Customer Reviews for

Carte Blanche: The New James Bond Novel

Average Rating 4
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(45)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Mr. Deaver's Bond is a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond

9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, ...
9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, Great Britain understood the Cold War agencies like M15, M16 and MOD remain critical, but not set up to deal with non-nation terrorism. Thus a new agency Overseas Development Group was created to take the war to the enemy using any technique necessary.

Government Communications Headquarters cryptographers decode electronic messages that affirm a major attack planned for sometime this week with thousands expected dead. M16 feels the center of the threat is in Afghanistan. A Night Alert assigns Agent 007 Carte Blanche to save lives. Bond knows the key immediate enemy needing rendition or death is the brilliant operational expert The Irishman, but stopping him will only delay the assault. As time runs out, 007 focuses on the Irishman, but also knows he needs to capture the money behind the pending attack. However, Severan Hydt has numerous refuse layers to protect him as he seeks international decay.

Avoiding the Fleming lite of recent Bond novels, Jeffery Deaver reinvents 007 in a contemporary world in which the Cold War is history. However, though Bond is modernized, trademark elements that denote the character and the espionage thrillers he starred on remain. Mr. Deaver includes the Bond girls with inane names (though the hero is more sensitive to their needs), the wheels, the drink, but he gave up smoking, the over the top of Big Ben villains, and Carte Blanch license to kill. However, as with the originals, it is the countdown suspense that makes Mr. Deaver's Bond a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond (except for purist Boomers who will say no to any doctoring).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on June 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A big disappointment for me

Love Deaver and loved Flemming's Bond books but this did not do it for me at all. Too cumbersome in the beginning and never grabbed my interest

posted by Pathodessa on June 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Mr. Deaver's Bond is a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond

    9/11 changed the world as international terrorist groups focused on civilian targets. The Bush Doctrine based on the premise of taking the global war on terrorism to the enemy led to the Afghanistan war in which agents like thirtyish 007 James Bond operated. However, Great Britain understood the Cold War agencies like M15, M16 and MOD remain critical, but not set up to deal with non-nation terrorism. Thus a new agency Overseas Development Group was created to take the war to the enemy using any technique necessary.

    Government Communications Headquarters cryptographers decode electronic messages that affirm a major attack planned for sometime this week with thousands expected dead. M16 feels the center of the threat is in Afghanistan. A Night Alert assigns Agent 007 Carte Blanche to save lives. Bond knows the key immediate enemy needing rendition or death is the brilliant operational expert The Irishman, but stopping him will only delay the assault. As time runs out, 007 focuses on the Irishman, but also knows he needs to capture the money behind the pending attack. However, Severan Hydt has numerous refuse layers to protect him as he seeks international decay.

    Avoiding the Fleming lite of recent Bond novels, Jeffery Deaver reinvents 007 in a contemporary world in which the Cold War is history. However, though Bond is modernized, trademark elements that denote the character and the espionage thrillers he starred on remain. Mr. Deaver includes the Bond girls with inane names (though the hero is more sensitive to their needs), the wheels, the drink, but he gave up smoking, the over the top of Big Ben villains, and Carte Blanch license to kill. However, as with the originals, it is the countdown suspense that makes Mr. Deaver's Bond a wonderful heir apparent to Mr. Fleming's Bond (except for purist Boomers who will say no to any doctoring).

    Harriet Klausner

    39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Not your grandmother's Bond

    However, still a Bond she will love. I only write reviews for books that really suck me in and Jeffrey Deaver has done it. This is still the sexy, thrilling, suave Bond with a twist of modern in his license to kill. I'd recommend this to any fan of 007 or just suspense lovers like me.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    awesome

    so cool

    4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Bond for the 21st century!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this 007 novel. It introduces a James Bond young enough to fit in with the modern age, who uses an iPhone and gives insight into his family history (spying, it seems runs in the family). The physical description of 007 is closer to Pierce Brosnan or Timothy Dalton than Daniel Craig, and the story is well-written and thought up. I sincerely hope that Mr. Deaver decided to write more 007 novels, because if he does we will have a completely new and revamped Bond whose further adventures are highly anticipated. Praise to you, Mr. Deaver...I LOVE BOND!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Amazing

    Intriguing and entertaining! Everything you have come to expect from Bond done with the finesse and intelligence of Deaver! Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Fantastic update to the best spy license

    Absolutely loved this novel. You can tell from the detail of the writing that Mr. Deaver and his team spent exhaustive hours researching to deliver a spectacularly authentic story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bond fans rejoice, great story

    Very fluid and modern well woven tale with the right amount of old Ian Fleming's style and flair. Mr. Deaver carries the legacy well with his version of James Bond.
    Love the similar flow of the story and the interaction with M and chief of staff, Tanner. Q branch normal complains and the locations were great to read about.
    This could be well translated in to a screen play and the next James Bond movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Excellent Bond novel

    I really enjoyethipiecesd





    Great book




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Great new James Bond book.

    I have read and loved all of Jeffery Deaver's books. His take on Mr. Bond is so very good I couldn't read it fast enough! I'm sure if you just read the book without bias you'll enjoy it as well.

    Also, to the reviewer that loves Mr. Jeffery Dalhmers book, umm... It's the author Deaver not the serial killer Dalhmer.
    Please read and enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Cass from kelly i am not lying

    ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Jack

    Bit res 2

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Review

    I picked a copy of this up from a store, being the die-heart 007 fan I am and couldn't put it down. An excelent work of art by Jeff Deaver. Very descriptive, very sleek with some nice suprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Excellent

    It is my first James Bond Novel, but I found it to be very entertaining and I will read others. Deaver is great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Give me a vodka martini shaken not stirred any day

    I love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Wares my astonmarton

    Pure awsome ness

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great read for any bond fan

    Needs a vodka martini shaken not stired and a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Give me a vodca martini shaken not stired any day

    I love them!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Best Bond yet

    Deaver has created a real 007 that's tough, hard and fallible. This Bond is human, not super human. This is the tough guy we want and Deaver has given it. A must read for real James Bond fans like me. Forty years of 007 books and films and this tops them all. The name is Bond, James Bond...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    A modern day Bond that is great fun!

    A modern day Bond with a fun, fast paced story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Fantastic book!

    I hope that this is made into a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5