Customer Reviews for

The Carrier of the Mark

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic read!

This story is rainbows, moths not butterflies, suspenseful, lovely, and everything in between. I really enjoyed Carrier Of The Mark. It is a fun, cute and quick read that had me smiling so much. :)

Carrier Of The Mark starts off with Megan who after losing her mother...
This story is rainbows, moths not butterflies, suspenseful, lovely, and everything in between. I really enjoyed Carrier Of The Mark. It is a fun, cute and quick read that had me smiling so much. :)

Carrier Of The Mark starts off with Megan who after losing her mother in a car crash has moved around an awful lot. Finally Megan and her father settle in Kinsale, Ireland where Megan feels strangely at home. She quickly makes new friends, but when it comes to guys she is strangely drawn to Adam DeRis, the one whom everyone tells her to forget about. As time continues, Megan becomes more and more drawn to Adam and his family who seems to be hiding something. When Adam finally seems to return her affections, Megan starts to realize that she has something within her that she could have never imagined.

One thing I really liked about this story was that it's spanned over a good amount of time (months actually!). Letting Carrier Of The Mark take place over so much time, makes the story more believable for me. It actually gives the love time to mature, the friendships time to grow, and the plot time to bubble up and then spill over. And it does.

I really liked all the characters in Carrier of The Mark. Caitlin is such a good best friend, I'd love her as mine! She's the total lets-hang-out-drink-coffee-and-gush-about-our-super-hot-boyfriends type of friend, yet she's there when you need her and capable of forgiving you when something goes wrong. Next, I totally love Adam's siblings Aine & Rian. I think they're both the best siblings in the world. They're protective, fun, helpful, and well duh, super-powerful! ;). I'm really hoping these two have just as big of a role in the next book (There's going to be one, right?!?). Another character I really enjoyed was Meg's father. I think I really connected with him because he's just like my father. He's completely down to earth, protective of Megan but not overbearing, trusts her to go out on her own, but completely caring and dad-like when needed.

So, who did I leave out? Oh right! The main characters... powerful, strong Megan and sexy, SUPER-sexy and adorable Adam. Megan has a lot of accept through out this book. A lot is thrown at her and she accepts it all and is pretty easy-going about it. That takes a lot of courage, but it is also helpful when you have a green-eyed, super sexy, caring boy helping you along the way... aka. Adam. Adam has it all - looks, grades, caring, gentleman, an amazing family, protectiveness, the whole I'll-hold-you-while-you're-crying charm and I'll text you good morning beautiful thing going for him as well. They're love story is so cute or as Rian would describe it "pukealicious" =P. They constantly had me smiling when they were together, and that's the kind of love I like to read about.

I really enjoyed the plot of this story, the landscapes, and the elements factor. With the elements if I had to chose... man how would you chose?! It would be a battle between Adam's power and Aine's power. I'm obsessed with the ocean and water, yet being able to talk to animals is seriously a dream of mine. Keeping to the plot, the only thing I would say is the ending seemed a little rushed to me. It was kind of building up and building up than the 'boom' part seemed to happen very quickly. However, I still loved the whole story and how it ended for sure! :)

If you're looking for a quick, cute, awesome read... this is it!

posted by jenababy13 on September 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was overall a very good book but it reminded me too much of T

It was overall a very good book but it reminded me too much of Twilight which is a big put down. I also wish she had devolped the charater of Adam DeRis more.

posted by poohbearTX on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read!

    This story is rainbows, moths not butterflies, suspenseful, lovely, and everything in between. I really enjoyed Carrier Of The Mark. It is a fun, cute and quick read that had me smiling so much. :)

    Carrier Of The Mark starts off with Megan who after losing her mother in a car crash has moved around an awful lot. Finally Megan and her father settle in Kinsale, Ireland where Megan feels strangely at home. She quickly makes new friends, but when it comes to guys she is strangely drawn to Adam DeRis, the one whom everyone tells her to forget about. As time continues, Megan becomes more and more drawn to Adam and his family who seems to be hiding something. When Adam finally seems to return her affections, Megan starts to realize that she has something within her that she could have never imagined.

    One thing I really liked about this story was that it's spanned over a good amount of time (months actually!). Letting Carrier Of The Mark take place over so much time, makes the story more believable for me. It actually gives the love time to mature, the friendships time to grow, and the plot time to bubble up and then spill over. And it does.

