BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Carpe Diem

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    I <3 books and nooks!

    Loved this book! I wanted to read it over and over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    This book has a great voice and awesome vocablary that i looked

    This book has a great voice and awesome vocablary that i looked up words that i didn't know. I Love it and reccomend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    light-hearted fun read

    Another book club read that I liked! Amazing how someone can actually plan their life out and know exactly what she want and when she wants it. Seems like a dream. This was a cute book how someones life can change with just one summer of not planning! It can be a bit of a stressful book to someone who doesn't like change, yet it was a great read! The ending was definitely a surprise. Not quite sure if I liked it, but I still enjoyed what the author was going for!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    Great book.

    I thought this book was really interesting and fun to read. I had no idea what was going to happen next and it was great for people who like to travel or learn about other cultures. The characters are lovable and quirky and has a twisted teenager love story. It has an uncommon plot also, that takes place in Southeast Asia. It is really intriguing and is pretty funny too. This book made me want to strive to travel more and see what is out there! I really recommend this book because I think everyone who reads it will love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Summer Read

    I truly enjoyed this book. I felt the author developed the characters well. You could enjoy the story as Vassar went through her various adventures and see her changing her world views just a little bit and broading her horizons. Having experienced some of what Vassar went through in my own travels made it fun to relate to her. I enjoyed the quirky grandma with her 'found art' and the 'Asian cowboy' was a cute love interest. I do think that Vassar would have freaked out just a little bit more than she acutally did in some of the situations, but over all I found the book very entertaining. This is a fun, quirky summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    if you love traveling...

    this book was really just great. i read it on a roadtrip i went on and i couldnt put it down. it was very engaging and funny. i actually laughed outloud. the descriptions of southern asia are vivid and the characters are amazing. makes me want to travel where Vassar did. oh, and plan on falling in love with grandma gerd...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    With a name like Vassar, you would assume that the person would have her entire life planned out. And you would be absolutely correct. With the help of her goal-oriented parents, who have predicted which Ivy League school their daughter will attend by naming her after it, Vassar Spore has a plan, both in school and out, that will set her for life. <BR/><BR/>From the A(A)P classes to having a criteria to choosing her best friends to her extracurricular activities during her summer at the Advanced Latin Camp, Vassar not only has what it takes to be valedictorian, but to be the most perfect, well-rounded student Vassar (the college) has ever seen. <BR/><BR/>Of course, plans will always be interrupted. Out of nowhere Vassar's Grandma Gerd telephones and announces her gift for her granddaughter's sweet sixteen birthday: a paid trip to Malaysia, Cambodia, and Laos. <BR/><BR/>Sure, this may sound like the best birthday present that anyone has ever received, but not for Vassar, especially since she already planned out her entire summer to where she will get the 5.3 GPA that she has been wanting to grasp ever since she heard it was the new 4.0. Vassar knows for sure that her parents will say no to the gift, and she doesn't mind at all. <BR/><BR/>But with a little blackmail, Grandma Gerd gets Vassar's parents to agree to the trip. It's always nice to have a family secret for leverage. Before she knows it, Vassar is on a plane, set for an exotic trip with her crazy grandmother. What Vassar doesn't know is what will be in store for her, especially how this trip will show her the side of life that isn't always about plans and futures but what is in front of you right now. <BR/><BR/>Hilarious, unique, and very charming, CARPE DIEM shows what it really means to seize the day. Vassar Spore may not be like most of us, but her adventures and the obstacles that she must face are still endearing and will have readers at the edge of their seats. A must-read for the summer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Best Book Ever!

    This has got to be one of my all time favorite books. It's unique, and creative and beautiful. It's just a really well written book. The characters are created so well, you just have to love all of them. i can't recommend this book enough. This author has a lot of talent. Once you pick it up won't be able to put it down. Seriously this is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    At first I didn't know whether I'd like this book or not. But i willed myself to keep reading and then I could hardly put it down. I wanted to see how Vassar turned out in the end and I couldn't wait to find out what the Big Secret was. Have fun enjoying this good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2