BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Carrier of the Mark

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic read!

This story is rainbows, moths not butterflies, suspenseful, lovely, and everything in between. I really enjoyed Carrier Of The Mark. It is a fun, cute and quick read that had me smiling so much. :)

Carrier Of The Mark starts off with Megan who after losing her mother...
This story is rainbows, moths not butterflies, suspenseful, lovely, and everything in between. I really enjoyed Carrier Of The Mark. It is a fun, cute and quick read that had me smiling so much. :)

Carrier Of The Mark starts off with Megan who after losing her mother in a car crash has moved around an awful lot. Finally Megan and her father settle in Kinsale, Ireland where Megan feels strangely at home. She quickly makes new friends, but when it comes to guys she is strangely drawn to Adam DeRis, the one whom everyone tells her to forget about. As time continues, Megan becomes more and more drawn to Adam and his family who seems to be hiding something. When Adam finally seems to return her affections, Megan starts to realize that she has something within her that she could have never imagined.

One thing I really liked about this story was that it's spanned over a good amount of time (months actually!). Letting Carrier Of The Mark take place over so much time, makes the story more believable for me. It actually gives the love time to mature, the friendships time to grow, and the plot time to bubble up and then spill over. And it does.

I really liked all the characters in Carrier of The Mark. Caitlin is such a good best friend, I'd love her as mine! She's the total lets-hang-out-drink-coffee-and-gush-about-our-super-hot-boyfriends type of friend, yet she's there when you need her and capable of forgiving you when something goes wrong. Next, I totally love Adam's siblings Aine & Rian. I think they're both the best siblings in the world. They're protective, fun, helpful, and well duh, super-powerful! ;). I'm really hoping these two have just as big of a role in the next book (There's going to be one, right?!?). Another character I really enjoyed was Meg's father. I think I really connected with him because he's just like my father. He's completely down to earth, protective of Megan but not overbearing, trusts her to go out on her own, but completely caring and dad-like when needed.

So, who did I leave out? Oh right! The main characters... powerful, strong Megan and sexy, SUPER-sexy and adorable Adam. Megan has a lot of accept through out this book. A lot is thrown at her and she accepts it all and is pretty easy-going about it. That takes a lot of courage, but it is also helpful when you have a green-eyed, super sexy, caring boy helping you along the way... aka. Adam. Adam has it all - looks, grades, caring, gentleman, an amazing family, protectiveness, the whole I'll-hold-you-while-you're-crying charm and I'll text you good morning beautiful thing going for him as well. They're love story is so cute or as Rian would describe it "pukealicious" =P. They constantly had me smiling when they were together, and that's the kind of love I like to read about.

I really enjoyed the plot of this story, the landscapes, and the elements factor. With the elements if I had to chose... man how would you chose?! It would be a battle between Adam's power and Aine's power. I'm obsessed with the ocean and water, yet being able to talk to animals is seriously a dream of mine. Keeping to the plot, the only thing I would say is the ending seemed a little rushed to me. It was kind of building up and building up than the 'boom' part seemed to happen very quickly. However, I still loved the whole story and how it ended for sure! :)

If you're looking for a quick, cute, awesome read... this is it!

posted by jenababy13 on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was overall a very good book but it reminded me too much of T

It was overall a very good book but it reminded me too much of Twilight which is a big put down. I also wish she had devolped the charater of Adam DeRis more.

posted by poohbearTX on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Carrier of the Mark is an alluring read that I truly enjoyed

    The Carrier of the Mark is an alluring read that I truly enjoyed. Even with a mix of mystery, action, and romance, the pacing of the plot was perfectly in line. Author Leigh Fallon’s writing style is very addicting. She puts thought and care to each word on a page that brings each remarkable character come to life and their world glowing like the sun. The way she builds up the storyline towards an expected action-filled scene is brilliant. Leighfashions such great descriptions that it literally grabs you and raises your interest level to heights you have never felt.

    The story is a refreshing approach towards Celtic mythology, legend, and history. Usually there are three elements I look for in a book and The Carrier of the Mark possessed all three. It presented great paranormal elements and promised a very impressive romance. Place the story in a great setting like Ireland and it is a formula for a great read. I love how the characters are easy to relate to. The female lead, Megan Rosenburg, is strong and is not afraid to put herself in tight situations, yet has a few uncertainties that most young woman her age have. The instant attraction between Megan and Adam was a delight to read and see it grow. The building of their relationship is sweet and tender.

