BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Carved in Bone (Body Farm Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(589)

4 Star

(562)

3 Star

(272)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a mu...
I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a must for you. Extreme technical accuracy. When we read book #5, I went out and bought the first four in the series and my wife and I devoured them one by one. It is not necessary to read them in sequence, but it will help as some events and characters are referred to downstream and come into play in subsequent stories (in a peripheral way). Start with Carved in Bone (#1), then Flesh & Bone, The Devil's Bones, Bones of Betrayal, The Bone Thief, then The Bone Yard (hardback as I write this). You won't be disappointed!

posted by Cuchillo on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A decent read especially for CSI fans

Carved In Bone is what every novel should be, a good story. Told in a linear, detailed fashion, this story does not leave you with unanswered questions or subplots that seem to veer off and dissipate. It does, however, have twists and turns that keep the story from bei...
Carved In Bone is what every novel should be, a good story. Told in a linear, detailed fashion, this story does not leave you with unanswered questions or subplots that seem to veer off and dissipate. It does, however, have twists and turns that keep the story from being bland and lifeless. Carved In Bone also has enough technical detail about bodies and the investigation process to assure the reader that the authors are quite knowledgeable in their studied profession, which leaves the reader to wonder which details are from actual investigations.

One might wonder, after reading my previous statements, why I would only rate this novel at three stars. In my opinion, the mediocre rating of this book stems from one flaw, over simplicity, that feeds other flaws, simple characters and simple plot.

Most characters in a novel are supposed to be simple. Their simplicity contrasts the complexity of the hero/heroin. However, in Carved In Bone, the main character is the most boring in the story. Perhaps this trait was intentional to make him more identifiable to the reader, but it made me wish the book was wrote in 3rd person rather than his point of view so I could learn more about the other, more interesting characters. It felt as though a highly intelligent professional character was "dumbed down" to keep the reader from disconnecting.

The plot, while a satisfying story, could have used more complexity. A simple, easy to follow story may be a bit boring those readers that are accustomed to mystery/crime novels. A little heavier use of foreshadowing and flashbacks would have seasoned this one nicely.

Just my thoughts.

posted by guitchess on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1614 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 81
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a must for you. Extreme technical accuracy. When we read book #5, I went out and bought the first four in the series and my wife and I devoured them one by one. It is not necessary to read them in sequence, but it will help as some events and characters are referred to downstream and come into play in subsequent stories (in a peripheral way). Start with Carved in Bone (#1), then Flesh & Bone, The Devil's Bones, Bones of Betrayal, The Bone Thief, then The Bone Yard (hardback as I write this). You won't be disappointed!

    23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    A decent read especially for CSI fans

    Carved In Bone is what every novel should be, a good story. Told in a linear, detailed fashion, this story does not leave you with unanswered questions or subplots that seem to veer off and dissipate. It does, however, have twists and turns that keep the story from being bland and lifeless. Carved In Bone also has enough technical detail about bodies and the investigation process to assure the reader that the authors are quite knowledgeable in their studied profession, which leaves the reader to wonder which details are from actual investigations.

    One might wonder, after reading my previous statements, why I would only rate this novel at three stars. In my opinion, the mediocre rating of this book stems from one flaw, over simplicity, that feeds other flaws, simple characters and simple plot.

    Most characters in a novel are supposed to be simple. Their simplicity contrasts the complexity of the hero/heroin. However, in Carved In Bone, the main character is the most boring in the story. Perhaps this trait was intentional to make him more identifiable to the reader, but it made me wish the book was wrote in 3rd person rather than his point of view so I could learn more about the other, more interesting characters. It felt as though a highly intelligent professional character was "dumbed down" to keep the reader from disconnecting.

    The plot, while a satisfying story, could have used more complexity. A simple, easy to follow story may be a bit boring those readers that are accustomed to mystery/crime novels. A little heavier use of foreshadowing and flashbacks would have seasoned this one nicely.

    Just my thoughts.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FEUDIN', FIGHTIN' AND FORENSIC DETAIL

    Actually, the name of the site at the University of Tennessee is the Anthropology Research Facility, but it's known to the world as 'Body Farm,' a nickname chosen by a Tennessee FBI agent and made famous by Patricia Cornwell's popular crime novel. The facility, a three acre site devoted to postmortem-decay research, was founded some 25 years ago by Dr. Bill Bass, renowned for his expertise in forensic anthropology. Now, in addition to his studies and the assistance he gives to law enforcement officials, Dr. Bass has teamed with journalist/filmmaker Jon Jefferson to pen a novel so loaded with forensic detail that some may decide to sleep with the lights on. This writing team wastes no time in snagging readers with a prologue detailing protagonist Bill Brockton's probing of a corpse with a hunting knife. After locating a space just behind the heart's lower chambers, '...I set the tip of the hunting knife there¿it snagged in the soft flesh¿then leaned in and began to push. It took more force than I'd expected......As my victim jerked and skidded from the force, a rib broke with the sound of a green tree branch splintering.' Definitely not a story for the squeamish or weak of heart. The graphic prologue is fair warning of descriptions to come as Brockton is called upon by Cooke County's sheriff Tom Kitchings to accompany him to a remote cave hidden in the Appalachian Mountains. This is a trip fraught with peril for Brockton as he suffers from vertigo and motion sickness. Nonetheless, his malaise is forgotten when he enters the cave and finds a mummified body on a rock ledge. Of course, there are many questions: is it a male or female? How long has the body been there and how did he/she die? Those familiar with forensic science will find much in Brockton's descriptions of adipocere (grave wax) which, evidently, leaves a corpse resembling a wax museum figure. The body is returned to the Body Farm, and the research begins. It's a challenge that both intrigues and baffles Brockton as even with his wide experience he has never seen anything like this before. Both affable and curious Brockton enjoys a challenge, but his investigation into this person's death is not all welcome among the residents of Appalachia, plus a jealous medical examiner throws roadblocks at every turn. In addition, Sheriff Kitchings, the all-powerful, chooses not to cooperate. Eventually, we learn of a long ago but not forgotten feud among the mountain people, but what really sets the narrative apart is copious forensic detail. Fans of this genre of crime fiction won't want to miss a word others may shiver and shudder a bit. - Gail Cooke

