Customer Reviews for

Carrie

Average Rating 4
( 529 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(286)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

About the lack of sample

Dont bother to get the free sample it gets about three lines into the story it is very [End Of Sample]

posted by 9704777 on October 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Problems with typos and formatting

The book itself would get a star more , but there is a glaring problem with the actual transcription from the book to the digital format. There are abundant typos and much of the spacing and separation of passages used by the narrator in the original text is incorrect. ...
The book itself would get a star more , but there is a glaring problem with the actual transcription from the book to the digital format. There are abundant typos and much of the spacing and separation of passages used by the narrator in the original text is incorrect. I'm pretty sure that if Stephen King was aware of this carelessly handled version of his first novel, he would not approve at all.

posted by 7491230 on April 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    About the lack of sample

    Dont bother to get the free sample it gets about three lines into the story it is very [End Of Sample]

    41 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good plot and a gripping read!

    This story is about Carrie White, a sixteen year old high school student born with powers of telekinesis and made fun of her whole life. She lives with her over-zealously religious mother. There is a theme in the novel about blood and a female¿s menstrual cycle, particularly of Carrie, who has her first one in the beginning. After a life time of of being taunted by her school mates and apathy from adults, she goes to the Prom where she is hurt one last time when a bucket of blood is dropped on her and everyone laughs. She then takes her extreme anger out on the whole town. It is exciting and I liked it definitely, but there are a couple sex scenes in it and a large amount of profanity, many being ¿F words¿ which I do not like. I recommend this book to people who can handle some graphic and bloody content; it is a fun read for a high school student that might go through a similar hard time socially.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Excellent book!

    I thought it was very good. Stephen King does a very good job of reeling you in. My only complaint is the constant change of perspectives, which either go back or forward in time. Otherwise it was amazing. It is a great choice for anyone who likes eerie, suspenseful books. The transcripter made many errors though. This book is worth the money. I hope you will enjoy it! :D

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    Problems with typos and formatting

    The book itself would get a star more , but there is a glaring problem with the actual transcription from the book to the digital format. There are abundant typos and much of the spacing and separation of passages used by the narrator in the original text is incorrect. I'm pretty sure that if Stephen King was aware of this carelessly handled version of his first novel, he would not approve at all.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Review for school-Nikki C.

    This book was about a bullied girl who had the power to control things with her mind. It started when she was young, was surpressed, and then reappeared when she hit puberty. She was asked to the prom by a very nice boy at th request of his girlfriend. The girlfriend was attempting to apologize for harrassing Carrie. At the same time, another girl decided to make sure Carrie was named prom queen to play a dirty joke. But you have to read it to know the end.
    I loved this book. I thought it was upposed to be scary but it was really sad. The story felt so real and sadly its easy to relate to. Read it. Its amazing

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished Carrie and this book amazed me! Very few books can actually make you feel sorry for a character. But in this I really felt bad for Carrie. I won't spoil anything, but it is completely horrifying what Carrie does at the prom! This book also has a very chilling ending.(The one involving Susan, not the very end) An all around great horror novel!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Much better than the movie.

    I am a fan of the movie and Sissy Spacek, but I read this book and was very impressed by how much better it really was. The characters and their changing train of thought. The spectacular crowning of the prom king and queen.-It was a very satisfying read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It...

    I am going to have to disagree with most bad reviews on this book. It's a classic and it needs blood and gore to make it what it is. Stephen King is a brillant writer and captures the emotions of every character perfectly in this book. Carrie is a lonely loner who just wants to be like everyone else but just isn't! Depression, having no friends and being blessed with powers she doesn't want, makes this girl upset and twisted in the head. At first she is just another "weird girl" you know from school but then she quickly becomes the picked on too much villian that does some unforgiveable things. After reading this book, you begin to feel for this girl so you don't know whether to hate her for the things she's done or say "Go Girl!" Ultimately, I recommend this classic by Stephen King to anyone who enjoys a good dramatic horror story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    Awsome!

    This was even better than the movie! Edge of my seat reading. I couldnt put it down! Read it in one day!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    King Excellence!

    This is the book I consider the beginning of my love affair with Stephen King. I first read it in 1977 when I picked it up in paperback at the local pharmacy. I was drawn in from the first sentence and couldn't put it down. The in-depth characterizations, ugly truth of human depravity and psychosis, and blatant exposure of what is now politely termed as "domestic violence" was revolutionary at the time of the writing of this story. Yes, Mr. King's portrayal of the dark recesses of the human mind can be ugly and even stomach turning, but that in itself is not only refreshing in our now politically correct world, but whispers to that voice deep down inside that never publicly exposes itself. If you want to experience the macabre author at his best, don't pass on this one.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    Carrie

    Stephen King is a master story teller. I think Carrie--which was his first novel--would be one of his best, as it's hard for a fully-grown man to identify with high school girls. And he pulled it off impeccably. Carrie has an original plot, the writing is amazing, the characters are crystal clear and they are unique people; they're mean, nice, crazy, ridiculous, and everything else in the world. King delves into what is unknown and unheard of and he creates a world that surrounds you, even after the book is through.

