Customer Reviews for

The Carrie Diaries (Carrie Diaries Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 601 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(234)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(110)

2 Star

(50)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Sex and the High School Kiddies.

It's time to meet Carrie. Before there was Carrie Bradshaw with Sex and the City, there was only Carrie, nicknamed Bradley by her friends, from Castlebury, Connecticut. The Carrie Diaries, a prequel to Candace Bushnell's book Sex and the City, and to which the TV series...
It's time to meet Carrie. Before there was Carrie Bradshaw with Sex and the City, there was only Carrie, nicknamed Bradley by her friends, from Castlebury, Connecticut. The Carrie Diaries, a prequel to Candace Bushnell's book Sex and the City, and to which the TV series is based on, introduces Carrie and shows how she was sculpted into the woman she became.

The first Sex and the City book was published in 1997 and was scripted into a HBO TV series of the same name in 1998 and lasting through 2004. Sarah Jessica Parker starred as Carrie in the series and reprised her role in the movies as well.

The book tracks Carrie's senior year in high school, along with details about her family life, her friends, and her experiences with the good, sweet guys, and bad, toxic guys. Fans of Sex and the City will be familiar with the Carrie they have come to know. Her fashion statements began at a young age while wearing red Mary Jane shoes to kindergarten, and only have progressed even more entering a life of adulthood with her thrifty white go-go boots, and her sassy, yet youthful attitude has not changed a bit.

Aimed mostly at teens, and true Sex and the City fans, the whirlwind of high school and all its drama is presented in a way that everyone can relate to. Breakups and makeups, secrets hidden by friends, family trouble, and always that one popular girl who makes your life hell, is what Carrie, her friends and family go through in one single year.

Though all the drama, which makes you actually think you are reliving your high school year, Carrie knows what she wants to be in life and goes after it. Amid her and her friends smoking behind the school, or taking shots down at the local bar, she does everything in her power to get it, but the question is if it all pays off or not.

With an ending that will keep you captivated waiting for the second installment of this book set to come out next summer, this book shapes a popular character and a better understanding on her adolescent lifestyle. Fans alike will never want to put this book down.

posted by -kay- on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Changes

I love an "origin" story as much as anyone else, however, I just wish that Candace Bushnell watched "Sex And The City" the tv series as much as I did. Fans of the show will remember that Carrie indicated in season four that her father "quit" both her mother and her whe...
I love an "origin" story as much as anyone else, however, I just wish that Candace Bushnell watched "Sex And The City" the tv series as much as I did. Fans of the show will remember that Carrie indicated in season four that her father "quit" both her mother and her when she was five years old. However, in the book, Bushnell has Carrie's mother dying of cancer and she and her sister being raised by their widower father. Being a die hard fan of the show, this about change ruined the book for me.

posted by orbit on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Sex and the High School Kiddies.

    It's time to meet Carrie. Before there was Carrie Bradshaw with Sex and the City, there was only Carrie, nicknamed Bradley by her friends, from Castlebury, Connecticut. The Carrie Diaries, a prequel to Candace Bushnell's book Sex and the City, and to which the TV series is based on, introduces Carrie and shows how she was sculpted into the woman she became.

    The first Sex and the City book was published in 1997 and was scripted into a HBO TV series of the same name in 1998 and lasting through 2004. Sarah Jessica Parker starred as Carrie in the series and reprised her role in the movies as well.

    The book tracks Carrie's senior year in high school, along with details about her family life, her friends, and her experiences with the good, sweet guys, and bad, toxic guys. Fans of Sex and the City will be familiar with the Carrie they have come to know. Her fashion statements began at a young age while wearing red Mary Jane shoes to kindergarten, and only have progressed even more entering a life of adulthood with her thrifty white go-go boots, and her sassy, yet youthful attitude has not changed a bit.

    Aimed mostly at teens, and true Sex and the City fans, the whirlwind of high school and all its drama is presented in a way that everyone can relate to. Breakups and makeups, secrets hidden by friends, family trouble, and always that one popular girl who makes your life hell, is what Carrie, her friends and family go through in one single year.