    I really liked all the characters in Carrier of The Mark. Caitlin is such a good best friend, I'd love her as mine! She's the total lets-hang-out-drink-coffee-and-gush-about-our-super-hot-boyfriends type of friend, yet she's there when you need her and capable of forgiving you when something goes wrong. Next, I totally love Adam's siblings Aine & Rian. I think they're both the best siblings in the world. They're protective, fun, helpful, and well duh, super-powerful! ;). I'm really hoping these two have just as big of a role in the next book (There's going to be one, right?!?). Another character I really enjoyed was Meg's father. I think I really connected with him because he's just like my father. He's completely down to earth, protective of Megan but not overbearing, trusts her to go out on her own, but completely caring and dad-like when needed.

    So, who did I leave out? Oh right! The main characters... powerful, strong Megan and sexy, SUPER-sexy and adorable Adam. Megan has a lot of accept through out this book. A lot is thrown at her and she accepts it all and is pretty easy-going about it. That takes a lot of courage, but it is also helpful when you have a green-eyed, super sexy, caring boy helping you along the way... aka. Adam. Adam has it all - looks, grades, caring, gentleman, an amazing family, protectiveness, the whole I'll-hold-you-while-you're-crying charm and I'll text you good morning beautiful thing going for him as well. They're love story is so cute or as Rian would describe it "pukealicious" =P. They constantly had me smiling when they were together, and that's the kind of love I like to read about.

    I really enjoyed the plot of this story, the landscapes, and the elements factor. With the elements if I had to chose... man how would you chose?! It would be a battle between Adam's power and Aine's power. I'm obsessed with the ocean and water, yet being able to talk to animals is seriously a dream of mine. Keeping to the plot, the only thing I would say is the ending seemed a little rushed to me. It was kind of building up and building up than the 'boom' part seemed to happen very quickly. However, I still loved the whole story and how it ended for sure! :)

    If you're looking for a quick, cute, awesome read... this is it!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    If anyone knows me, they know how much I love Ireland. So this book not only had me bouncing in my seat, but I'm in love with Ms. Fallon's writing. Written beautifully, Carrier of the Mark captures the reader from the very first page, marking them forever...

    The plot line of this book is what captured me immediately. I loved the pacing of the story as well as the development of the characters. Strange things happen little by little, making the reader curious, ensnaring the reader to keep reading. Ms. Fallon's elements in this book aren't overly done all at once, but gives the right information at just the right moments.

    The characters of the book are amazing! I love it when an author came bring fresh voices to a whole new story. Megan is a smart, easy going girl that everyone loves. I love how Megan is not easily fooled by excuses. This girl knows what she wants and what she saw!

    The love interest is another great part of this book! I love that Ms. Fallon created a love that is not only meant to be but forbidden. It makes the story much more exciting to see to lovers fight for their right to be with each other. I love watching them endure hardships but also find peace in each other. Now that, is true love.

    If you like a type of book where there is more than meets the eye, read this book. It's a unexpected move, new school, new boy, and strange happenings. Dark and intriguing, Ms. Fallon created a world like no other. Are you marked?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    I enjoyed reading this book. Great plot, great characters.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a treat!

    "This is going to sound crazy, but...since the moment I first set eyes on you I haven't been able to stop thinking about you." ~Adam

    When I finished this book, the first thing I thought to myself was "how on earth am I going to put into words how much I loved this book?" I honestly have no idea, I normally wait awhile before writing a review, but this one I just need to get out of my system now. It was perfection. I can't even think of a comlpaint right now. The romance was...it was just amazing, it never once had that fake or cheesy feel to it, yet it was able to still capture the 'love at first sight' concept and keep it real and magical which in all honesty I feel no books have been able to really capture lately.

    Megan and her dad are on the move...again. Ever since Megans mother died she has never been able to really call a place 'home'..now thier on the move to Ireland, and this time is different, everything feels different, and right. Megan is enjoying her new school, and her new group of friends, the one thing she can't figure out...is Adam DeRis. She doesn't know why, but she can't stop thinking about him ever since she first saw him on that first day of school, but all her friends warn her...Adam and his family..are strange, and she is warned to give up on him and forget about it...but she just can't. After more and more strange happenings, Megan is thrown into the world of the DeRis's, and she discovers she is one of them...she is a Marked one...and not just that, but she controls one of the most powerful elements...and she is a Carrier of the Mark..as if finding out that isnt enough for Megan..she finds out there are a group of people..called The Knox...and they are searching for The Marked, to use their powers, to harm them.

