Customer Reviews for

Carter Beats the Devil

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is just plain magical!

    I fell in love with Glen David Gold's writing while reading SUNNYSIDE. CARTER BEATS THE DEVIL ("Carter") is a joy from cover to cover and was written before SUNNYSIDE. The characters are vivid, the plot masterful. If you're even the least bit interested in magicians/illusionists, this book is for you. If you enjoy books about America in a much simpler time, you will love this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful take on a historical chracter

    I'm not particularly a historical fiction kind of reader. I find that usually fact gets in the way of the overall good time of the narrative. That wasn't the case with Carter Beats The Devil however! This book is engrossing and captivating from beginning to end. This book was written as Gold's thesis project when he graduated from UCI with a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. If a first novel can be this good, then I am anxious to read any forthcoming novels written by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Really a great read!

    Love historical novels - and this is a really entertaining one - based on actual events - never a dull moment and never know what comes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    Great Book!

    Carter Beats the Devil is a great book. At first the size is a little foreboding but once you start reading it, you won't be able to stop! It is completely original, a love story between a man and his women, a man and his craft and a man and his family. You will learn a lot about magic and passion as well as the complexities of relationships of all kinds. It is touching and funny and has a great plot twist. Gold touches upon many controversial topics and digs deep into a few. This is a perfect book to take on vacation with you. If you are bored and want time to fly by- read this book! Truly a delight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Magical mystery tour of 1923

    The Braille on the cover is a small detail, but is an indicator of its passion and detail. This a wonderful blend of history and magic, drama and mystery and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    Charming and Inventive

    This is simply a terrific book. The story is enticing, the characters are compelling and the pace is just uneven enough to keep you unbalanced and breathless. The interweaving of descriptions of the performances with the revelation of the trade secrets is seamless, and to me, is key to the singular quality of the text. Carter Beats the Devil is definately the best book I've read this year, if not in this century. I recommend it to casual readers and diehards equally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    One of the Best Ever

    Carter Beats the Devil is simply one of my all-time favorites. It is a unique tale . . . different from most main-stream action thrillers or best sellers. I loved the way Gold weaved together the tale of Carter's life with the murder-mystery of President Harding in a 'Forest Gump' style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2002

    Gold produces a gem

    Oprah Clubbers and Rippa Readers beware: this novel is an instant classic with substance. Gold doesn't rely on artifice and the illusion of literary talent as crowd-pleasing authors do. He's the real deal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2002

    Best book this year

    "Carter Beats the Devil" by Glen David Gold was fantastic. Really well written, suspenseful, very well-drawn characters. I enoy historical fiction, so this was a real treat. It's sort of a suspense novel, but also introduces you to the mechanics behind the illusions created by the magicians of the '20's, '30's and '40's (Houdini, etc.) It has great historical tidbits about the Secret Service and President Warren G. Harding too. I read 200 - 300 books a year, and I'd say this was at the top of my list for this year so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    No escape from adventure!

    A big read, but you'll find yourself not being able to put this down. Friends have borrowed my copy, bought by chance, and have had the same view as mine. Fans of period adventures will be unable to leave the house and go to work! Believable characters and rip-roaring plots. Glen David Gold has me on the edge of my seat waiting for his next offering! Can't wait for a follow up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2002

    WOW!!!

    This book was packed with so much I feel like I need to read it again. Lots of book for the money!! Awesome historical information and tons of romance, intrigue etc. Reading this was like riding a roller coaster. Definitely the E ticket ride. Must read for residents of the San Franciso Bay Area!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2002

    LOVED this book

    This is my first review, only because I can't stop thinking about this book, and I couldn't put the book down. It was a great plot & the writing is extraordinary. It has the same wonderful historical fiction mix of engaging characters and real people that I enjoyed so much in the Alienist. (This book isn't nearly as dark, but it is magical.) I'm adding this author to my lifetime list of 'I'll read anything he writes.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2002

    A Rare Book : Really Well Written and Well Worth the Time

    This is a terrfic book! It's obviously written for people who love to read, not to inflame the ego of the author. It is genuinely rare to find a Glen David Gold, and as wonderful a book as this one is. A page turner, all right, but I savored each one of those pages, every single chapter. The characters are very well developed, but just as in life, these people don't act in a predictable pattern. Great mystery is afoot here; even if one thinks one can predict the outcome, the weave of the diverse folks with such disparate viewpoints into the triumph of the final act is utterly absorbing. The elegance of the prose is surpassed only by the vivid word images, or maybe vice versa? Oh well, it's just the two distinct sides of Carter's/Gold's plain white handkerchief, which in a heartbeat turns into a full blown spray of flowers. But don't be deceived by the impressive description of the magic illusions, or the fascinating plot, or the layers of interest in the action, or the complex characterizations . . . . . .There are deep explorations of the human experience here, which are every bit as good as that of Twain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2001

    This is I search hard for brilliant writing!

    It only took me one paragraph to get hooked on this book. I never had any particular attachment to magic before, but I must admit this book has had me fascinated with this form of entertainment. I felt as if I were transported to the 1920's when people were amazed by the science and illusion of the day. Mr Gold has obviously researched this novel very well and is able to successfully reproduce the feel of the atmosphere surrounding the heyday of magic. My only regret is that every page I turned meant I would have to leave Mr Gold's novel that much sooner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    Fresh Fiction

    'Carter Beats the Devil' is one of the most interesting books I have ever read. I picked it up to look at the cover and bought it ten minutes later. An amazingly written, fun to read novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2001

    Outstanding! I couldn't put it down.

    Carter Beats the Devil reminded me of Chabon's best work, well written but not a heavy read. The '20's setting feels just right with enough deatail to keep the mood but not so much that you lose sight of the story. This book reads like the best pulp fiction, only written by a first class novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2001

    Simply Amazing!

    One of, if not the best book, I have read this year. This will go on my all time great book list. I did not want it to end!! The characters, the story, and the atmosphere are magically brought to life by Gold. A phenominal debut by an incredibly gifted writer. You don't read this book, you experience it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2