Customer Reviews for

Carpe Bead 'Em

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    A Great Read

    The words can't describe how much I LOVE his book They say you can never go back home, but Hallie does and something wonderful happened; she discovered her meaning in life and embraced it from her friendships, her career-path and her crazy Aunt Grace. There are several laugh-out-loud moments that will tickle your funny bone as well as some tender moments. This is an endearing story that will capture your heart.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Highly Reccomend

    I loved this book!
    The characters are so wonderful, makes you want to sit right down
    and start beading and chatting with them! Hopefully Tonya will keep this series going!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    WOW!!

    Funny, funny, funny! Tonya Kappes puts the fun back in writing! Her characters are full of color. I love how Hallie's character grew throughout the novel. I laughed, laughed, and cried! I hope she does a series on these characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    There's a New Queen of Quirky-Crazy Characters in the Indie Epub World...and it's Tonya Kappes!

    Prepare to laugh your (fill in the blanks)... There's a new queen of Quirky-Crazy Characters in the Indie Epub World...and it's Tonya Kappes! Her high-class hillbilly, farcical adventures are over-the-top unique! Cheers to you, Tonya, and to your Carpe Bead'em Cast & Crew!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    Clever and Crafty: A Perfect Combination

    What could be better than a book that brings a young woman home to where she belongs, has a rascally pooch, and centers around beading and discovering and following your dream? Carpe Bead 'Em has it all. Hallie's been trying to escape her past, but, as we all know, that's impossible. She ends up back with her Aunt Grace, and along the way, Hallie discovers what's really important to her. She's like Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz, clicking her heels together to realize that what she's wanted has been there the whole time, if only she'd been willing to see it.

    This is the perfect beach read as we roll into summer!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    A Fun read

    Not only will you laugh out-loud over Aunt Grace's antics, and the pink poodle, but find Hallie's journey inspirational and touching. This is a book that's hard to put down, and Hallie finds herself in a life in her old city.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Fghjkkljhg

    Cggv cg

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Fine, whatever

    After reading the other reviews i cannot believe no one else got sick of the middle school plot, grammar and spelling errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fun read with an emotional pull.

    I went to bed a little early last night, for the sole purpose of trying to get a little reading in. I hadn't really read all day long and was having a little withdrawal going on.

    Armed with my Nook and good ole Nook light I set off to just read a little bit. I believe I was on Chapter Nine when I started reading last around 10pm . . and I was finished with the book around 2am.

    Would you HONESTLY like to know the shape I was in when I finished the book?!?!
    All I can say is, I'm glad I didn't wake anyone up . . but dang my eyes are sure puffy this morning!

    What could I possibly be talking about . . . Well, to start with we have Hallie. She lost her parents when she was younger and ended up be raised by her Aunt Grace. Living in a less than stellar apartment building in Cincinnati, Hallie wasn't popular by any means. Getting away from there was at the top of her to do list. Fast forward to after college and you find Hallie living in Chicago with one of her Best Friends, Lucy. Working for Gucci, her dream job . . . Hallie is pretty content.

    Then one day, everything changes. Piper shows up to spread the "good" news! (ha) Hallie is less than excited to be making the career changing step, but it's only 3 months . . right?

    What could happen in 3 months?!?!?!

    Hallie settles in to find her groove. She visits her "Crazy" Aunt Grace and Uncle Jimmy, and only reminds herself of why she wanted out so badly. Continuing to run, to train for a marathon, she can't help but think of how she misses Bo (the entire reason she started running in the first place). It's during a morning run she runs head first into the world of beading.

    Hold on because things getting a little crazy here. Life starts to change for Hallie in ways she never thought would happen. By the end of the book, the Hallie you started with will no longer be there . . . and you're left holding the story of a changed young woman.

    A fun read with great message.

    Every moment counts and life is too short to hold a grudge.
    Always remember, somethings aren't always what they seem.

    So, my advice . . pick up your copy, a box of tissue and get ready for girlfriends, family, and a pink poodle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2