BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Carter Reed

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I first read about this book on the Totally Booked blog. I am so

I first read about this book on the Totally Booked blog. I am so grateful that I subscribe to that blog; this was one of the best books that I have read this year.

Emma needs help and she goes to the only person that she knows can help her, Carter Reed - a man who is c...
I first read about this book on the Totally Booked blog. I am so grateful that I subscribe to that blog; this was one of the best books that I have read this year.

Emma needs help and she goes to the only person that she knows can help her, Carter Reed - a man who is connected to the mob. He was her brother's best friend before he was killed.

This is the first book that I have read by Tijan and I want to read more. I want so much more of Carter, Emma, Noah, Teresa and Amanda. Carter Reed was such a great book that dealt with so many complicated issues and I fell in love with the characters, plot and the author's work.

posted by lissasue25 on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Well that was a bomb for me.... I just don't understand how it h

Well that was a bomb for me....
I just don't understand how it has such a high rating...

Perhaps it's just me....

Ok, I picked this book up because I was in the mood for a story with the Mob in it. I wanted something
suspenseful and badass with a little romance. And ...
Well that was a bomb for me....
I just don't understand how it has such a high rating...

Perhaps it's just me....

Ok, I picked this book up because I was in the mood for a story with the Mob in it. I wanted something
suspenseful and badass with a little romance. And come on the cover is AWESOME!!

BUT like my momma always said...."Never judge a book by its cover"

The beginning was actually really really good. I thought Emma would be a kick ass chick so I was hooked after
 the first chapter and went ahead and purchased the book and then it just went DOWNHILL after that for me.

Here's my issues....

1. This chick gasps and sighs way too much! I mean come on! She's "hot" for him the moment she sees him...
her nipples harden, she starts throbbing and blah blah blah. I must ask...why is she instantly turned on?? What
type of relationship did they have in their past that would make him her "ideal"???? I just don't think the back
story was built up enough for me.

2. I'm so over all these romance books where these girls almost have orgasm's just looking at the guy and
everyone's eyes are hot/passionate/steamy again...blah blah blah. I'm just over this style.

3. This chick is a sucky ass friend! She cares for Mallory, yet leaves Mallory and doesn't even put up a fight or try
to help Mallory AT ALL! She so quickly ditches her friends for new co-workers then when they don't talk to her
goes back to find out why her old friends aren't talking to her. Uh DUH!

4. After reading 55% of the book I still had no idea who Emma or Carter were...there were no deeps insights into
them no conversations between the two where we got to know them. All I new was Carter was in the mob for
Emma and they magically loved each other in a freakin day.

5. The story just didn't flow for me like I would have wanted it to. I didn't connect with Emma at all and found her
 to be whiney, clingy and very needy. I personally like my chicks with some attitude and Emma just didn't have
enough for me.

Most of my issues with the book are for my own personal reasons. Lots of readers love these types of romance
books but I just feel like this "style" has been a little overdone. A lot of independent romance books are starting
 to look and read the same to me. Maybe I need to find another genre for a little while and then try again.

Who knows....

I stopped reading at 55%. I just couldn't do it anymore, especially with Red Hill by Jamie McGuire coming out
tomorrow!!

posted by Paula0 on September 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I first read about this book on the Totally Booked blog. I am so

    I first read about this book on the Totally Booked blog. I am so grateful that I subscribe to that blog; this was one of the best books that I have read this year.

    Emma needs help and she goes to the only person that she knows can help her, Carter Reed - a man who is connected to the mob. He was her brother's best friend before he was killed.

    This is the first book that I have read by Tijan and I want to read more. I want so much more of Carter, Emma, Noah, Teresa and Amanda. Carter Reed was such a great book that dealt with so many complicated issues and I fell in love with the characters, plot and the author's work.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Well that was a bomb for me.... I just don't understand how it h

    Well that was a bomb for me....
    I just don't understand how it has such a high rating...

    Perhaps it's just me....

    Ok, I picked this book up because I was in the mood for a story with the Mob in it. I wanted something
    suspenseful and badass with a little romance. And come on the cover is AWESOME!!