    The story turns your imagination in full attention and produces an amazing picture in your mind. The ending gave satisfaction but left it with questions that still need to answered. I cannot wait for the next installment so that I may continue this adventure with Megan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    :)

    Loved it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    A great clean book for teens and adults

    I really enjoyed this book and read it in one day. It had just enough romance to make me love it and also a lot of magic. My 12 year old has started reading it and is already into it after just a few chapters. I can not wait for the next book in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I want to start off by praising the cover art. This cover is absolutely gorgeous! The book is wonderful too. It does however remind me a bit of certain other books at times, but not in a bad way. It was a fast read, and had a nice storyline that moved along at a good pace. The relationships between the characters worked well, and was believable.

    Megan moves around a lot so she never really gets to feel like she belongs anywhere, but there is something much different about Ireland. She almost immediately feels that it will be different here. She makes friends quickly. At first I actually found her to be a pretty dull character at first, but got to like her as the book went on, and found her not to be dull at all.

    I liked the DeRis characters. Aine has a cute bubbly personality that you can't help but like. Rain is a little rough around the edges, but you get to know him and find out he's not so bad at all. Fionn who at first you find very intimidating because one of my favorites. Than of course there's Adam. I found him to be a little overly sweet at times, and annoyingly possessive, but there's reasons why so it didn't bother me too much.

    Overall the relationship between Adam and Megan was great to read. The way they are so unfailingly devoted to each other even knowing what the risks are. They are both trying to think of the greater good, but know they can't live without each other and will do whatever they can to find a way around it. This was an enjoyable book to read, and I am interested to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mythical Ireland is home to our carriers of the mark. A country

    Mythical Ireland is home to our carriers of the mark. A country that is on top of my list of places to visit, because of its wide landscapes and allurement of originality. But we aren't granted to revel in its stunning beauty for long, Megan has to face the paranormal side of her life very soon.
    When Megan and her father move to the green island, everything seems to come together just perfectly. She easily finds new friends, adapts well to her new school and is immediately drawn to gorgeous Adam DRís.
    Adam is the local boy of high romantic interest, that Megan just can't take her eyes off. He and Megan sense an instant attraction that quickly leads to more deeper feelings. But them being together promises to be hard. Adam and Megan are both marked ones who are forbidden to by physically together. Their love story is dainty, but I wouldn't declare it the story's strongest feature.
    The DeRís family is charismatic and sticks together like an old clan and like every family should. There wasn't one family member I wasn't fond of. Adam and his siblings Aíne, Rían and Fionn in their union made CARRIER OF THE MARK a kick-ass read characterwise. DeRís daughter Aíne is a character with best friend potential which one cannot but approve of.
    A certain paranormal kick is supplied by assorted elemental abilities the DeRís kids and apparently Megan possess. The teenagers don't hesitate to make use of their powers and present us with what they're capable of. Earth, air, water and fire form an essential quartet in the task to fulfill their prophesied fate.

    THE VERDICT

    3,5/5 ***/* CARRIER OF THE MARK- An atmospheric and mystical read with the elemental powers of Ireland!

    Megan's story might have a complex and mythical background, even so it never entirely grabbed my full attention. CARRIER OF THE MARK is about inheritance, bearing your family’s fate and learning to be your own person and to figure out what to make out of it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    loved it

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Awesome

    This was really good!!! This there goung to be a second book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    For fans of fantasy stories, Leigh Fallon's The Carrier of the M

    For fans of fantasy stories, Leigh Fallon's The Carrier of the Mark is a fun read that centers around Irish folklore and elemental magic. A sweet romance blossoms amid a busy plot with danger and intrigue. It could use a little more character development, but overall it is an interesting story that many will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    wonderful start to an exciting trilogy

    Fallon’s world building was interesting and I like how she blended old with new to create the blood line for the carrier's of the mark. I found her rendition of elemental powers to be unique and I am looking forward to seeing this develop more in the trilogy. I really like her writing style and loved what she did with the prologue and flashing back four months. I think it was a brilliant move on her part. The backdrop of Ireland was simply beautiful and she captured it in detail. She brought us strong likeable, flawed characters with depth that we all can relate to. The romance between Megan and Adam was at times gag-me-with-a-spoon, but for fans of eternal insta-love you will be absolutely delighted. As the story progressed I found their romance to be sweet and the way they tried to help each other endearing. I am looking forward to seeing how their relationship progresses. Throughout the novel there is a lot of tension and danger for the couple and the other marked. The order responsible for protecting the carriers of the mark aren’t happy with the romance developing between Adam and Meagan. An organization is constantly searching for the carriers. This group wants to control them and their abilities. Some of the marks are having difficulty stabilizing their powers and sensing danger. All of these elements created a fast paced plot and a spectacular climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Read it!(:

    So when I first got this book, I was mainly drawn to the cover because it's awesome. Then when I read the back cover, I knew I had to buy this book. I've never read anything like this which is good because it's a change from the ever-so-popular vampire/werewolf romances that are everywhere. The story line was awesome, in my opinion. The only con to this book I noticed was the dialogue was kind of cheesy and the climax was very short. It seemed like the climax only lasted for 4 pages and it was quick. But other then that, the book was very well done. Brava.(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Captivating enough...

