Customer Reviews for

Carte Blanche: The New James Bond Novel

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Deaver's Bond is a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond

9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, ...
9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, Great Britain understood the Cold War agencies like M15, M16 and MOD remain critical, but not set up to deal with non-nation terrorism. Thus a new agency Overseas Development Group was created to take the war to the enemy using any technique necessary.

Government Communications Headquarters cryptographers decode electronic messages that affirm a major attack planned for sometime this week with thousands expected dead. M16 feels the center of the threat is in Afghanistan. A Night Alert assigns Agent 007 Carte Blanche to save lives. Bond knows the key immediate enemy needing rendition or death is the brilliant operational expert The Irishman, but stopping him will only delay the assault. As time runs out, 007 focuses on the Irishman, but also knows he needs to capture the money behind the pending attack. However, Severan Hydt has numerous refuse layers to protect him as he seeks international decay.

Avoiding the Fleming lite of recent Bond novels, Jeffery Deaver reinvents 007 in a contemporary world in which the Cold War is history. However, though Bond is modernized, trademark elements that denote the character and the espionage thrillers he starred on remain. Mr. Deaver includes the Bond girls with inane names (though the hero is more sensitive to their needs), the wheels, the drink, but he gave up smoking, the over the top of Big Ben villains, and Carte Blanch license to kill. However, as with the originals, it is the countdown suspense that makes Mr. Deaver's Bond a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond (except for purist Boomers who will say no to any doctoring).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A big disappointment for me

Love Deaver and loved Flemming's Bond books but this did not do it for me at all. Too cumbersome in the beginning and never grabbed my interest

posted by Pathodessa on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Deaver's Bond is a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond

    9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, Great Britain understood the Cold War agencies like M15, M16 and MOD remain critical, but not set up to deal with non-nation terrorism. Thus a new agency Overseas Development Group was created to take the war to the enemy using any technique necessary.

    Government Communications Headquarters cryptographers decode electronic messages that affirm a major attack planned for sometime this week with thousands expected dead. M16 feels the center of the threat is in Afghanistan. A Night Alert assigns Agent 007 Carte Blanche to save lives. Bond knows the key immediate enemy needing rendition or death is the brilliant operational expert The Irishman, but stopping him will only delay the assault. As time runs out, 007 focuses on the Irishman, but also knows he needs to capture the money behind the pending attack. However, Severan Hydt has numerous refuse layers to protect him as he seeks international decay.

    Avoiding the Fleming lite of recent Bond novels, Jeffery Deaver reinvents 007 in a contemporary world in which the Cold War is history. However, though Bond is modernized, trademark elements that denote the character and the espionage thrillers he starred on remain. Mr. Deaver includes the Bond girls with inane names (though the hero is more sensitive to their needs), the wheels, the drink, but he gave up smoking, the over the top of Big Ben villains, and Carte Blanch license to kill. However, as with the originals, it is the countdown suspense that makes Mr. Deaver's Bond a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond (except for purist Boomers who will say no to any doctoring).

    Harriet Klausner

    39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Not your grandmother's Bond

    However, still a Bond she will love. I only write reviews for books that really suck me in and Jeffrey Deaver has done it. This is still the sexy, thrilling, suave Bond with a twist of modern in his license to kill. I'd recommend this to any fan of 007 or just suspense lovers like me.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    True to the old Bond

    After a few tries, finally the James Bond people got this right. Ian Fleming Publications asked Jeffrey Deaver, a very accomplished action-adventure/suspense writer to take on this new novel, Carte Blanche. Mr. Deaver, a master of suspense has written one of the best (since Fleming) 007 adventures that will keep readers on the edge of their chairs. It's a masterful adaptation of the 007 persona. The book balances the tradition of Bond (very debonair, suave and a real ladie's man) bringing him into a new era. Gone is the Commander who met the Nazis face to face and all the weird folks who peopled the former Bond books. In this book, our James is a former Royal Naval Reserve Officer who has recently joined the Overseas Development Group (no more Universal Exports), a covert unit of British Security. James still has a boss named "M"; Miss Moneypenny is front and center; James drives a top-of-the-line Bentley, which, by the way, was written into many Fleming Bond stories; Mary Goodnight, secretary to the 00 section; Felix Leiter, old CIA pal and others who readers will recognize. Also, of course the license to kill which is now called Carte Blanche... Great villians, in this case, Niall Dunne, "The Irishman," the ultimate bad guy and his boss, Severan Hydt, the owner of Green Way International, a waste disposal corporation who is obsessed with death and wants to detonate an extremely dangerous weapon of mass distruction in a British University. James Bond, in this volume is a veteran of Afghanistan. Also, he is much more of a team player than he once was. Despite some run-ins with Percy Osborne-Smith, a MI5 agent, he has become somewhat sensitive, which was not a quality enjoyed by the previous Bond. Still, the hard-nosed Bond remains, but it's a different world than it was in 1953, and the women in Carte Blanche are pretty much equal to the men. There's Ophelia Maidenstone, a coworker at ODG, who, besides being very beautiful, is indispensible abd, without her, Bond would be dead in the water. When romance begins to bloom between them, she stays in Bond's mind so much that after a night with another beauty, Bond actually feels guilty. Which was definitely NOT one of his traits in past books. This is very unlike the old James but, it's true to the Bond stories as it's just as exciting and full of danger as were the earlier books. This author really leaves you wanting more Bond adventures. This novel will hold readers interests going into plots and sub-plots about Bond's life and readers will be looking forward to the next Bond installment. Hopefully, to be carried out by Jeffrey Deaver. Quill Says: Jeffrey Deaver, the latest author asked to write a James Bond 007 opus, is a wonderful choice. He remains true to the old Bond, including fast cars and women and also really nasty bad guys. But, has been able to bring James into the 21st century with a bang instead of a whimper.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    awesome

