Customer Reviews for

The Carrie Diaries (Carrie Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(235)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(111)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(47)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Sex and the High School Kiddies.

It's time to meet Carrie. Before there was Carrie Bradshaw with Sex and the City, there was only Carrie, nicknamed Bradley by her friends, from Castlebury, Connecticut. The Carrie Diaries, a prequel to Candace Bushnell's book Sex and the City, and to which the TV series...
It's time to meet Carrie. Before there was Carrie Bradshaw with Sex and the City, there was only Carrie, nicknamed Bradley by her friends, from Castlebury, Connecticut. The Carrie Diaries, a prequel to Candace Bushnell's book Sex and the City, and to which the TV series is based on, introduces Carrie and shows how she was sculpted into the woman she became.

The first Sex and the City book was published in 1997 and was scripted into a HBO TV series of the same name in 1998 and lasting through 2004. Sarah Jessica Parker starred as Carrie in the series and reprised her role in the movies as well.

The book tracks Carrie's senior year in high school, along with details about her family life, her friends, and her experiences with the good, sweet guys, and bad, toxic guys. Fans of Sex and the City will be familiar with the Carrie they have come to know. Her fashion statements began at a young age while wearing red Mary Jane shoes to kindergarten, and only have progressed even more entering a life of adulthood with her thrifty white go-go boots, and her sassy, yet youthful attitude has not changed a bit.

Aimed mostly at teens, and true Sex and the City fans, the whirlwind of high school and all its drama is presented in a way that everyone can relate to. Breakups and makeups, secrets hidden by friends, family trouble, and always that one popular girl who makes your life hell, is what Carrie, her friends and family go through in one single year.

Though all the drama, which makes you actually think you are reliving your high school year, Carrie knows what she wants to be in life and goes after it. Amid her and her friends smoking behind the school, or taking shots down at the local bar, she does everything in her power to get it, but the question is if it all pays off or not.

With an ending that will keep you captivated waiting for the second installment of this book set to come out next summer, this book shapes a popular character and a better understanding on her adolescent lifestyle. Fans alike will never want to put this book down.

posted by -kay- on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Changes

I love an "origin" story as much as anyone else, however, I just wish that Candace Bushnell watched "Sex And The City" the tv series as much as I did. Fans of the show will remember that Carrie indicated in season four that her father "quit" both her mother and her whe...
I love an "origin" story as much as anyone else, however, I just wish that Candace Bushnell watched "Sex And The City" the tv series as much as I did. Fans of the show will remember that Carrie indicated in season four that her father "quit" both her mother and her when she was five years old. However, in the book, Bushnell has Carrie's mother dying of cancer and she and her sister being raised by their widower father. Being a die hard fan of the show, this about change ruined the book for me.

posted by orbit on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Changes

    I love an "origin" story as much as anyone else, however, I just wish that Candace Bushnell watched "Sex And The City" the tv series as much as I did. Fans of the show will remember that Carrie indicated in season four that her father "quit" both her mother and her when she was five years old. However, in the book, Bushnell has Carrie's mother dying of cancer and she and her sister being raised by their widower father. Being a die hard fan of the show, this about change ruined the book for me.

    10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    Disappointed!

    I am an avid SATC fan, but this book was just awful. Somehow I managed to read it through. I do not know how this character of Carrie can be the same Manhattan Carrie. It was very disappointed. It was a quick read and may be ok for high schoolers to keep interest, but not adult women who can relate to SATC.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    When i read the back of this book i thought it looked good becau

    When i read the back of this book i thought it looked good because i want to be a writer like carrie does in the book, but when i started reading it, it was nothing like i thought it would be. This book had drugs, smoking cigarettes they stole from parents, drinking alcohol underage, and other stuff that 14 year olds should not read. I personally found this book a bad influence toward younger readers the author wrote the book for. Thoughout the book Carrie continues to make bad decisions that made me not want to finish reading the book. Besides the stuff i have listed i continued untill i finished the book. Being close to Carrie's age i thought i would be able to relate to the book ,which i am disappointed to say i couldn't in any part of the book. Although the book did tend to get better towards the end.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    Not great @ ALL

    Boring and doesn't keep interest !!! Very lacking!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Possibly the worst use of my time.

    I hated this book not only because the characters were completely shallow, followed intense norms of patriarchy that forced characters into completely predictable situations, but also because the entire book has no real purpose. It doesn't appear that the characters ever really learn anything, and nor do the readers. This book was a waste of my time and a huge disappointment. I found it hard to even get through because of my disdain for the characters and the happenings within their lives.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    T

    The movie is worse

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Ugh

    Tttt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    T

    There isint sex is there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Skip the Carrie Diaries

    Well, that was disappointing.

    Unoriginal in every way imaginable and poorly written to boot. If you love Carrie Bradshaw, do yourself a favor and meet her in Manhattan in Sex and the City. There's no reason to go back with her to high school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Lame

    Figured this book would be great since I love Sex and the City. But Sex and the City is only as good as the characters playing the roles. This book is boring and elementary. More for a high school student reading level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Is it good

    Wat is it about

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    boring

    didnt care for the book it was a slow read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Definately not like the show!

    I just got a little bored reading just the sample. I found myself dazing off while reading so if you expect it to suck you in like the fantastic series and movies then you're wrong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    porsefuska quelgamorte

    ducivcstofgamorrk ummgatonica felobazurra. .??? estravaganza

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Not the Carrie I expected

    Any knowledgable SATC groupie will quickly see where the author didnt icorporate facts from the show unto Carries past. Maybe I was expecting to much but as I read this book each difference jumps glaringly out at me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Dissapointing!

    Why write a story about Carrie in the early years, if it is nothing like Carrie in the early years?
    True, during the show, there wasn't much mentioned about her upbringing. But I'm thinking I don't remember two sisters and I definitely don't remember her having a father.
    I thought in one episode she referenced her father leaving?
    If Candace Bushnell wanted to write this book, she just should have named it "Sweet Valley High" because that's what it reminded me of. And I liked those books 20 years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3