Customer Reviews for

Carpathian (Event Group Series #8)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC READ-DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

Typical of the Event Group series-fast moving, great background, and favorite characters. This could be one of my favorites. Novel idea on an age old Biblical story. Couldn't wait to find out the end answers but disappointed that the story had to end.

posted by LaScrabbler on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read an

I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read and a very disappointing entry into the Event Group Series. The storylines in this book were extremely confusing and I found myself separating the storylines; reading each storyline separately and then trying...
I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read and a very disappointing entry into the Event Group Series. The storylines in this book were extremely confusing and I found myself separating the storylines; reading each storyline separately and then trying to piece together each storyline into a complete whole. In this book the author's "voice" was very different from his other books, which leads me to ask who really wrote this book. Hopefully, the next book in the series will be better than this one.

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    WOW WOW!!!! This is by far the best book of the series of eight.

    WOW WOW!!!!
    This is by far the best book of the series of eight. The ending will BLOW YOU AWAY.......
    Never saw it coming. This is one fantastic book - the entire series is just the best ever..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read an

    I agree with the Anonymous posting of 9/18. A difficult read and a very disappointing entry into the Event Group Series. The storylines in this book were extremely confusing and I found myself separating the storylines; reading each storyline separately and then trying to piece together each storyline into a complete whole. In this book the author's "voice" was very different from his other books, which leads me to ask who really wrote this book. Hopefully, the next book in the series will be better than this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Extremely disappointed

    What happened? I cant believe DLG wrote this! Or did he have a parnter in crime doing most of the writing? Did anyone edit or proof read it? Way to many mistakes and way to many inconsistant with the storyline. Zallas said no one is to go to the castle yet two pages later Ryan and Pete is standing in the main hall of it! Jack, Sarah, Pete and Mr. Ryan is caught and in a suite with Zallas when Janso entered. He sees the Americans and and Zallaa explains they are to.ve arrested for burglery. Janso then stated that Gina is missing. Then some fifty pages later he tells Zallas that Gina is missing and the 4 Americans are missing too (uh?) Zallas stated the Americans probably checked out and left, taking Gina with them (double uh?). The most elite group ever put together and they acted like bumbling amateurs without a plan. And "Colonel Jack Collins, United States Army and Congressional Metal of Honor Recipent" was at a loss of what to do, even asking Sarah, Pete and "Mr. Ryan" (?) "Recommendations?". For Pete sake, they're in hotel suite with a wet bar, no guards in the room and not tied up! It took Janos Vajic, a secert agent, to come to thier rescue by breaking a windown with a simple chair (yes, a chair) and then told them how to exit the room! How embarrassing for the most elite group ever put together! And even I would know to keep my mouth shut and not make a sound while riding in top of a cable car with Zallas inside, unlike Jack and Sarah! Unless I missed the part where it said the car was sound proofed? Madam Korvesky refused pain meds because any introduction of toxicant or opiate would interfere with the spell casting but she sure didn't mind that morphine! I could go on and on, but in the end the most elite group of people ever put together was luckly to have the Golias (oversized german sheppards) and a band of seriously sterotyped gypsies to complete this important, history changing "Event"! And what is with that overplayed "cliff hanger" ending? Trying to get people to buy the next book just to see what happens??? It was never done in the books before, why start now?????? Maybe its just me, judging from all the 5 star rating this book recieved, but it just was NOT up to DLG standard of writing! I always thought the more you write, the better you become?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    FANTASTIC READ-DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

    Typical of the Event Group series-fast moving, great background,
    and favorite characters.
    This could be one of my favorites. Novel idea on an age old Biblical story.
    Couldn't wait to find out the end answers but disappointed that
    the story had to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    DISAPPOINTED

    The premise and story line are interesting but the writing and editing were poor.

    This effort would be a poor first book. Not something I'd expect from an experienced author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    Before I got to page 100 I was seriously sorry that I'd purchase

    Before I got to page 100 I was seriously sorry that I'd purchased this book.  I've read all of Goleman's Event series and this just seemed to have been written by someone else.  Or maybe the editing was done by a novice.  All of a sudden though, Mr. Goleman must have taken over because the writing became crisp, the sentences became shorter and the story more readable and flowing.  An example of the poor writing - sentences had to be read several times in order to figure out what was being told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Fantastic!!! One of the best books of this type I have ever re

    Fantastic!!! One of the best books of this type I have ever read!! I hope he follows this up with another that is just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Who edited this book. Idea great, read...

    Who edited this book. Idea great, read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    The whole series has been a good read.   I hope Golemon keeps th

    The whole series has been a good read.   I hope Golemon keeps the series going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    highly recommended

    fast moving. entertaining. an interesting theory on an ancient event.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Great read, as are all his books. I look forward to the next on

    Great read, as are all his books. I look forward to the next one and hope it picks up where this one ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Me again

    I have enjoyed every single one of the event books, but this one was absolutely over the top!! By far his best book yet! Thank you Mr. Goleman for one of the best books I have read in years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Mr. Golemon has hit his usual stride with another page turner.

    Mr. Golemon has hit his usual stride with another page turner. Good thing that I was on vacation when I started the one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Add myths, legends, secret operatives, Gypsies, and a little bit

    Add myths, legends, secret operatives, Gypsies, and a little bit of science, mix well, et voila, you have Carpathian!  A top secret US government agency, known as the Event Group, goes on a search for a previously-unknown wolf species (known as the Golia) that is connected with one of the Lost Tribes of Israel and had direct impact on Biblical and historical events.  Of course, they are not alone in their quest as international forces collide, although each group has a different motive.  What secrets have been hidden in the Carpathian mountains for over 3000 years?

    The book began with a lot of action that promised non-stop thrills.  However, once I got to around page 50 the pace seemed to really slow down for quite a long time as the narrative jumped around all over the place (both geographically as well as in time).  At a certain point I actually wondered if I'd be able to finish the book.  However, once all of the various groups vying for the same prize finally came together in the same time at the same place, the action picked up and was truly non-stop until the end.  Interestingly enough, this is the second new book that I've read in the last couple of months that was set at least in part in a new Dracula's Castle tourist attraction, the other being Stoker's Manuscript. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2