    so cool

    4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Bond for the 21st century!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this 007 novel. It introduces a James Bond young enough to fit in with the modern age, who uses an iPhone and gives insight into his family history (spying, it seems runs in the family). The physical description of 007 is closer to Pierce Brosnan or Timothy Dalton than Daniel Craig, and the story is well-written and thought up. I sincerely hope that Mr. Deaver decided to write more 007 novels, because if he does we will have a completely new and revamped Bond whose further adventures are highly anticipated. Praise to you, Mr. Deaver...I LOVE BOND!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Good but didn't really feel like a James Bond novel

    Overall, I really liked this novel but it never entirely felt like a true James Bond novel to me. In the best Bond novels it seems like only James Bond could star in them. In this one I felt you could put Jason Bourne or Harry Palmer in it and still get the same atmosphere in the story. The updating of Bond was jarring at first but made sense once I thought about it. There were also plenty of surprises even though there were times I don't think he played fair with the reader. Bottom line: a great first Bond novel that makes you want to read the next one Deaver will come out with.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    A big disappointment for me

    Love Deaver and loved Flemming's Bond books but this did not do it for me at all. Too cumbersome in the beginning and never grabbed my interest

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Well Written

    Jeffery Deaver impresses me as a writer who researches deeply into his subjects, and that makes for an enjoyable read. There are enough twists to keep things interesting (let's face it, Bond always wins...), and enough detail to make the charactors believable. If you like action adventure, than this book is for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    Never Again...

    I was highly disappointed at Barnes & Noble's service. I made a purchase (Jeffery Deaver's Carte Blanche) in July 15, in Buenos Aires, paid for delivery in eight days, and the item arrived two months later, on September 15, when I was already in another country. Shame on you! Really...
    Yours sincerely,

    Ricardo Quintana

    2 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    what customer service ?

    Still waiting for it to download !!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    I couldn't even finish this.

    I couldn't even finish this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Very disappointing. Poor character development and contrived st

    Very disappointing. Poor character development and contrived story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Amazing

    Intriguing and entertaining! Everything you have come to expect from Bond done with the finesse and intelligence of Deaver! Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Fantastic update to the best spy license

    Absolutely loved this novel. You can tell from the detail of the writing that Mr. Deaver and his team spent exhaustive hours researching to deliver a spectacularly authentic story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Return to A Softer Well-Mannered Bond

    I loved Deavers take on James Bond. I am happy he brought him into this century. This allowed for a more believable Bond... However, Deaver has done away with the dark and cruel Bond and has created a James Bond who might look better as window dressing in store front. I miss the Bond who kills but finds away to taunt he bad guy with a self-assured wit. Having said that, I had alot of fun reading this. Deaver hit all the right superficial notes but missed some of the character depth that should go into making a literary 007.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bond fans rejoice, great story

    Very fluid and modern well woven tale with the right amount of old Ian Fleming's style and flair. Mr. Deaver carries the legacy well with his version of James Bond.
    Love the similar flow of the story and the interaction with M and chief of staff, Tanner. Q branch normal complains and the locations were great to read about.
    This could be well translated in to a screen play and the next James Bond movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    I had to see how Jeffery Deaver handled James Bond.

    I have read and enjoyed most of Jeffery Deaver's books. And I had read and seen all of Ian Fleming's James Bond stories. So I was anxious to read this as well. He does Ian proud !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I must agree with Pathodessa's assessment: didn't grab my interest and though I love Jeffery Deaver books and buy them as soon as they come out, this just didn't do it for me. Though I also loved James Bond books, this wasn't enough like James Bond or enough like Jeffery Deaver....hence: disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Great new James Bond book.

    I have read and loved all of Jeffery Deaver's books. His take on Mr. Bond is so very good I couldn't read it fast enough! I'm sure if you just read the book without bias you'll enjoy it as well.

    Also, to the reviewer that loves Mr. Jeffery Dalhmers book, umm... It's the author Deaver not the serial killer Dalhmer.
    Please read and enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

    very disappointing considering all the great stuff this author h

    very disappointing considering all the great stuff this author has written.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 233 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12