Customer Reviews for

Carrots Love Tomatoes: Secrets of Companion Planting for Successful Gardening

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not your last stop!

    This book was good don't let me get off on the wrong foot.
    What I had expected was not what I got.
    I had expected a more indepth understanding about companion planting and some of the pros and cons involved in raised bed gardening.
    What I got was a personal narrative of plants and gardening techniques used by the author.
    Well written in its own right, but not very user friendly or detailed.
    I would have enjoyed it more if it had more detail into each pairing and or grouping of the vegetable.
    My brutal honesty is, there is nothing in this book that I could not already find on the internet.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. I am a beginning gardener and found the in

    I enjoyed this book. I am a beginning gardener and found the information very helpful. Now if only I could keep the deer and rabbits and raccoons out of my garden.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I had wanted to read this book for years, just because of the title alone. It is light, refreshing, and quite informative. My only disappointment was the list of herb companionship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    This is my go to garden book.

    This is my favorite garden book. I believe my vegetable garden was very successful last summer, due to this book. So many companion garden tips. Example cucumber and beans benefiteach other . However neither like growing near sunflowers.. Very informative. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Willowclan Border

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Time will tell

    The book is hardly a fascinating read. It reads more like a laundry list of what grows well with what (or not). It's also repetitive.

    I bought it in electronic form for my Nook, and I am happy I did that. I will be able to search electronically for specific fruits and vegetables at garden-planning time to review the book's recommendations as I plan my garden for next year. Otherwise, I'd have to take copious notes to make much use of this book.

    How useful it is, time will tell. I am not sure how the author has determined what plants grow best with what. The research behind the claims isn't clear. I suspect much of it may be the author's own experience? She states several times that plants of the onion and garlic family do not grow well with peas or beans, for example, but I've grown peas and garlic together quite successfully. In another section it says garlic grows well with hairy vetch despite the fact that hairy vetch is a member of the pea family.

    So I'll try some of her ideas for myself and decide then if the book was worth the money. Until then, I don't really know.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    I refer to this book often and have learned a great deal about c

    I refer to this book often and have learned a great deal about companion gardening. Though I do disagree with her about planting broccoli and tomatoes together. She says not to. However, I have had great results doing so - neither the tomatoes nor the broccoli get those ugly green worms when I plant them together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great for companion gardening!

    This is a fun read, that I find myself going back to. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Thoughtful Gardening

    This book is quite intriguing in that there are plants that just grow in a healthier way if they are next to each other. I am going to try some of the suggestions this summer with my garden and see if I notice a positive impact.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2