Customer Reviews for

Carrion Comfort

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It kept me interested

and it was a very unique story, it also had some strange twist to it. I liked it however, I would have enjoyed it even more if about 200 pages would have been cut out of it. A little drawn out but over all very good.

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Awful

This book is absolutely terrible. The writing I must admit is good well enough for a horror book and the idea is somewhat original. However, the way in which the violence against women is approached is despicable. After the first misogynistic act violence, I felt hopefu...
This book is absolutely terrible. The writing I must admit is good well enough for a horror book and the idea is somewhat original. However, the way in which the violence against women is approached is despicable. After the first misogynistic act violence, I felt hopeful that perhaps this was just a one time event and that in some way the author would balanced things again. This was not the case. The following terrible act of violence against women was detailed in such a way that can only be described as a cheap way to inspire fear. I feel this author lacks the imagination and professionalism to truly write a horror book without the use of vulgar and disgusting writing. I am very ashamed to have actually purchased this and given even a cent to this so-called author.

posted by 8164195 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2004

    It kept me interested

    and it was a very unique story, it also had some strange twist to it. I liked it however, I would have enjoyed it even more if about 200 pages would have been cut out of it. A little drawn out but over all very good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    This book's premise is truly frightening.

    The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it was a long, long read. 760+ pages with small print.

    Also, it was difficult to keep some of the characters "straight in my mind" for about the first 300 pages.

    Dan Simmons has a great mind, but probably needs a better editor to consolidate, move the story along.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Wasn't as terrifying as I had expected

    I bought the novel because the quote on the cover said it was one of the 3 greatest horror novels of the 20th century. I just wasn't horrified. The characters are well developed with layers upon layers of depth. The plot is original and disturbing. I was very interested in the circumstances surrounding the meeting of the 2 main characters in Nazi Germany. I felt that the storyline lost some momentum & I began to lose interest about 1/2 - 3/4 of the way through the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a reprint of an exciting 1980s vampire thriller with sidebars showcasing the ability of Dan Simmons

    In 1942 in Chelmno, Saul Laski knows he lies in a death camp having his two former roommates already dead and many to follow; he vows to live although the SS and the Oberst came every third Thursday in the month. Saul eventually realizes the SS stand perfectly still and soon learns why. The Oberst not just rape your mind, they control your body. He vows once again to live for now he has a mission to kill these mind controlling Nazi vampires; a mission that enables him to emotionally survive the horror of the mind rape domination.

    Almost four decades later, Dr. Saul Laski remains a hunter of the Oberst who hunt humans as nonentities for their entertainment. His prime target all these years since the concentration camp von Borchert remains elusive. However, in Charleston he has a clue as he meets with Natalie Preston, whose father died when he met vampire Melanie Fuller, an offspring of billionaire Barent, who resides on a Florida barrier island where he hosts an annual game of deadly human chess. As Sheriff Bobby Joe Gentry investigates serial killings, Fuller goes Hollywood with Laski following her.

    This is a reprint of an exciting 1980s vampire thriller with sidebars showcasing
    the ability of Dan Simmons. However, the key to the thriller is the Mind Vampires especially the diversity in their personalities come across as genuine. With a strong exhilarating prime plot in which the audience anticipates the rematch between Saul and the Oberst who dominated him back in the Third Reich, fans will relish this fine saga while also wishing it was about a third to a half shorter as pruning the Hollywood cul de sacs would have helped.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Awful

    This book is absolutely terrible. The writing I must admit is good well enough for a horror book and the idea is somewhat original. However, the way in which the violence against women is approached is despicable. After the first misogynistic act violence, I felt hopeful that perhaps this was just a one time event and that in some way the author would balanced things again. This was not the case. The following terrible act of violence against women was detailed in such a way that can only be described as a cheap way to inspire fear. I feel this author lacks the imagination and professionalism to truly write a horror book without the use of vulgar and disgusting writing. I am very ashamed to have actually purchased this and given even a cent to this so-called author.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best vampire novel and one of the all-time greatest works of fiction!!!

    CARRION COMFORT is amazing. I read this book 20+ years ago and I have re-read it several times since then. It is a terrifying epic that spans decades and continents--the characters are ones that you will immediately feel are a part of you. This is the only novel I have ever given as a gift--I gave it to my stepfather, who is a avid but very selective reader, one year for Christmas. He couldn't put it down once he started it and he said is was on of his favorites as well. I think this book should be required reading for anyone who enjoys great Horror/Fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Very enjoyable read.

    I enjoyed this book all the way through and was disappointed when it ended because I was enjoying it so much. I don't mind a long book if the content is strong like this one is.

    If you like horror fiction, you will most likely enjoy this book. I'm glad I read it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    Great twist on vampirism

    One would have to agree with Stephen King's summary "one of the three geatest horror novels of all time". Now, granted I tend to read Stephen King. I just happened to pick this up- maybe I was caught by the cover..? I thought Dan's twist on classical vampirism to what he calls "mind vampires" was a captivating, hard to put down read. The basic premise was believable enough to be a little scary (if you get too carried away). I was caught up in the story from start to finish. It leaves me wanting to read more of his work. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2004

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    Dan Simmons really is the new prince of horror and this book proves it! This book is so entertaining i could hardly put it down. Simmons, keep up the good work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2002

    One of, if not the BEST book I have ever read (and I have read hundreds)

    Not since Lord of the Rings has a story so compelled me. Once you get past page 100, you CANNOT put this one down. The articulation and characterization, as well as plot twists are gripping. When I finished this book for the first time, I re-read the entire thing again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Interesting but too long

    This book has an interesting premise and I think Simmons is a competent writer but it was much too long. This isn't 'War and Peace' after all, just nice escapist fiction. At least Simmons knows how to create genuine suspense unlike a lot of horror writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Give Me One Reason Dan Simmons Is NOT The Best Writer Virtually Ever

    Two (2) words...beyond good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    A truly mesmerizing book.

    This book was my introduction to Dan Simmons and I must say it is a glorious book. I couldn't put it down. The characters come alive and the premise is intriguing. Simmons is a wonderful writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Psychological Horror Suspense Tour De Force

    A gripping story that is part horror, part sci-fi, part suspense, part historical fiction, & part psychology. The premise is that "mind vampires" are infiltrating minds of innocent people to create unspeakable acts of violence starting with the Nazi death camps.

    This violence is now propagating into politics, religion, law enforcement, etc. One man, a death camp survivor, embarks on a journey to stop a clique of these "mind controlers"from destroying modern society.

    This a long book but the plot, pacing, people characterizations, and themes of revenge or "good against evil" make it a book almost impossible to put down.

    This book is not for the "faint of heart" with its descriptions of graphic violence. The plot has many twists & turns and includes the vilest & bloodiest chess game ever conceived in the horror genre. Dan Simmons can really hold his readers to his pages with wonderful, creative ideas of horror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Excellent read. Would highly recommend. 

    Excellent read. Would highly recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Very good

    Great character development, excellent take on vampires

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Not too long

    I would by this book even if it was longer. With nook I have no problem as with printed version where proportions of the book were annoying. Every page of this book is worth reading! I'm happy for buying this book (Czech version unfortunatelly, I have been thinking about buying the book in original as well but it's too soon for me to read it again.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    To Long

    Not a scary read, and about 400 pages to long. Certain chapters get you hooked, and then fell asleep the next 2. Struggled to get through the last 200 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Absolutely out of CONTROL!!!

    ...see Stephen King's review. This book is ridiculously good....Good Lord!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3