    BUT like my momma always said...."Never judge a book by its cover"

    The beginning was actually really really good. I thought Emma would be a kick ass chick so I was hooked after
     the first chapter and went ahead and purchased the book and then it just went DOWNHILL after that for me.

    Here's my issues....

    1. This chick gasps and sighs way too much! I mean come on! She's "hot" for him the moment she sees him...
    her nipples harden, she starts throbbing and blah blah blah. I must ask...why is she instantly turned on?? What
    type of relationship did they have in their past that would make him her "ideal"???? I just don't think the back
    story was built up enough for me.

    2. I'm so over all these romance books where these girls almost have orgasm's just looking at the guy and
    everyone's eyes are hot/passionate/steamy again...blah blah blah. I'm just over this style.

    3. This chick is a sucky ass friend! She cares for Mallory, yet leaves Mallory and doesn't even put up a fight or try
    to help Mallory AT ALL! She so quickly ditches her friends for new co-workers then when they don't talk to her
    goes back to find out why her old friends aren't talking to her. Uh DUH!

    4. After reading 55% of the book I still had no idea who Emma or Carter were...there were no deeps insights into
    them no conversations between the two where we got to know them. All I new was Carter was in the mob for
    Emma and they magically loved each other in a freakin day.

    5. The story just didn't flow for me like I would have wanted it to. I didn't connect with Emma at all and found her
     to be whiney, clingy and very needy. I personally like my chicks with some attitude and Emma just didn't have
    enough for me.

    Most of my issues with the book are for my own personal reasons. Lots of readers love these types of romance
    books but I just feel like this "style" has been a little overdone. A lot of independent romance books are starting
     to look and read the same to me. Maybe I need to find another genre for a little while and then try again.

    Who knows....

    I stopped reading at 55%. I just couldn't do it anymore, especially with Red Hill by Jamie McGuire coming out
    tomorrow!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Pleasantly surprised

    I was pleasantly surprised, this book was so much better than I thought it was going to be. I wasn't sure about emma & how she delt with things in the begining, but I really liked how strong she turned out to be. And carter is absolutely devishly heavenly!! A very good story at a great value!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    What an awesome book!

    I read most of the reviews before buying, the good and bad. I'm glad I didn't pay heed to the negatives. What a great book, I could not put it down till I was done. I loved the characters and the story line. I would def. recommend this book!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Great book!

    This was the first book I read from this author and it will not be the last! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    I heart Carter Reed!

    Wow! I loved this book and Carter Reed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great Book!

    The type of love they have for one another is epic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    A-freakin-mazing!

    Great read! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    Wow - just wow!! This book was one of the best I have read in a

    Wow - just wow!! This book was one of the best I have read in a while. It was one I finished in one day because I couldn't put it down. It will take you through all kinds of emotions and surprises. I definitely give this 5 stars.

    Emma comes home early one day to find her roommate being raped by the roommates mobster boyfriend. She cannot just sit by and let it happen so she gets a gun she has hidden and shoots him. Realizing she has killed a mobster and knowing that the mob will come for her she goes on the run with her roommate. They decide to trust two other friends with what happened. Emma is terrified they will find her so she decides to go to the only man who can save her - Carter Reed.

    Carter has been watching over Emma since her brother was killed by the mob and they want her dead too. She didn't always know he was around. He joined the rival mob to protect her. Now she is coming to him for protection. Her brother was his best friend and he has always loved her so he won't turn her away.

    Keeping her safe is going to take a lot of work. Convincing her they can have a HEA is going to be harder. Will they survive and will her friends survive?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    wow

    wow.... this book will keep u on your up all night..very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Loved!

    This was a great book find! Will be reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    I have a new book boyfriend and his name is Carter Reed. Loved

    I have a new book boyfriend and his name is Carter Reed. Loved this book. If you like possessive alpha men, this is the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    This book really grabbed me and was hard to put down

    This book really grabbed me and was hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Loved!