    This story was beautiful, I loved it. The characters were perfect, Leigh Fallon did a superb job at putting together an amazing group of people, each character I felt like I really knew, and I can tell you right now that this is gonna be one of those series, that whenever it does end, it is going be heartbreaking to say goodbye to these characters.

    The romance, I dont even know where to start with it, it was so amazing, I just found myself smiling from ear to ear of the love that was so perfectly protrayed between Megan and Adam, this romance was just so sweet, this books romance fed my hopeless romantic needs to the max and more. One thing I loved about the romance that Leigh Fallon has put together is she was able to make it so magical, yet it never felt unrealistic..it as cheesy as this sounds makes people believe in true love at first sight.

    The paranormal aspect of this book was such a treat! It was so new and fresh. The powers that Megan and the DeRis family has is incredible, the scenes that Leigh had put in her book of them showing there powers are just breathtaking. This is a world that I cannot wait to visit again and discover even more about. Forget vampires and Werewoves, make room for The Marked ones!

    I can't get over this story it was just in one word breathtaking, every part of this story draws you in and keeps you till the last page. With a story full of romance, power, action, suspense, and magic. Carrier of the Mark is one read of 2011 that you will not want to miss!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    In a word, AMAZING!

    Love love love this book! I was hooked right from the very first page and could not put it down. I stayed up until 3 in the morning to finish it. Leigh Fallon has the start of an smazing series and I cannot wait for the next book, Shadow of the Mark! Comes out in July people, mark your calendars!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    I LOVED it! Very well written. I gave copies to my teen neices

    I LOVED it! Very well written. I gave copies to my teen neices as well as to my peers (30's+40's), loved by all ages. We are all anxiously waiting for book #2, can't wait! I have my book signed by Leigh, she is really interesting to talk to and has a great sense of humor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I love the book!!!

    This book is a super good, but not too challenging read. It is suspenseful and full of surprises, yet full of romance. If you like action, adventure, and a twist of romance, you are going to love this novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    I couldn't put this book down. I bought it yesterday and finishe

    I couldn't put this book down. I bought it yesterday and finished it not five minutes ago. Incredibly written there has to be a sequel! Can't wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Wonderful

    This is such an enchanting story. I can't wait until the next book comes out. Please hurry!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Love!!! Amazing novel the characters are truly adoring ! Cant wa

    Love!!! Amazing novel the characters are truly adoring ! Cant wait till the squeal

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Love!!!!!!!!!

    Read it 3 times so far!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Im looking forward to the next book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Breathtaking New Series

    Leigh Fallon has created the awesomesauce in her debut release of Carrier of the Mark.

    The book starts off with introducing our main character Megan who has just moved to Ireland because her father's work was assigned there. Megan moves around often so she normally keeps a low profile and tried to make few attachments in her new places of residence, but this time it is different. Megan's father is talking about staying, Megan is making friends, and she is discovering a whole new future of possibilities in store for her.

    With in her first week at school Megan feels intensely drawn to the dark and quiet boy at school, Adam DeRÍs, a lad normally aloof to girls, Adam soon finds himself also drawn to Megan and together they both soon realize that greater things are happening for bother good and bad.

    Megan soon finds out that there are greater secrets in the world, and as she finds herself in the middle of a hidden magic and in the middle of a dangerous romance she feels torn and lost, everywhere except in Adam's arms.

    Carrier of the Mark was a great book rich in detail and description. I loved the characters and their interactions, top it with a great plot and story progression and I got carried away this this amazing new read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Something New!

    First off let me say that it's great to have something different to read. Don't get me wrong, I love vamps and werewolves etc., but this was awesome. So a girl who has moved around all her life ends up moving to Ireland with her father. Her mom died when she was a little girl while they were in a car accident. She ends up getting a "scar" which turns out to be a mark. She is one of four who have inherited powers from some ancient goddess. She falls in love with one of the other marked ones and soon learns that it is forbidden. Their relationship as they know it can bring about the end of the world. (Figuratively speaking)And on top of that there is a group out to capture them. There is a lot of drama and romance and suspense (non frightening). It just keeps moving You have to read this to see how awesome it really is. This is one of those books that I could not put down at all. And was very sad when it ended because it was over. I hope she puts more out. She is such a lovely writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Loved it

    I absolutely loved this book! I could not put it down. I love stories about the elements and this one was a new one and i loved it... so cannot eant for the next one. Really need answers to what happens

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Intertesting

    Good concept!! The writing style is good and the character development is spot on. I truly enjoyed this tale. I will get the next, there are some answers that I need! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Simply LOVED this book!

