suspenseful and romantic and points the reader to Christ, three things that make reading Carolina Reckoning a positive experience.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a copy of this book for review from Abingdon Press.  I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    This book starts out like any other secular style book where the

    This book starts out like any other secular style book where the wife finds out the husband is cheating and seeks to no longer take his affairs.. but hang in there! Through the mourning process Alison becomes a Christian and has belief that her husband Frank had done the same just prior to his murder. He has left behind some evidence and letters for Alison and her two children illuding to his new found belief in Jesus and asking for forgiveness. It is like he knows someone is after him, and Alison is even targeted when she goes to the spot where he was killed.



    There are ALOT of characters in the book. It got a bit overwhelming at first with all of the board members and friends of Valerie's. I had to back track to try to remember different characters and got confused quite often at first. Maybe just a few too many for me. I was still working with Alison through the mourning so it was hard to grab hold of these characters and who wore what color lipstick.



    I did love the focus and discipleship of Alison as a new believer. I did like how the pastor and his family embraced them and sought to make sense of the mess that they were in. It wasn't in your face gospel, but enough for non believers to see and possibly consider a relationship with Jesus when there is no hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Having read many, many mystery and suspense novels, I can say wi

    Having read many, many mystery and suspense novels, I can say with absolute honesty that this is a MUST read! This story will lead you through many ups and downs within the lives of the characters and their relationship, growing bit by bit, with Christ. If you love to get lost in the story, you will love being in this one. It will also leave you guessing until the very end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I started this yesterday morning and finished it at about Oh say

    I started this yesterday morning and finished it at about Oh say about 10:30 last night lol. Carolina Reckoning is part romance, part suspence and part history in some ways. The main part of the story is about Alison and the emotions of confirming her husbands infidelity and the long ago collapse of her marriage. It's also about discovering her husband has "discovered" God shortly before his death and is in the process of correcting some major mistakes and getting ready to confess them to her. Alison has her best friend to encourage and support her as she works her way through the muddle her husband left her and ends up learning to lean on God and stand up for herself.

    Mike Barefoot is a police officer who has trusted 1 to many women with his emotions and has given up on God altogether even though he was raised by his Granny who was a very strong Christian woman. He starts out believing that there is a strong chance that Alison murdered her husband but ends up changing his tune in more than one way.

    Carolina Reckoning is a bit light. It's not an emotional rollercoaster and won't reach down and touch you somewhere deep in your heart - but the salvation message is there and watching both Alison and Mike learn to lean on God and trust that he truly is there for us was really nice to watch. I loved the ending - not for the romance but for the conclusion to the mystery that sorta surprised me. It wasn't the "who dun it" I thought it would be but the mystery itself and the reasons behind it were interesting. It's a perfect book for a cold blizzardy or rainy day and would make a great gift for someone who enjoys reading late at night.

    Disclaimer: I was given a copy of the book to read and review on GivingNSharing. I was not required to have a positive review and no $$ exchanged hands. Thanks for reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    From the back cover: Alison wanted her husband gone, not dead...

    From the back cover: Alison wanted her husband gone, not dead...

    When 30-something housewife, Alison Monaghan discovers proof of her husband's infidelity in a photograph with a mysterious woman, she must decide how to confront Frank when he returns home from work. Despite the influence of her best friend Valerie, a strong Christian, Alison remains aloof from God and is determined to handle this crisis her own way. But Alison may not get that chance. Frank never makes it home. Soon his body is found on a lonely back-country road in antebellum Weathersby Historic Park where Frank served on the board of directors and where Alison, with a degree in landscape design, was a volunteer garden docent.

    Homicide detective Mike Barefoot, a Cherokee native from the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, immediately puts Alison at the top of his suspect list. He finds himself drawn to her--and not just because she had motive for the crime. As an army veteran, Mike usually keeps his emotional walls high. And as a detective, he knows not to get involved with murder suspects. So why he is so attracted to Alison? Can he fight his feelings for her--and find the killer before Alison becomes the next target?

    Carolina Reckoning starts with a bang, literally! Allison Monaghan and Mike Barefoot were both strong characters with flaws, which made them approachable and as a reader I felt drawn into their lives. As with a mystery, it was fast paced, making a quick read. Even though a lot happens during the course of the book, with red herrings galore, Lisa Carter ties up all the loose ends for the reader.

    For those readers who live in North Carolina, there is an especially nice touch in that the author paints vivid pictures of local flavor. If you enjoy mysteries, this is the book for you.

    I received this book from the publisher Abingdon Press to read and review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 55.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lisa Carter in her new book, "Carolina Reckoning" publ

    Lisa Carter in her new book, "Carolina Reckoning" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Alison Monaghan.




    From the back cover: Alison wanted her husband gone, not dead...




    When 30-something housewife, Alison Monaghan discovers proof of her husband's infidelity in a photograph with a mysterious woman, she must decide how to confront Frank when he returns home from work. Despite the influence of her best friend Valerie, a strong Christian, Alison remains aloof from God and is determined to handle this crisis her own way. But Alison may not get that chance. Frank never makes it home. Soon his body is found on a lonely back-country road in antebellum Weathersby Historic Park where Frank served on the board of directors and where Alison, with a degree in landscape design, was a volunteer garden docent.




    Homicide detective Mike Barefoot, a Cherokee native from the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, immediately puts Alison at the top of his suspect list. He finds himself drawn to her--and not just because she had motive for the crime. As an army veteran, Mike usually keeps his emotional walls high. And as a detective, he knows not to get involved with murder suspects. So why he is so attracted to Alison? Can he fight his feelings for her--and find the killer before Alison becomes the next target?




    Marital infidelity. Alison has all the evidence to prove her husband's womanizing and plans to confront him with it. All she wants is to get rid of him and be on with her life. She never gets the chance. Someone kills him. And all the evidence points to her as the killer. Now what? Well the same way she got the evidence to prove his infidelity she sets out to find the murderer. Mike Barefoot is the cop assigned to the case. He's got his hands full. Not only is he attracted to Alison he also has to keep her alive long enough to find the real killer and stop him. Get ready for a mystery that is going to keep you flipping pages a mile a minute as you try to find out what will happen next. Red herrings, murder attempts and romance this book has it all. I really don't think you will guess who the murderer is before the reveal and you will be pleasantly surprised. Ms. Carter does an outstanding job of bringing her characters to life and you really want their romance to succeed. I am already looking forward to more from this talented author.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Abingdon Press for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1