    I was on the fence with this book because I read some bad reviews but I am so glad I decided to read it! Soooo good! Carter is impossible to not fall in love with!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Carter Reed is Stunning, Mind-Blowing just flat-out marvelous! I

    Carter Reed is Stunning, Mind-Blowing just flat-out marvelous! I received this book as an ARC and I kind of kept putting it off. I know probably something I shouldn’t admit. But once I actually started it, I couldn’t put it down. It is a pretty long book or it felt that way. But it was completely entertaining. I don’t feel that there was a dull moment in there. This book is about a girl named Emma, and she walks in on her roommate getting raped, seeing Mallory as family she did what she had to do. Emma killed him knowing he was the son of a Mobster. (Yeah I know, I thought it too. Really a mobster) Then they went on the run. Emma knew she needed help and knew that there was only one person that could help her. Carter. He was there when her brother was killed, he made a name for himself by getting revenge on the people who killed AJ. She goes to him unsure of whether or not he will help. Little does she realize that he has been helping her, her entire life? Does love really happen or is the heat of the moment. Can they survive his mob connections? Can he get out? Can Carter and Emma have a happily ever after? All that said, yes I know it’s not much. But I HATE giving it all away. This is a book I will definitely reread!! Simply put I LOVED it!!

    ¿Jammie

    *ARC provided for an honest review*

    This Review along with others can be found 2 Bookaholics

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    So I absolutely LOVE Tijan and I couldn't wait for this read. Th

    So I absolutely LOVE Tijan and I couldn't wait for this read. This ends up at like 2.5 for me. Just OK for me, or
    maybe just too short to even be OK. Sorry! *Spoilers ahead!* There is absolutely no true character development
    for the hero, Carter Reed, and the heroine, Emma, either. Absolutely very little complexity or depth to them at all.
     No, Carter did not end up as a book-boyfriend of mine. The heroine is whiny and complaining throughout most
     of the book. There's no spunk to her to her at all. Her relationship with Carter almost comes out of the blue
     when, at 40% (after she's asked Carter for help and they've exchanged a total of, like, 20 words) they're in love.
     Both of them. WHAT? When did this happen?!

    He has gone on a mass murdering spree for her, and we never really get to see WHY he's doing all this other
    than her dead brother and because "it's for her". Really - what does he see in her? What did they share in the
    past or even present to make him do all this for her? There's NOTHING. NOTHING we can see or be convinced
    of. They have no communication, no common interest, share very little with each other, just seem to be going
    through the moves as the plot demanded them to. I don't buy into the "suddenly in love" part when he appears
    until like 12% and then there were tons of scenes in between where they hardly interacted. The rest of the scenes
    between them, after the 40% "WE'RE IN LOVE" revelation, are EMO and OTT. Where's the growth in the?
    There is NONE. No build up, and no growth later.

    She ends up with this killer who she supposedly knows as young but we don't even see a glimpse of their
    former interactions and they hardly have a decent conversation in the present where she's not needing to be
    reassured. Where is the woman who killed the guy in chapter one?! Where is, even, the little glimpse into the
    past where she supposedly let a stranger touch her and it ended up being Carter? In two sentences, this is
     mentioned, and that is all. And then, wow, they're in love. And exchange like 10 more words to each other.
    Those little snippets into Carter's POV are ridiculously short. Those give us NO perspective into his true lifestyle,
    thoughts, just the facts of what the villains are up to. I continue liking Tijan's other work better. They felt more
     original, less EMO, and the characters more interesting and unique. These felt, sadly, a little too cardboard.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2014

    OMG, where to start!  This book begins with a punch to the gut a

    OMG, where to start!  This book begins with a punch to the gut and so much excitement, it has you hooked from the beginning.  The action and emotional rollercoaster never stop.  I just kept turning pages until I came to the end, but still wanted so much more.  Emma, as well as the rest of the characters are well written and enjoyable to read, even the ones that I didn't like.  This story has it all: love, murder, betrayal, friendship, action, mystery, and the list doesn't end there.  Not recommended for readers under 17, but a definite must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Lol

    Welcome to ReedClan! Bios next res I'm Foxstar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Absolutely Love

    Absolutely love this book.. I scene got it on Audible. Carter and Emma took a little longer than I liked to make their feelings known but was still a great book. The only thing I want is another book with more Carter and Emma. Maybe a book about Noah and Teresa?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Found you my AFF! I kept trying red! Lol! ~ Lilywolf &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5