Customer Reviews for

Cary Grant: A Biography

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2011

    Good read!

    I enjoyed the book. It was easy to read and I learned alot about Cary Grant that I didn't know. There was alot of info about the movies he made and who he made them with. If you are a movie buff you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2007

    A Book that shows only the Dark Side of Cary

    It took me awhile to get into reading this book because the first part of the book was disturbing to me. But, I finally pushed past it and read the entire book which was one dark moment after another. This book did not show much else. So, one can either assume that Cary Grant was a very disturbed individual, or that he couldn't stand the media and showed and told only the bad stuff of his life. The book is mostly a filmography with the bad things that went with each movie, including his relationships.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Fascinating look at a complex man

    Cary Grant excelled in playing characters who you weren't sure if you could - or should - trust. Alfred Hitchcock's "North by Northwest" and "Suspicion," and Stanley Donen's "Charade" are prime examples. His background lent itself perfectly to those roles. Cary Grant once said "Everybody wants to be Cary Grant. Even I want to be Cary Grant." This biography by Marc Eliot looks at Cary Grant, who changed his name from Archibald Leach, his complicated personal life, his movies, his break from the studios, and at those who knew and loved him. The book is a great read for a behind the scenes look at a man we all think we know ... but who is far different than his portrayal on the silver screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Marc Eliot Biography

    Marc Eliot's Cary Grant biography is a good read if you are interested in getting to know the person behind the person that is Cary Grant. A fairly quick read for a biography, Eliot's version of the movie star's life gives just enough information to satisfy, but is not the first place I'd turn to if I needed this for a research paper or anything of the sort. Also, I was constantly annoyed by the poor editting of the book. Some dates were not proprly lined up, and there were constant puncuation problems and misused words; A sign that maybe Eliot didn't do HIS research after all. Also, a sign he needs a new edittor! But, despite the small bits of the book that lacked in consistancy and professionalism, this is, I have to say, the best Cary Grant Biography I've ever read and this is the one I'd recomend to others who were interested in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Is this the real Cary Grant?

    Eliot does go into painstaking detail that somewhat humanizes Grant into a believable person. However, his multiple assertions about Grant's bisexuality goes on ad-nauseaum...with no concrete proof other than to say "everybody knew about it." Grant's wife, Betsy Drake had only this to say when questioned about Grant's bi-sexuality..."I don't know how he could be, we were too busy F____ing." So, this part about the book knawed at me a bit. Otherwise, Grant was still given his "due" and place as the Hollywood man's man and consummate professional...worth buying and reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Outstanding

    I truly enjoyable reading. Learned a lot about the almost mythical Hollywood ledgend. Great insight into the life of a very private man.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    Just the facts, Ma'am

    This book clears up some questions and fills in some gaps but as other readers have commented, it does not reveal the essence of the man. Overall, I found it interesting but not required reading for the Cary Grant fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    He comes to bury Grant

    While fairly well written, the information is superficial at best. Anyone looking for an in-depth study of the man will not find it here. Many of the passages seem speculative and biased against the subject of the book, based on recollections of uncorroborated individuals. There is also the puzzling recitation of every major Grant movie plot-line which one would presume anyone reading this book would already know. Any Cary Grant fan would be better off re-watching some of his classic performances than reading this book. They will be more satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2004

    Full of detail, but comes up empty

    This highly readable biography of formidable film star Cary Grant chronicles plenty of facts about his life and career, but never seems to reach the soul of the man. Author Marc Eliot discusses early family traumas and deals frankly with the homosexual lifestyle Grant followed in his twenties and thirties, yet is puzzlingly silent as to why the actor apparently abandoned interest in men as he got older. We also get little insight into the origins of his miserliness or the surprising stubbornness (and courage) he showed in bucking the studio contract system. The book is well-written and involving, but in the end, to this reviewer at least, Archie Leach (aka Cary Grant) remains a mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2