    If you haven't read Carrie I highly recommend you do, and then move on to more Stephen King novels. :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Very GOOD!

    People need to be careful when making fun of others... I felt Carrie's pain and loneliness.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2004

    read this book

    i choose to read this book for school and it is very good. it's one of those books that is easy to read and you can read it fast. read this book, it's very good. the book is about a girl that can move things with her mind. she has telekinesis. her mother in the book is a little physco, and she tries to kill Carrie. Carrie is a very interesting character, yet in some parts of the book, it's sad to see how ridiculed she is. the book isnt dreadfully long, but it is kind of thick. To young people that do not know how babies are created: if you read this book, you will be a little shocked, because there are a couple sex scenes. they're not X rated, but they aren't rated G.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is one of the scariest books you'll ever read. It's one of

    This is one of the scariest books you'll ever read. It's one of King's ealier novels and King's like Metallica, still good but better in the earlier years. Like any Kind Book the assoicated movie, new one or old one, is good but doesn't do the book justice. Read this even if you've seen the movie.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Awesome.

    This was a great book, but the formatting was unprofessional and poorly done.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    American Classic

    Carrie is a true, American horror classic by the master of horror himself, Stephen King. Carrie, published in 1974 by Double-day publication, though it was King¿s sixth novel, it became his first novel to make it to publication. Carrie is the fictional documentation of a tormented girl named Carrietta ¿Carrie¿ White in the small town of Chamberlain, Maine. Raised by her mother Margaret, a fundamental Christian fundamentalist, Carrie is misunderstood by all, being chastised by her unstable and vindictive mother at home and is misunderstood and humiliated outside of her home by her classmates. What separated Carrie from other novels that attempt to portray the Anti-Cinderella story is one key detail: Carrie White is telekinetic. As the story progresses and the anxieties that bombard Carrie¿s life slowly build up to the final climax, which, though it is foreshadowed throughout the story, it is not, fully appreciated until King is able to break down every ¿raw¿ and ¿horrifying¿ detail. Besides the obviously great (yet horrifying) plot, King¿s use of multiple viewpoints and use of the epistolary structure intertwines seamlessly to create a sense of anxiousness and suspense. In using multiple viewpoints in the story, King is able to illustrate each characters true motive. An example would be how Sue Smell, one of the ¿popular¿ girls and earlier antagonist actually feels remorse for her actions and actually attempts to make amends for her earlier mistakes. King¿s use of epistolary in the form of letter, documented accounts and newspaper clippings was another great tool to help keep the reader interested and in suspense. In using this epistolary structure, King is able to foreshadow to the eventual climax and buildup with short bits of information that helps tie the story together in the end. What I personally enjoyed from the book and got out of it was the climax. Though the actual event seems psychotic and extreme, it was satisfying to see underdog get their revenge and the last laugh. King¿s writing style, which tries to keep the reader in suspense, is a welcome change from the expected ending of other writers. King is able to throw a curveball fun to the very end where he gives a bittersweet irony to an unsuspecting character. From it¿s humble starting on a portable typewriter in a trailer in a Hermon, Maine to becoming one of the most frequently banned booths in U.S. schools, Carrie has always been a book of unknowing adventure. One of the greatest horror classics of all time, Carrie will leave it¿s reader with mixed feelings of awe and distraught. I recommend this book to any reader looking to be on a rollercoaster of suspense form beginning to end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    'Live the nightmare that is Carrie'

    If you are a proud owner or movie devoted fan of Carrie, rethink your compellingness to watch it one more time, the book is a BIG(Good) difference. With the book Carrie, you get a more detailed look at the characters, what they are thinking when creating obsene acts against a poor honest girl. This gives you better understanding about things you didn't get in the movie. Please read the book, it is way better than the movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Carrie...Masterpice

    Carrie was made into a film about 4 years after novel was published. Since then its spinded of a sequel "The Rage:Carrie 2" and a remake in 2002. On October 18th, 2013 Director Kimberly Pirce is taking Carrie to the modern world for modern culture. So Stephen King must have something in him that selles. Hes a ledgend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Not that scary...

    This book wasnt very scary and im 11! But over all awsome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    These are the golden oldies of Kings writings, I would get each

    These are the golden oldies of Kings writings, I would get each of these as they were released, I still have these in Hardcover in my library and my B&N NOOK Library. I see some people complaining I hope they aren't going by the TV version of the books because they don't come close. This one was a little more on the "scale of reality" side, spiced with some macabre, even some romance ( if you can call that brief moment ). Kings own skills speak for themselves, but I've been reading for decades, but I guess new readers in the younger generation  haven't had the benefit of learning about his style of writing. My suggestion is go to the Library or any B & N and grab a this book or any other and read a little, but be prepared for the unexpected, there is always a twist. I have had some poo hoo's on the samples as well, so I know why people complain about so little..If you see a reader who isn't anonymous you can always contact them and ask them about a book such as this one.. I enjoyed it, but the Novels to follow DEFINITELY kept  you on your toes... KING is always worth a read ONE of my favorite Authors..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 531 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27