    I really don't know how to write a helpful review for Carrier of the Mark. I just REALLY loved this book! From the moment I cracked it open, I simply hated having to put it down. The story is about a girl named Megan who moves to Ireland with her father. After the death of her mother they moved around the US a bit but nowhere really felt like home. However things start looking up when she moves to Ireland. She quickly makes new friends and even catches the eye of the mysterious Adam DeRís. Soon secrets are revealed that may not only affect her future but possibly the fate of the world. I wish I could pinpoint for you just what it was about this book that made me love it so much but I really don't know. I just loved the overall story and the basic feel of the book. The characters were interesting and the plot moved very smoothly. I couldn't wait to turn the page to see what was going to happen next. One of my favorite things about the book was that it was set in Ireland. I have travelled all through Europe but have never had the chance to visit Ireland or Scotland yet. So for me, it was fun to be able to experience this new country through Megan's eyes. Another one of my favorite elements in the book was Adam. Oh, what can I say about Adam? Sigh. He made my grown-up heart go all pitter patter and feel that excitement you get with new love. I really think all these perfect YA boys are going to give teenage girls unrealistic expectations though. LOL Leigh just has a fluid writing style that is so easy to read. Her characters felt real and relatable. I loved the dialogue and found myself smiling or laughing out loud so many times, especially when the girl's were all together and talking about snogging. I just felt her characters were familiar, I knew these people. Some people may say that's a negative aspect (to similar to other paranormal books) but I disagree. Because they felt real, felt familiar, I honestly cared about them. I got excited about the possibility of a first kiss, concerned when secrets were revealed and anxious when things seemed dark. Leigh created characters and a world I felt at home in. It was exciting and new, full of obstacles and the possibility that love can conquer all. This book was everything I wanted in a paranormal romance and more. I loved the ending but now I can't wait for the next book to be released. I want more Megan and Adam! When I started this review all I really wanted to say was just "read this book!" So I will leave you with that thought.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Splendid work!

    Seriously, I don't even know where to begin. I guess I can sum it up with a few sentences. Carrier is Fabulous. Yes, with a capital F. The characters are fun, real, and intense. Leigh is brilliant. Alright, I'm done.

    But seriously. I loved Carrier so very much. The characters in this book have a definite pull to them. Megan is a girl who had a trouble past but she still looks at life through rose colored glasses. When she moves to a new place, she meets people who help her discover a bit about herself. She learns about her destiny, and takes charge of it. Megan is a strong character who doesn't run away from things she wants. Such as Adam. Oh Adam. Insert swoon fest right there. I swear people need to stop writing all these wonderful guys into my life. He's a definite pull to the story. He is also not afraid to fight for what he wants and I find that drool worthy in a man.
    I loved Megan and Adam's relationship. They are pulled together by something outside of their control and yet they make sure that what they have is real. That was a special touch in their relationship that made me sigh more than once.
    Also, I enjoyed all of the characters in the story. Megan's best friend and her girly problems kept Megan grounded. Then there was Adam's family who are all very interesting individuals. The whole element of the story was unique and pulled me right in.
    Carrier is a wonderfully written debut. Leigh's words pull you in from the first pages and keep you addicted for more. Entertaining, intriguing, and passionate Carrier will take you to a world like none before, leaving you breathless. The magic of this book will stay with you long after you read the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    A Story to Get Lost In!

    Sometimes do you feel like just getting lost in a swoon-worthy, enchanting book? Me, too. Carrier of the Mark is that kind of book. From the ominous prologue, through the very last line, this book pulled me in and carried me along on the remarkable journey of Megan Rosenberg.

    Carrier of the Mark has so much going for it. Starting with the characters. Megan is a lovely teen protagonist. She is sweet, slightly awkward, and has a great sense of humor. She's not perfect. She
    occasionally has a snarky comeback, but usually keeps the snark in her head. She is an American new to Ireland, along with it's customs and slang. Her confusion and funny reactions to the slang she doesn't understand and the names she can not pronounce had me smiling through the whole book.

    You would think my favorite guy in Carrier of the Mark would be Adam. And I do dig Adam, I'll get to him next. But my favorite man is Megan's dad, Caleb Rosenberg. The father/daughter relationship is so heart-warming and great to see in a Young Adult novel. So many of the fathers in these books are absent or bumbling, cartoon-ish men or distant and hateful with their child. Megan's father is loving and attentive with Megan. He's not completely clueless and that was so awesome!

