Customer Reviews for

Carry On, Warrior: The Power of Embracing Your Messy, Beautiful Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Such a fantastic read! And it may come as a surprise to some tha

Such a fantastic read! And it may come as a surprise to some that I'm not a parent! Just. Read. This. Book. A few pages in and you’ll start to understand how Glennon Doyle Melton's storytelling creates a palpable sense of community for anyone who is navigating life's &q...
Such a fantastic read! And it may come as a surprise to some that I'm not a parent! Just. Read. This. Book. A few pages in and you’ll start to understand how Glennon Doyle Melton's storytelling creates a palpable sense of community for anyone who is navigating life's "brutiful" moments. In Carry On, Warrior, she shares her story as she has done on her blog – with honesty, humor, sincerity and grace. Like any profound, soulful, gifted writer, she sheds light on our own experiences so that we can confront our own vulnerabilities, strengths and innate beauty with tenderness, acceptance and love.

posted by ChimmyM on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

If you could hide ever deeper from life, you might uses Glennon'

If you could hide ever deeper from life, you might uses Glennon's method of self-deprecating humor and call it 'honestly', but what you should
say is, "I suck as a person." then try to change yourself. That's what Glennon does and its popular because it makes...
If you could hide ever deeper from life, you might uses Glennon's method of self-deprecating humor and call it 'honestly', but what you should
say is, "I suck as a person." then try to change yourself. That's what Glennon does and its popular because it makes you feel like its okay to
be a bad person, but it isn't. Glennon want's us to confront our inadequacies with acceptance? It is a funny joke or meme to say,
"Carpe Diem? I can't seize 15 min, let alone a whole day!" But, honestly yes, you can. You are a stay at home mother with nothing else to do. People do it all the time.
Get off facebook, stop being selfish with your time, and take care of your family. This book is like watching someone bang their head against the wall while saying,
"Aren't I a dummy for beating my head against the wall?" Yes, yes you are. It really is no wonder why her marriage failed/nearly failed.
File this book in, the (giving up on) Self Help section. Read this if you want some validation for the lack of effort you put into your marriage and family. 

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    Such a fantastic read! And it may come as a surprise to some tha

    Such a fantastic read! And it may come as a surprise to some that I'm not a parent! Just. Read. This. Book. A few pages in and you’ll start to understand how Glennon Doyle Melton's storytelling creates a palpable sense of community for anyone who is navigating life's "brutiful" moments. In Carry On, Warrior, she shares her story as she has done on her blog – with honesty, humor, sincerity and grace. Like any profound, soulful, gifted writer, she sheds light on our own experiences so that we can confront our own vulnerabilities, strengths and innate beauty with tenderness, acceptance and love.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Glennon says what every woman is thinking in a funny, honest, an

    Glennon says what every woman is thinking in a funny, honest, and uplifting way.  If I could rate it higher than 5 stars I would.  A must read for every woman, but especially the moms out there!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Very encouraging

    I really enjoyed thus. I follow Momastery and enjoy it too.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    I bought this book as a gift for my mom, my sister, and my best friend!

    I have followed Glennon Doyle Melton's blog, Momastery, for a little over a year. She is funny, and supportive of all women out there parenting, loving, and just living through everything life dishes out. A girlfriend gave me the copy she'd pre-ordered. I loved Glennon's self-deprecating humor, realism, faith (and did I say humor?!) so much that I sent copies to my mom, sister, and my best friend. It is hilarious and heartwarming. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Fabulous!!!  Loved it!  Will be reading it again!!!

    Fabulous!!!  Loved it!  Will be reading it again!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Highly Reccomended!

    I found this book right when I needed it. I think everyone should read this book. It helps people accept themselves better n to find the love inside of themselves. It doesn't matter if u are a recovering "fill in the blank" or not, a christan or pagan I think this book speaks to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Love wins!

    A joy to read. Funny, honest and full of love.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    This book changed my life!

    I read it in 36 hours and it is the very best book I've read in years. I laughed, I cried and I changed the way I communicate in my relationships - most importantly my marriage. It validated so many emotions and realities that allowed me to relax and enjoy the ride. I bought 3 copies for friends who I knew would benefit from it. And recommended it to 6 other people including my mom. It is heartfelt reality of marriage and children and this thing called 'life' that we often trudge through. It helped me fall back in love with my husband and have been enjoying a much more engaged relationship - and he has no idea I read this book. Yet he's changed just due to the way I communicate with him. Its been life-changer for me! I just can't say enough about this book - oh, and I'm now reading if for the second time, as a refresher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    highly recommended--hilarious and thought provoking

    My sister gave me this book and I in turn purchased another to give to a friend. This book is a wonderful mix of thought provoking observations on how we move through life coupled with hilarious stories. I find myself thinking about parts of this book and quoting it from time to time. Its a refreshing way to look at life and to be more open with ourselves and others at the same time. Plus, I laughed out loud so often, my husband kept asking what was so funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    I've been reading (and loving) Glennon's blog, Momastery, for o

    I've been reading (and loving) Glennon's blog, Momastery, for over a year now. I was thrilled when she announced her book deal and have been waiting for Carry On, Warrior for what feels like forever.

    I'm not usually a lover of non-fiction but this book was outstanding. It made me cry several times, and as Chris Tomlin would say, "it made my heart want to sing." I love Glennon's blog, but this book was even better and really spoke to my heart. Some of the essays in the book have been previously published on her website, but much of the book is new material. And for new(ish) followers of the site, like me, it was nice to be able to read Glennon's story in order, instead of piecing it together through the blog.

    Glennon describes herself as a hope-spreader and truth-teller. She lives an open and honest life, and that honesty is what speaks to me. I see so much of myself in her and feel like she knows how I feel, even though she doesn't know me. She describes this as the divine inside of her speaking to and recognizing the divine in me. And I think she's exactly right. Reading this book was like hearing a bell toll: all of it rang true for me.

    I'm so glad I bought a hard copy of Carry On, Warrior. I want to be able to easily flip back to my favorite parts and highlight certain quotes and go back and read this book again just to savor it. I feel like Carry On, Warrior is more of a book for women, especially mothers, but I think that it would appeal to just about anyone. Highly, highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1