    I've been contemplating on how to start this review. Lets start with the summary.

    Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland when her dad gets a new job there. Her first day of school was uneventful as ever until she notices the dark and handsome, Adam DeRis staring at her like she's a piece of meat. And immediately she feels a drawn to him and him to her. Then Megan finds out that this "draw" or "captivation" towards him is more related to the supernatural that might be way too powerful and even destructive for both of them and the whole world.

    The beginning of the book was captivating, especially with the perfect prologue. Megan goes to a new school and meets new people and notices Mr. Hottie staring at her and she stars back. Her unmistakeable pathetic draw to this guy is cute and somewhat romantic but when we're talking about realistic love, this isn't much like that. Then again, this is fiction and appeals more to the teenage generation of our time. So I can't blame Fallon for that.

    Events begin to roll in and the book starts to drag. Then finally things started to become a lot more unpredictable and a little more exciting until I get this realization that I've seen all this before. The characters and parts of the story reminded me so much of (A lot of people have said this already but I can't help but say it as well) Twilight. Yes, Twilight.

    It started from Rosalie (Rian), then to Alice (Aine), then The Voltori (The Order) and even Carlyle (the DeRis' guardian). This realization nearly stopped me from reading the book all together and since I'm the kind to never give up (so to speak), I kept on reading.

    On the bright side, Fallon touched a new twist in the paranormal genre involving 'The Elements' which I found very cool and fresh. Though her characters seemed a little lacking in uniqueness, I still liked them. Especially, the crow Randel. Hes cute. :D

    In conclusion, the story and characters did hold some cliches and at the same time held its own unique flare that is strong enough to get you to read the next book in the series. I'm looking forward to seeing a change in Fallon's writing especially when it comes to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting read...

    I was so excited to get a hold of The Carrier of the Mark. The cover is just stunning, and the story sounded awesome, so I was really looking forward to reading the book.

    The two main characters in the book were Megan and Adam. I found these characters to be pretty likable, overall. There was some insta-love between the two. However, I can see this as being part of the intense pull they have for each other. The secondary characters in the book were very well written. I enjoyed reading about Adam¿s family; his sister and brother; Aine and Rian, and also his guardian; Fionn. Megan¿s dad and her best friend were also great characters as well. I¿m really enjoying books where the main characters have really awesome best friends.

    The storyline for the book was really interesting, and it held my attention throughout the book. Especially toward the end of the book, that¿s where a lot of action comes into play. I loved the setting of the book. I haven¿t read many books that were set in Ireland, and I really enjoyed the descriptions and setting. The language was pretty fun to read as well, all the Irish slang words that the author threw in.

    Overall, this was a really interesting read for me. I am really looking forward to reading the next book in the series, as I¿m really curious as to where the author is going to go with the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Live To Read

    If the title and cover aren't enough to draw the reader in, the summary on the back of the novel should be. Megan is the main character; she is caring, careful, calm, and strong. She has recently lost her mother and moved to Ireland. She discovers an odd mark after her mother's death, but thinks nothing of it for months.


    At her new school, she meets Adam; Adam is the all-around "cool" guy. He is handsome, loving, and passionate about his loved ones. Megan notices Adam right off the bat, there is an immediate connection between the two. The reader will happily follow along as the author develops and deepens their relationship. Adam notices something...different about Megan, a quality that could mean that they are more alike that they felt before.


    The story really takes off from there. Megan discovers she plays a part in an old Celtic legend. She meets Adam's brother and sister, who are also part of the legend-as is Adam. Rian is impulsive, standoffish, and somewhat mean at times; he takes awhile to warm up to others. Aine is the opposite, she is friendly, warm, and funny. The reader will love getting to know these characters.


    The plot is highly intriguing, based off a Celtic legend. The plot isn't one that a reader can find in just any book. The events are fast-paced and the author details the scenes so as to make the reader feel as if the event is unfolding in front of him/her. This book is a must-read for those interested in young adult books with a hint of romance, mystery, and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2