    Though all the drama, which makes you actually think you are reliving your high school year, Carrie knows what she wants to be in life and goes after it. Amid her and her friends smoking behind the school, or taking shots down at the local bar, she does everything in her power to get it, but the question is if it all pays off or not.

    With an ending that will keep you captivated waiting for the second installment of this book set to come out next summer, this book shapes a popular character and a better understanding on her adolescent lifestyle. Fans alike will never want to put this book down.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Talented writer. Great story line. Enjoyed this book!

    Talented writer. Great story line. Enjoyed this book!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    The real Carrie Bradshaw

    I find it strange that anyone would comment negatively about an author's character. Carrie from The Carrie Diaries is one of the most kick-ass literary female characters I've read since The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. She's quick as a whip, funny as hell and doesn't take any flack from anyone. The way Candace has written the true Carrie makes me love the TV version of her even more. Candace shows you what it took to get where Carrie is when we meet her in the show - finally someone spells it out that you don't just arrive in NYC and move into some fabulous apartment and start writing for Vogue. That's the dream and you have to work hard to get there and bring your experiences that shaped you with you -- that's what matters. I love the new characters. And I love feeling like a teenager again through this book - all the wonder about what's going to happen next. I can't wait to read the next one!!!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Just incredible

    Really awesome book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Awsome

    Best book ever realy worth your money have it on nook and real book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There is no way not to like this YA novel. Ms. Bushnell understa

    There is no way not to like this YA novel. Ms. Bushnell understands relationships between teens, high school experiences and the heartache of losing a mother within a family too early. The whole family plays an important part in the novel too. Most of the book reflects the emotions of the girls, but the boys play important roles to their happiness and misery.  The key is to realize that this is the senior year and it won’t last forever.  Yeah, Right!  The growing up process and the realization of who we are and how we become breaks forth whether we like it or not.  In the ever changing high school setting, the strong survive.  Each character has their own defining personality and their interactions are excellent. This is a great read in this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Loved it so much i could die o my gosh that is just Awesome yoohoo tallyho america usa kentucky fried chicken michigan apple crazy guava awesome cool

    ....so what were we talking about?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Love it

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Absolutely loved this book.  Couldn't get enough. 

    Absolutely loved this book.  Couldn't get enough. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Amazing.

    The carrie diaries is an addicting show. Friday is now my favorite day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I think it's funny...

    That most of the people writing one star reviews are illiterate. The book is pretty good. Personally, I've never been a fan of Sex and the City, but this book is alright, and Carrie Bradshaw is surprisingly relatable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Great book

    I liked this book. I am a Sex and the City fan, and yes, some of it is different than the show. But I still enjoyed reading it. I am looking forward to reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    GREAT!!

    This series is so fantastic and saddicting and i love candace and carrie hope you write more books candace!! <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Loce

    Awesome love carrie sebestian is hot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    This book is fantastic, highly addictive to women of almost all

    This book is fantastic, highly addictive to women of almost all ages. Even though the storyline may be set in the late-seventies to early-eighties, all of the themes used are relatable. Betrayal, romance, suspense, and many unexpected plot turns. I give it 4.5 out of five and a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I am not the biggest fan of reading, nor am I the fastest reader

    I am not the biggest fan of reading, nor am I the fastest reader out there....but I couldn't put the book down and finished it in 2 days. I read this book because of The Carrie Diaries TV show. They both do not match up, but I like both of them very much. The book kept my interest the entire time and was very well written. Candace did a very good job! Wish there wasn't 2 books, I flew through both of them too quickly. It's a fun, easy read and I suggest everyone read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Love it

    At first I was a little iffe about reading it but now since ive read i ADORE IT!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    LOL

    Omg carrie is in a lot of movies like bridge to teribithia and soul surfer and now the carrie diaries

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    My email... i think

    Request me as a Nook friend. jaymie999 @ cox .net without the spaces sorry it wont let me post it with the spaces.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Awesome...a must read if you're a SATC fan!!!

    This is the 2nd time i've read this book & thoroughly enjoyed it. It was nice to know how Carrie got het start before writing for the "New Yorker". I would definately recommend this book as well as the 2nd book Summer in the City to any Carrie fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12