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Harriet klausner

    Once again harriet klausner ruins another book with her cliff note book report. Its bad enough with all the other plot spoilers, but with harriet leading the way they all think they can get away with revealing the entire book. Please bn, do something with harriet klausner and these other plot spoilers. Ban them and delete their posts.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!!

    I love all the books in this series. They are very well written forensic mysteries. If you love CSI, Bones, or any of the other "dead-body" tv shows, you will love this series of books!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    If you like your murder wrapped up in suspense you have to check this out

    For a first book, Carved in Bone has a great mix of information, murder, and edge-of-your-seat suspense. I downloaded the NOOKbook even though I had head the paperback... and I read it again on my nook. I look forward to downloading more from Bas.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting and informative

    I enjoyed reading this book, and it did have some exciting scenes in it. I also enjoyed learning some science behind it. However, there were two scenes that I found a bit unrealistic. The first is when Dr. Bill is looking for something during a re-autopsy, gets frustrated and uses his gloved hands to poke around the organ bag. (Hello, why not use the x-ray machine to see if it's even in the bag first...) The biggest No They Didn't is when Dr. Bill conducts a crime scene investigation with help from his undergrad and grad students. Seriously, a capital murder scene and there are NO professional CSIs in the entire state of TN who can work it? (so Hollywood!) Other than that, I enjoyed the book and would be interested in seeing more from this expert writing duo.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Im a very big reader. I always have to have something to read. So when i was searching for a new series i stumbled upon this one and decided to take a chance and read it. Im glad i did. Its very well written. Im now halfway through book 2 in the series and im exited to see what happens next! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed reading this book from the beginning. I finished it within two days. I agree with another poster- there were some moments that were not really believable, but other information that made me think about the way we study human life and death. Very interesting- I would recommend reading this book for enjoyment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    This book was AWESOME!!!! Loved it. I loved Dr. Bass' classes in college and this book series was the best Christmas present ever :) Could not put my nook down finished it in 2 days and that was with 4 kids running around the house on Christmas.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I couldn't get past the first 100 pages.

    While I think the author spent a lot of time researching the medical and geographic information for this book there are a lot of missed opportunities for any real character development. I found the relationships to all be strained and unbelievable and never really "liked" any of the characters. There was no real connection between them. After 100 pages I still didn't have much of a sense of what the narrator looked like which makes it hard for the reader to see themselves in the character and for the book to really bring them in. Besides giving years of the narrators history it was a while before I even had a real sense of his age. Also, it may just be me, but I've always found it cliche or tacky to reference other known authors works or movies within another work of fiction, if the reader doesn't know that text/movie then the reference is lost on them. I think this is okay maybe once in a book but this one does it several times and it gets rather annoying, personally. The author needs to spend more time on his character development and imagery instead of trying to force the reader into seeing what he wants them to by making vague references. SPOILER: This book lost me when the narrator mentioned having never had an inappropriate relationship with a student then 20 pages later goes on to have one. Too smoking gun and too predictable. Not to mention that scene with the student was very unrealistic. Who sits and cries about their dead ex-wife while holding a dead woman pelvis bone then makes out with a student? Oh and then his grad student JUST happens to walk in at that EXACT moment? I also think the whole "college professor / student" over used because, as I am sure it does happen on occasion, I think it's a very rare occurrence and as a college student I never found myself in this situation and never heard of it either. There are some typos and several parts where I think the author was intending to be elusive and create suspense but I had to stop and see if I'd accidentally skipped a page. Overall I think this could really use another revision.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Great book

    Wow so good to read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Excellent

    Well written and entertaining. Actually much better than the Scarpetta books.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    I was going to purchase this ebook for a friend--until I saw tha

    I was going to purchase this ebook for a friend--until I saw that the ebook costs MORE than the paperback. Sorry, but an ebook should NOT cost more than an actual physical book. I think I'll get her the paperback...elsewhere.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Good Read

    This is a solid free nookbook read, definitely worth more than both the price I didn't pay in money ($0)and the price I paid in time (a few hours). The terminology of forensics used was clearly explained for the non-anthropologist reader. You cannot go wrong as it is free and entertaining. There are several books in this series; no doubt Barnes & Noble offered this one gratis to lure readers into buying the others (which I haven't read). I may read more in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    If you like Bones you'll love this series

    Excellent writing and plot lines.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Bdgdgdbdhdbd

    bibgjhnhbffbnndbdv shs hsgd hs dhw hyd d

    1 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    review

    This is the second book I have read and enjoyed it.If you like details of interest with a good murder plot you need to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Fantastic book

    This was a wonderful book full or excitement and intrigue and mystery! Loved reading about a character who is flawed and has had hardship and must find his way out. Cant wait to read the next book

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1614 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 81