Customer Reviews for

Carved In Stone (Book 1 of the Art of Love Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

really don't usually do this - but - this time I can't help it.

really don't usually do this - but - this time I can't help it. CARVED IN STONE I got for free.

I read it in one sitting and before I got half way through I had bought CREATED IN STONE! ended up buying all 4 books in this series and reading them one after the other...
really don't usually do this - but - this time I can't help it. CARVED IN STONE I got for free.

I read it in one sitting and before I got half way through I had bought CREATED IN STONE! ended up buying all 4 books in this series and reading them one after the other. Keep up the good work!

posted by reginamar on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

disappointed in this one. wouldn't recommend it.

there is nothing here to discuss in a book club. just graphic sexual content. Not for the mature, serious reader.

posted by 17271051 on March 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Was not what I expected Enjoyed it

    Expecting abook about mythological romance. This was not it.
    The book was modern but so much more read it in a day.
    Loved the story line of loving and letting go so the you could have a fullfilling life. You cannot always be in a rush or scared to take a chance. Read it you won't be disappointed.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Quite enjoyable

    Loved the characters and the family squabbling. Book waswell written and lovable.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    i see the appeal of the older man



    I've always been into older men. And now as I reach my 40s, I find not many books show the renewed fire I feel lately. I am so glad I found this book. Not only did it give a voice to my changing sexuality , it also displayed mature love in a especially hot way. (I am not as worded as Miss Donna, but you get me.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2013

    A sweet easy read. It held my interest until the end. I¿m not en

    A sweet easy read. It held my interest until the end. I’m not entirely certain why this was in the comedy section of my book catalogue. It had a few humorous moments but I would not call it comedy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    wow

    this one had some twists to the storyline! :) good book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    great book

    I absolutely loved this book and can't wait to read the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    I loved this book.

    I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    Emotional and Humorous

    Donna McDonald's characters are emotional and so natural. I truly enjoyed the humor. I was either laughing or crying through out the whole story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Great Book!

    Liked the story and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much. How refreshing to read about mat

    I enjoyed this book very much. How refreshing to read about mature adults. I feel in love with both Will and Jessica and bought the next two books in the series about the relationships of
    Will's sons. Very good writer and good story development. Books one and three were definitely my favorites. I've purchased several more of Donna McDonald's books and am looking forward to reading them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyable series, had to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book. This is a story of family & love

    I truly enjoyed this book. This is a story of family & love & new beginnings. The humor in this book is just awesome all the players are passionate artist or teachers.
    I looking forward to next books in the series.
    Keep up the great work - can't wait to read more from you..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    I am reading the rest of the series they are all good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Great read....

    I have to say, this book was amazing to read. It made me mad, crazy, sad and most importantly laugh out loud like a crazy person! I haven't enjoyed reading a book this much in ages. Humor is very important and when an author gives you lovable characters, romance, excellent story line and humorous situations and interactions, the book is damn near perfect!

    I'm 35, so reading about teenage love or twenty one year olds gets pretty frustrating at times. People enjoy reading about characters close to their ages. Reading about a mature older couple that can still act and love like they are teenagers is quite adorable.

    Jessica was my favorite character, she was ballsy and tough. I loved her no nonsense, don't f*ck with me attitude! I gave the book 4 stars instead of the five it deserved because there were a few grammatical errors and that always takes away from the book. Other than that it was a fabulous read and I hope my sex life will be just as active and hot as Will and Jessica's when I reach my late 40s.

    SR

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Really enjoyed reading this book.  Had to buy the next in the se

    Really enjoyed reading this book.  Had to buy the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Good book

    500 pages good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Luke the younger man Ellen leaves Will for, add in two very hot

    Luke the younger man Ellen leaves Will for, add in two very hot ad yummy sons of Will and Ellen,
    Michael and Shane. Mix in a new fun loving woman Jessica who is moving on with her life after the
    loss of her husband and then a VERY life altering tragedy. And last but not least Carrie. The girl that
    Michael has loved for so long but never knew he had already had her.

    This group of fun loving artists/teachers will make your head spin. In this first book, Carved in Stone
    of the series Art of Love. All the characters you learn have their own quirks and stories to tell. But in
    this first book Will and Ellen have just become newly divorced after Ellen leaves Will for the young
    lawyer Luke. Will is still trying to get over Ellen. While Will is in the local couples diner he is
    approached by Jessica. A fun loving full of life red head that is the town flirt. Jessica brings out the
    good and the bad in Will and they soon discover they can't keep their minds and hands off each other.
    Men while Michael and Shane the oh so hot and helpful sons want their dad to be happy and move on
    with his life.
    So Michael and Shane decide to "update" their dad and do such a great job that low and behold, now
    Ellen wants Will back. Yeah its that kinda story lol. You never know where Donna is going to take you.
    Well at this point Jessica has finally decide to let her past life go and start a new with Will. Until Will not
    meaning to cause a problem steps into to it big time with Jessica. Not only during this time but all a long
    the youngest Shane has been writing a book about how crazy and quirky his family truly is. Then
    Michael is in for the shock or should I say shockS of his life. He has just found out al his womanizing
    has come to bite him in the butt. Only Michael can't seem to get his life on track with the one woman he
    truly loves. Carrie meanwhile has been through 2 husbands and has finally decided that she needs to
    set the record straight with Michael. Yeah see this book is full of twists and turns and you will NOT get
    bored just trying to keep up with who has done what and where they are headed.

    What a fun, crazy, eventful and loving family this is turning into. I REALLY enjoyed this book and can't
    wait to meet this author at Indie Con in Lebanon, Tn this October. She is truly a wonderful writer I had
    never heard of till I saw her name on the Indie Con list. What a find!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Strong characters

    Strong characters with a directness tgat is refreshing and funny. Love the banter and affection between father and sons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Humerious and funny!

    GREAT BOOK,funny family, over 500 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I got this book as a freebie and thought I would check it out.  

    I got this book as a freebie and thought I would check it out.  I've been reading a lot of dangerous heroes books - one after the other - and I needed a palate cleanser.  This book's hero is a man next door - older than the usual hero.  Such a nice, big bear of a guy with two grown sons.  They all have a great family dynamic.  All of the characters are down to earth and very easy to like.  It was a nice, quick read.  A nice, strong heroine - a good foil for him.  I recommend this very much.  (And although it was a freebie, I quickly bought the rest of the titles in the series - I want to see what happens with the hero's grown sons.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3