Customer Reviews for

Carved in Bone (Body Farm Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1606 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(589)

4 Star

(562)

3 Star

(272)

2 Star

(89)

1 Star

(94)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down

I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a mu...
I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a must for you. Extreme technical accuracy. When we read book #5, I went out and bought the first four in the series and my wife and I devoured them one by one. It is not necessary to read them in sequence, but it will help as some events and characters are referred to downstream and come into play in subsequent stories (in a peripheral way). Start with Carved in Bone (#1), then Flesh & Bone, The Devil's Bones, Bones of Betrayal, The Bone Thief, then The Bone Yard (hardback as I write this). You won't be disappointed!

posted by Cuchillo on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A decent read especially for CSI fans

Carved In Bone is what every novel should be, a good story. Told in a linear, detailed fashion, this story does not leave you with unanswered questions or subplots that seem to veer off and dissipate. It does, however, have twists and turns that keep the story from bei...
Carved In Bone is what every novel should be, a good story. Told in a linear, detailed fashion, this story does not leave you with unanswered questions or subplots that seem to veer off and dissipate. It does, however, have twists and turns that keep the story from being bland and lifeless. Carved In Bone also has enough technical detail about bodies and the investigation process to assure the reader that the authors are quite knowledgeable in their studied profession, which leaves the reader to wonder which details are from actual investigations.

One might wonder, after reading my previous statements, why I would only rate this novel at three stars. In my opinion, the mediocre rating of this book stems from one flaw, over simplicity, that feeds other flaws, simple characters and simple plot.

Most characters in a novel are supposed to be simple. Their simplicity contrasts the complexity of the hero/heroin. However, in Carved In Bone, the main character is the most boring in the story. Perhaps this trait was intentional to make him more identifiable to the reader, but it made me wish the book was wrote in 3rd person rather than his point of view so I could learn more about the other, more interesting characters. It felt as though a highly intelligent professional character was "dumbed down" to keep the reader from disconnecting.

The plot, while a satisfying story, could have used more complexity. A simple, easy to follow story may be a bit boring those readers that are accustomed to mystery/crime novels. A little heavier use of foreshadowing and flashbacks would have seasoned this one nicely.

Just my thoughts.

posted by guitchess on January 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 562 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    FEUDIN', FIGHTIN' AND FORENSIC DETAIL

    Actually, the name of the site at the University of Tennessee is the Anthropology Research Facility, but it's known to the world as 'Body Farm,' a nickname chosen by a Tennessee FBI agent and made famous by Patricia Cornwell's popular crime novel. The facility, a three acre site devoted to postmortem-decay research, was founded some 25 years ago by Dr. Bill Bass, renowned for his expertise in forensic anthropology. Now, in addition to his studies and the assistance he gives to law enforcement officials, Dr. Bass has teamed with journalist/filmmaker Jon Jefferson to pen a novel so loaded with forensic detail that some may decide to sleep with the lights on. This writing team wastes no time in snagging readers with a prologue detailing protagonist Bill Brockton's probing of a corpse with a hunting knife. After locating a space just behind the heart's lower chambers, '...I set the tip of the hunting knife there¿it snagged in the soft flesh¿then leaned in and began to push. It took more force than I'd expected......As my victim jerked and skidded from the force, a rib broke with the sound of a green tree branch splintering.' Definitely not a story for the squeamish or weak of heart. The graphic prologue is fair warning of descriptions to come as Brockton is called upon by Cooke County's sheriff Tom Kitchings to accompany him to a remote cave hidden in the Appalachian Mountains. This is a trip fraught with peril for Brockton as he suffers from vertigo and motion sickness. Nonetheless, his malaise is forgotten when he enters the cave and finds a mummified body on a rock ledge. Of course, there are many questions: is it a male or female? How long has the body been there and how did he/she die? Those familiar with forensic science will find much in Brockton's descriptions of adipocere (grave wax) which, evidently, leaves a corpse resembling a wax museum figure. The body is returned to the Body Farm, and the research begins. It's a challenge that both intrigues and baffles Brockton as even with his wide experience he has never seen anything like this before. Both affable and curious Brockton enjoys a challenge, but his investigation into this person's death is not all welcome among the residents of Appalachia, plus a jealous medical examiner throws roadblocks at every turn. In addition, Sheriff Kitchings, the all-powerful, chooses not to cooperate. Eventually, we learn of a long ago but not forgotten feud among the mountain people, but what really sets the narrative apart is copious forensic detail. Fans of this genre of crime fiction won't want to miss a word others may shiver and shudder a bit. - Gail Cooke

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful read!!

