Customer Reviews for

The Case for Christ

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have read validating Christianity.

You know those nagging little doubts that your new-age neighbor keeps planting in your mind about Christianity? Well, this book has the answers to those qestions and more, and all from EXPERTS in their field, not just some guy who wrote a book. The author writes in an e...
You know those nagging little doubts that your new-age neighbor keeps planting in your mind about Christianity? Well, this book has the answers to those qestions and more, and all from EXPERTS in their field, not just some guy who wrote a book. The author writes in an easy-to-read manner that leads you right through the chapters. He covers all the major questions from "Did Jesus really die?" to "So why are there discrepancies in the various gospels," He goes through the scientific studies--archeology studies--psychiatric studies, etc. and gathers his information from people who really know what they're talking about. This is a book I have already given away and am orderig a couple more to have on hand as a witnessing tool. A great book. I recommend it to anyone who has doubts about the validity of Christianity, and to those who are Christans--it only deepens your faith.

posted by shoer on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Case for Christ not all it is cracked up to be try reading the scholars yourself instead of accepting Strobel's interpretations

Come on, this book is fluff. No critic of Christianity is interviewed so Strobel controls the 'courtroom'. The author implies that the Biblical scholars he interviews represent the only credible opinions in the Christian scholarly community. They are not. M...
Come on, this book is fluff. No critic of Christianity is interviewed so Strobel controls the 'courtroom'. The author implies that the Biblical scholars he interviews represent the only credible opinions in the Christian scholarly community. They are not. Moreover, often his sources do not represent the mainstream of scholarly thought. Anyone who has faith in Christ based on the assumptions of Strobel's book is in for a hard fall if they do any more reading in the field of New Testament studies or Historical Jesus Studies. This is what troubles me most. It is like sending someone rock climbing with those fake 'c' clips people use for key chains. To a novice they look like they will support weight but any expert climber knows they will fail under climbing conditions. This book is simply not the real deal. It is not subjected to blind critical review and in fact it is not very critical at all. It does not hold up under true scholarly critical 'climbing conditions'. There are some books written by Christian scholars that do. Let me recommend two: Jesus, A Gospel Portrait by Donald Senior and An Introduction to the Gospels by Mitchell Reddish both are scholarly and easy to read.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Weak and unconvincing

    Strobel may have been a good legal investigative reporter, but his quest to make a case "for Christ" falls short in many respects. First, he confuses "the balance of probabilities" with "beyond reasonable doubt". Second, the pseudo approach of interviewing "authorities" demonstrates his weakness to ask probing questions (he is trying hard enough to convince the reader that he does by saying so repeatedly, but a repeated wrong does not make it a right). Third, he accepts evasive answers without following up. The list of failings is a long one - starting off with the omission to ask the following question: why are there (at least) four gospels? What did the second find wrong with the first, the third with the first two, and the fourth with the other three?

    Strobel's "case" is weak, and instead of conducting a proper investigation, he follows a course that has been developed backwards from the end result. Any objective reader - and this is the audience that he wants to address - will not only find fault with Strobel's entire approach, but also the ease with which he skips over unexplained gaps, contradictions, and errors.

    In conclusion: I would never opt for Strobel as my defense attorney. My conviction would be virtually guaranteed since even a weak jury would be able to see through his smoke screen.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    The Case For Christ

    I was raised catholic and am 41. I have always wanted a more in depth confirmation of the FACTS surrounding Jesus' life. This book brought me back to church ( a bible church, though). It is a must read for anyone questioning their faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Truth cannot be denied!!!

    This is a wonderful read - full of truth, with every detail backed-up with tangible evidence that can easily be confirmed. This book is a true compliment to anyone's faith in Jesus Christ as well as those who have not yet come to trust Jesus as their Savior.

    If I were not a believer in Jesus, I'd imagine this book would have been the inspiration for me knowing the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2008

    Life changing!

    While flipping channels, I saw Lee Strobel on television and found the topic of his book, A Case for Christ extremely interesting. Later, when I was at a book store browsing for a birthday gift, I came upon Strobel¿s book and bought it. This book changed my life by bridging the gap between my analytical intellect and my belief in Christianity. Reading A Case for Christ calmed my religious confusion, and pointed me in a new direction to continue my religious journey. My doubts as to what to believe were eliminated and I now enjoy my faith with out feeling like I¿m compromising my intelligence. Thanks Lee!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    One sided but good

    Strobel does a good job of presenting the evidence for Christ his book is a very useful tool to have. However, he completely leaves out the opposing arguement giving a useful yet one sided story. This makes the book far less valuable than it could be. Obviously Strobel thought that Christianity was far more convincing than his original atheism (I agree) but he never deconstructed the atheistic arguement. Perhaps he was writing this book to atheists especially (some of the group study questions at the end of each chapter suggests this) it is sold with the title The Case for Christ and in a real criminal trial both sides are considered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    If you open your mind you'll see it...