    Now for Adam. If you like your guy to be a appropriately mysterious and aloof when first meeting, and handsome (of course), then you will fall fast and hard for Adam. He's sweet and loving, but not cheesy. Romantic, without being sleezy. Protective, but not condescending. Adam is everything you want in a Young Adult guy.

    As for the rest of the characters, they are all equally fabulous. If I went into all the details about why I liked each one, this review would be way too long! Megan's friends, Caitlin and Jennifer are always good for a laugh. Adam's family Fionn, Rian, and Aine (forgive me because I lack the proper character keys to type their names properly) are all equally as intriguing as Adam. Fionn just completely breaks my heart. Aine is a delight. And Rian, well, I think (and hope) we will learn a lot more about this mysterious quasi-bad boy in the future.

    Author Leigh Fallon did a fantastic job of creating her own spin on the "paranormal young adult" genre. The paranormal aspect of the story is completely unique. Yay! Because, let's face it. Sometimes we really need a change from the same old story. I try so hard for spoiler-free reviews, so I won't get into the details, but her background for the story is elaborate and extremely well-developed, and not overly confusing. And if you are into Irish lore and traditions, and who isn't, you will really enjoy the background story of the Carrier of the Mark.

    Carrier of the Mark is such an enjoyable book. I devoured it within a day. Leigh Fallon has such an ease in her story-telling, making you feel as if you are part of the world. Carrier of the Mark is paranormal Young Adult at it's finest.


    Favorite Quote:
    " 'You feel it, too. I can tell. It's more than just attraction.' His finger that was caressing my lips moved slowly to my cheek. He let it slide gently up my jawbone toward my ear, stopping there to twirl a lock of my hair in between his finger and thumb."

    * I received this book from Harper Teen, in exchange for an honest review. *

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read

    Source: won in a giveaway from the author

    My Summary:

    Megan is used to moving around. Ever since her mother's death, her dad seems content in one place for only so long. She's used to not really having a best friend or a boy friend. She's used to starting over at a new school in a new town. So when her dad lands a great job in Ireland, she's expecting more of the same even if it is in another country. But what she finds is nothing like what she's used to. Feeling more comfortable than she ever has in any town they've lived in before, she finds a best friend and a new life. Not to mention a gorgeous boy, Adam, who can't seem to keep his eyes off her. But what is Adam hiding? How will it affect Megan's happy life in Ireland? It's a sure bet it's not going to be peaceful!

    My Thoughts:


    5 stars - a must read

    Every once in a while, you read a book and realize that it's a favorite even before you finish it. That's what happened for me while reading The Carrier of the Mark. I remember it happening before with a handful of books like Twilight, City of Bones, and Iron King. It's where you sigh contentedly when you sit down to read it. It's where you miss the characters when you've been away from them all day. It's where you frantically check to find out how long you're going to have to wait for book two. It's where you want to start rereading it as soon as you finish the last page because you don't want it to end. It's where you won't give your signed copy away because you know it's a keeper that deserves shelf space on your very full bookshelf. Why do I love this book so much and think that everyone who enjoys paranormal romance should read it? Let me tell you.

    The characters are real and I liked them right away. I could quickly see Megan as the new girl high school trying to adjust. I never had a moment where I didn't like Megan. She's strong and willing to move around for her dad, who she recognizes needs the changes as he still struggles with her mother's death. She doesn't hate him for that. She is amazingly strong, which I love in female characters. Adam has mystery written all over him. It takes a while to figure him out and while I had an idea of where it was going, really I was surprised. I love surprises. And what fun it was to figure it out. I love Adam and his stormy side. Yes they have an instant connection but I really enjoyed it. It didn't feel contrived or odd.

    The supporting characters are also fabulous. I really like Rían. He struggled with some things and we got to see some of his weaknesses. I saw how he changed through the book and why. I really enjoyed how his relationship with Megan evolved through the book. I also like Aíne. She's fun and yet protective of her brother. The moths were one of my favorite scenes with her.

    The plot was well paced. I could have read this in a day if my life didn't get in the way. Staying up late and trying to teach the next day is never a good idea but I was seriously tempted. Nonetheless, I was eager to pick it up at lunch and as soon as I could in the evening. It still only took about four days to read. The action was mixed with world building that I really liked. A mix of myth and paranormal, it was a different spin that I really enjoyed. The balance was perfect with cute Adam, mystery over what was going on, and Megan working through her new life.

    Really, this book is fabulous and you must read it! Make

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4