    I love all the books in this series. They are very well written forensic mysteries. If you love CSI, Bones, or any of the other "dead-body" tv shows, you will love this series of books!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    If you like your murder wrapped up in suspense you have to check this out

    For a first book, Carved in Bone has a great mix of information, murder, and edge-of-your-seat suspense. I downloaded the NOOKbook even though I had head the paperback... and I read it again on my nook. I look forward to downloading more from Bas.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    Im a very big reader. I always have to have something to read. So when i was searching for a new series i stumbled upon this one and decided to take a chance and read it. Im glad i did. Its very well written. Im now halfway through book 2 in the series and im exited to see what happens next! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Enjoyable read

    I enjoyed reading this book from the beginning. I finished it within two days. I agree with another poster- there were some moments that were not really believable, but other information that made me think about the way we study human life and death. Very interesting- I would recommend reading this book for enjoyment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    review

    This is the second book I have read and enjoyed it.If you like details of interest with a good murder plot you need to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    I got this when it was free and I am impressed. It's not something I'd normall read but I liked this book. Those into forensics would enjoy this book I think. Likeable characters and a good storyline. A good book and I just might read the other "Body Farm" books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    hi

    i dont know whats is about

    1 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Good read

    Great book for fans of murder and mystery. Reminiscent of Kathy Reichs novels. The forensic details don't bog down the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    Good Read

    Classic thriller, along the lines of Patricia Cornwell. Just not quite there yet ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Excellent mystery, well worth the time

    It was a good read, I really enjoyed it,it had good flow with no slow spots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Very good story...very interesting characters

    I became a Jefferson Bass fan after reading this book and I got the second book in the series. The characters are believable and the storytelling keeps you turning the pages. The main character, Dr. Bill Brockton, is intelligent, humorous and very human. I highly recommend the book to people who don't mind a little gore and enjoy a well-told tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Solij

    Thugh iu

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    attention grabbing

    believable characters,fascinating story. made me want to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Very entertaining - I recommend it. Good choice for my very first e-book!

    Since my husband and I had recently visited Tennessee, I was very familiar with the locales in the book. The Great Smoky Mountains was an apt setting for the story. Although he could have stereotyped the "mountain people," Bass gave a balanced representation of all characters. I learned a lot about forensic anthropology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Good

    This is the 2nd Body Farm series book I've read and enjoyed just as much as the 1st, although I ended up reading them out of sequence by taking advantage of B&N "Spotlight" or "Daily Deal". That did not take away from my enjoyment of either. Good mystery, good humor and morals. I recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Very good!

    I really like this series a lot. I've already read book two. The author writes a good mystery and lots of informative and interesting forensic details without getting gory. Or scary, don't like scary. II'll continue to read the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Not a stay-up-all-night-reading book, but very close

    I really liked this book. I normally read sci-fi fantasy or dystopia type books but I wanted to change it up. (They are all kind of the same after you read so many). I didn't stay up until 1am reading (which is pretty rare, it has to be an exceptional book for that) but I was very interested and it actually had surprises I didn't expect. Bormally I can guess who the bad guy is pretty early in the book but this book kept me on my toes. A definite good read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Pretty good

    For the most part I really enjoyed this book. It was well written with good character development. At times though I felt like there was just a bunch of rambling on and found myself temporarily board at thede points in the book. Still it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    I started this series Monday and found myself quickly caught up

    I started this series Monday and found myself quickly caught up in Dr. Brockton's world. The characters are well developed, the imagery is well laid, and while some of the descriptions can get a little lengthy, I can clearly see in my mind's eye what the characters are about. The humor is intelligent and relevant - I am driving my husband mad laughing out loud after he's drifted off to sleep at night. Having a hard time putting them down and am chewing through the entire series fairly quickly. Being raised in close proximity to the locations in these stories, I can tell you the technical descriptions of the locations, people, and cultures are spot on track. This series is on the same par of writers of Bones, Rizzoli & Isles, Scarpetta. If you like any of the murder mystery genre (Comwell, Reichs, Gerritsen, et cetera) you will enjoy these stories immensely. Happy Reading !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 562 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 29