    Lee Strobel does an excellent job of stripping away many of the common arguments made against Jesus being who the Bible claims He was/is. Of course, some people will refuse to ever open their minds to this possibility, but Strobel's logic and thoroughness (although no book can exhaustively explore the topic) convincingly make the case for Christ. I find Strobel's exploration especially convincing because he was formerly an adamant atheist. His past gives his writing great insight into the minds of doubters and unbelievers, which makes it all the more convincing. Of course, in the end, it all comes down to faith - belief in the unseen, but at least Strobel shows his readers that people who possess such a faith can also base it on mountains of solid logic and history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    Well Written

    I have nearly worn out a paperback copy in the time that I've had this book. The chapter covering the death of Jesus is very well done and brought tears to my eyes as I read about what Jesus went through for me and you. Read it with an open mind - open to the thought that traditional values may not necessarily be wrong or bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    Christainity has much more to offer as Proof than this:(

    As A former atheist I would have to recomend looking at better sources for proofe of Christs Diety. Although this book was not terriably written it was not 'a Slam Dunk' 'I don't Have enough Faith to be an Atheist' was much better written, however I would urge any former atheists(like myself) to look to more solid proofs for the existance of the one true God and his son Christ who died for our sins.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2005

    Solid research, solid writing

    Strobel presents a series of interviews with respected experts in their fields. Strobel asks good, tough questions and demands honest answers. This is a very good book of evidence discovery and disclosure, and it makes the case.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    informational read

    Strobel takes the basic topics that people us to discredit Christ and he goes where he has to so that he can prove that the bible is right and the skeptics are wrong

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    The Case is easy to read but lacks some depth

    The Case for Christ was a very interesting novel about a journalist¿s (Lee Strobel) search for the truth about the figure of Jesus Christ. In order to do this in a fashion in which most people would accept, he interviewed several experts in the subject he was investigating. He went to scholars and professors at several different universities and study groups to find facts about the prophecies of Christ, His resurrection, His crucifixion, objections to the life of Christ, and several other key factors to dispute, about the man of Christ. Though Strobel investigates in a new and interesting manner, there are flaws to his method. The first flaw is the fact that before every interview, Strobel must take two to four paragraphs to show the credibility of each interviewee. Though this is a necessary section of each interview there are so many different interviewees that it is difficult because credibility facts interrupt the arguments for each point. These facts may be necessary to establish the credibility of the witness, but I think it would have been wise to give us all the credibility facts either at the end or the beginning of the book. Even though there are ways to improve the style of writing for this particular purpose I believe Strobel¿s ¿interrogation¿ of each individual expert results in several points that can no longer be disputed. One example of this is the interview with Dr. Alexander Metherell, which brought about the scientific evidence that Jesus did in fact die in the cross, which refutes the swoon theory of Jesus¿ resurrection. Not only does Strobel present evidence well in The Case for Christ, but he also does it in such a manner that each interview compliments the previous to give the book a smooth rhythm or flow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Evidence that I can understand

    I've been a born again Christian for many years, but always wondered about the true evidence that supports my faith. Lee Strobel investigated and collected that evidence, and presents it in layman's terms.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2004

    AWESOME BOOK FOR CHRISTIAN APOLOGETICS!

    This is a great book for Christian apologetics! I was assigned to read this book in class, and i actually read it, that's how interesting it is. This book provides great explanations and theories for certain questions one might have concerning the validity of the scriptures. If after reading this book, one does not believe in the veracity of the Bible, that person is just stubborn. It is hard not to realize the Truth found in the Bible and in Jesus Christ.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    good reading

    Good book. readers should also read, Born again try again, by F Tontodonati and compare them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Great Book

    This book is great for non-believers who want to know who Jesus is. It is also good for believers so that they can they can renew their faith with God, if they have felt something on their heart that they needed to set right with God.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2003

    How can I believe in God?

    Great book for the person who is not sure if God is real .Auther was out to prove God does not exist and found overwhelming evedence that he does!Easy to read .Reads like a mistery novel , packed with facts from many experts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    Awesome Book for Non-believers

    Lee Stroble's book has become my second favorite book next to the Bible. I have a library of over 100 Christian books, and non of them has done for me what this book did. It answered for me difficult questions I have thought of, and went beyond that to answer questions which did not even cross my mind. Imagine if you could interview experts in the fields of psychology, archeology,theology, and history? What would you ask them concerning the life and teachings of Jesus Christ? Some of these men have dedicated their entire LIVES to answering these questions for you. I honestly believe with all my heart that if someone is an atheist or agnostic and is a TRUE skeptic, after reading this book he or she will fall down on their knees and dedicate their life to Jesus Christ. But if they will approach it with arrogamnt defiance like some of these previous reviewers did, you will walk away with nothing. The door of heaven is low, you must be humble and kneal to enter it. I suggest you purchase the 6-pack for all your friends and save money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    One Great Book

    This book only stood to strengthen my faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. I would recommend this book to anyone, especially those in need of Jesus the most. This book really made me realize what an impact Jesus Christ had on the whole world, not just Christians and those who believe. Check this book out, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    Relevant

    Given the recent discovery of the name of Jesus on an ossuary (the first extra-biblical evidence for the existence of Jesus of Nazareth), THE CASE FOR CHRIST is more relevant that ever. Was Jesus an ordinary man with extra-ordinary influence? Was he a charasmatic figure with an unusual ability to draw attention? Or was he, in fact, God in the form of man? THE CASE FOR CHRIST plunges head-first into these vital questions and gives exacting answers that cannot be ignored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Fantastic!

    I have recently finished reading this book, and absolutely loved his style, and how simple he made it for even the lay person to grasp. I learned alot, it strengthened my faith, and gave me more ammunition to fire back (with love) at those who don't believe. I even got my brother a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5