Customer Reviews for

Carter Finally Gets It

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hilarious!!!!

    This book was freakin' hilarious! I found myself laughing out loud alone while reading it. It was so cleverly written and wonderfully witty. Will Carter is definitely real to me, like a real live living breathing person, not just some character in a fiction novel. Although I'm female, I could just FEEL this poor boys angst as if it were my own. I myself have always wondered the inner workings of a young teenage boys mind... and the thought process and misadventures of Carter was just so much fun to read. You find yourself cheering for him to succeed and hang your head down in shame when he screws up. Even though this story was told from a teenage boys perspective, young females will still be able to take away something from Carter's story. Because ultimately, this story is about finding your place in the world and being OK with who you are and what you can and cannot do. A true coming of age story at its core... I very rarely say this... but I would love to see this turn into a movie and brought to life. I can't wait to see what else Brent Crawford brings to the table!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Wicked Awesome

    Every single chapter gave me a surge of greatness and left me laughing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I personally love this book because it is a easy read. I also think the author really gets how a guy in highschool thinks. Once i pick up this book I cant stop reading. This book is a addiction. I am personally going to be upset once I finish this book. This is the best book I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    A really fun read!

    Was searching high and low for a good book and stumbled across this one. It was a quick read and a lot of fun! Carter is a great character as are his friends and the girls in his life. Abby seems like such a sweetheart and has to put up with Carter's shenanigans! Can't wait to read the next installment and even just found out there is going to be a 3rd book later this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    All I have to say, is that this book is definitely one of THE BEST BOOKS that I have EVER read, and if you know me, you know I've read many. This has definitely has made my top three (including the sequel)! I just hope others read it and enjoy it as much as I did. This book is funny, insightful, and everything else you would want a book to be. Any teenager like me, or maybe even an adult reminiscing about when they were younger and all the crazy things they did, would LOVE this book. I even tell my friends about parts in the book and make them laugh. I didn't even want to return the book to the library it was so good! This book is amazing, it should be one of those required readings for school or something! haha, yeah I know, i'm babbling, but that reminds me of a certain someone......hahaha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    With few exceptions, every 8th-9th grade boy should read this. T

    With few exceptions, every 8th-9th grade boy should read this. The real-life situations and angst hit close to home and adds laugh-out-loud hilarity. The description on the back, where it says Carter is searching for sex will put off many parents, and I think is misleading. He is a complex, realistic character who is, definitely, obsessed with girls, but it's not an over-lewd sex quest. Carter faces real-life peer pressure and scrapes, but it comes out all right and the book has good messages without being preachy at all. One example: they get invited to a high school party where the admission fee is beer. He and his friends bring in non-alcoholic beer and spend much of the time faking it. They get away with it -- looking cool without breaking the law. I'm a middle-aged female middle school librarian and I was laughing so hard I had to put the book down and wipe tears from my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Hevlikes bbbbbbbboooooooobbbbbbbbsssssssss

    Hoes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Crazy Fun!

    This book is really great. it makes you laugh throughout the whole time. i actually read it in one day and loved it. my friend would even ask me to read the book out loud to her when i was reading it around her so she could hear the story and laugh at all the insane things carter would do. i would reccommend this story to anyone who is looking for a laugh and for a witty book. Whenever im sad i can always read a part of that book and count on it to make me laugh. great book totally worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Hilarious

    Echoing what an earlier reviewer said, this book resonates with people of any age. It is the story of 14-yr-old Carter as he navigates his freshman year. I laughed out loud nearly the whole way through and kept showing excerpts to my husband, family, and friends. It made my high school experiences suddenly make much more sense! My husband assures me that the thoughts Carter experiences are real.
    My only issue was the book was how Carter and his friends objectify girls as a vehicle of sex. Only towards the end of the book does Carter really begin to see Abby as more than boobs. Though the book is probably true to the way boys think, I believe that there needs to be conversation with these boys to make sure they "get it".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Carter is a freshman. He'd like to find a girlfriend but he stutters around boobs and belly buttons. Carter will maneuver through a freshman year of sports, jocks, bullies, rivals, first love - and finally getting it.

    This book is hilarious! Seriously, pick this one up!! Brent Crawford has captured the awkwardness of adolescence and made it a fun read. I couldn't stop laughing.

    I think this one would be a great read, but I loved the narrator for the audiobook. I had seen the book around, but a co-worker told me to listen to the audio and I'm so glad I did.

    The story goes through Carter's freshman year, and the way narrator Nick Podehl captures Carter's voice is so perfect and makes this one a really fun listen. Check out the sample audio. CARTER FINALLY GETS IT is one of my new favorite audiobooks and must-haves for those new to trying books on CD (and of course long time fans, too).

    The thing I liked most about this one, aside from the great narration, is that Carter is easy to relate to. He plays sports, but he's not really a jock. He goes after girls, but he's not the smooth, popular guy. He joins the school musical, but he's not a drama nerd.

    Even though this one is about a fourteen-year-old boy and told from his point of view, it has lots of female appeal, too. Anyone (and any age) can relate to Carter - we've all been freshman, we've all competed for something, and we've all had that first love.

    I highly recommend this one. If you're thinking of reading it, try the audiobook - you won't be sorry!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2