Customer Reviews for

The Case for Christ: A Journalist's Personal Investigation of the Evidence for Jesus

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I have read validating Christianity.

You know those nagging little doubts that your new-age neighbor keeps planting in your mind about Christianity? Well, this book has the answers to those qestions and more, and all from EXPERTS in their field, not just some guy who wrote a book. The author writes in an e...
You know those nagging little doubts that your new-age neighbor keeps planting in your mind about Christianity? Well, this book has the answers to those qestions and more, and all from EXPERTS in their field, not just some guy who wrote a book. The author writes in an easy-to-read manner that leads you right through the chapters. He covers all the major questions from "Did Jesus really die?" to "So why are there discrepancies in the various gospels," He goes through the scientific studies--archeology studies--psychiatric studies, etc. and gathers his information from people who really know what they're talking about. This is a book I have already given away and am orderig a couple more to have on hand as a witnessing tool. A great book. I recommend it to anyone who has doubts about the validity of Christianity, and to those who are Christans--it only deepens your faith.

posted by shoer on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Case for Christ not all it is cracked up to be try reading the scholars yourself instead of accepting Strobel's interpretations

Come on, this book is fluff. No critic of Christianity is interviewed so Strobel controls the 'courtroom'. The author implies that the Biblical scholars he interviews represent the only credible opinions in the Christian scholarly community. They are not. M...
Come on, this book is fluff. No critic of Christianity is interviewed so Strobel controls the 'courtroom'. The author implies that the Biblical scholars he interviews represent the only credible opinions in the Christian scholarly community. They are not. Moreover, often his sources do not represent the mainstream of scholarly thought. Anyone who has faith in Christ based on the assumptions of Strobel's book is in for a hard fall if they do any more reading in the field of New Testament studies or Historical Jesus Studies. This is what troubles me most. It is like sending someone rock climbing with those fake 'c' clips people use for key chains. To a novice they look like they will support weight but any expert climber knows they will fail under climbing conditions. This book is simply not the real deal. It is not subjected to blind critical review and in fact it is not very critical at all. It does not hold up under true scholarly critical 'climbing conditions'. There are some books written by Christian scholars that do. Let me recommend two: Jesus, A Gospel Portrait by Donald Senior and An Introduction to the Gospels by Mitchell Reddish both are scholarly and easy to read.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best books I have read validating Christianity.

    You know those nagging little doubts that your new-age neighbor keeps planting in your mind about Christianity? Well, this book has the answers to those qestions and more, and all from EXPERTS in their field, not just some guy who wrote a book. The author writes in an easy-to-read manner that leads you right through the chapters. He covers all the major questions from "Did Jesus really die?" to "So why are there discrepancies in the various gospels," He goes through the scientific studies--archeology studies--psychiatric studies, etc. and gathers his information from people who really know what they're talking about. This is a book I have already given away and am orderig a couple more to have on hand as a witnessing tool. A great book. I recommend it to anyone who has doubts about the validity of Christianity, and to those who are Christans--it only deepens your faith.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    INCREDIBLE! STRENGTHENED MY FAITH TREMENDOUSLY!

    This book was recommended to me by my father. I am only half way done, and it has already changed my life. Prior to reading this book, I have had a strong faith, but in college I am constantly being bashed and mocked for my beliefs. Now that I have read this book, I have received a new sense of confidence and courage to stand up for what i believe in. This book has evidence that proofs Christianity true from multiple perspectives: science, psychology, history, archeology, and secular findings. It also provides tons of explanations to increase the readers understanding of the topic at hand. I loved this book so much, and I think that it has truly strengthened my faith even more. I am so thankful for this book and for Lee Strobel, the author. It is a must read if you are a Christian or Non-Christian!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    Gives concrete proof. Amazing book.

    I am a person that needs concrete proof in order to believe something is true. This book DEFINITELY gives you that. It comes from an Atheist. Because of this, he will not be bias and will tell you exactly what he finds. This book will really helps people understand Christianity and be able to have proof that the events in the Bible actually happened. It helped me tremendously with my faith. This is an amazing book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2003

    Case for Christ not all it is cracked up to be try reading the scholars yourself instead of accepting Strobel's interpretations

    Come on, this book is fluff. No critic of Christianity is interviewed so Strobel controls the 'courtroom'. The author implies that the Biblical scholars he interviews represent the only credible opinions in the Christian scholarly community. They are not. Moreover, often his sources do not represent the mainstream of scholarly thought. Anyone who has faith in Christ based on the assumptions of Strobel's book is in for a hard fall if they do any more reading in the field of New Testament studies or Historical Jesus Studies. This is what troubles me most. It is like sending someone rock climbing with those fake 'c' clips people use for key chains. To a novice they look like they will support weight but any expert climber knows they will fail under climbing conditions. This book is simply not the real deal. It is not subjected to blind critical review and in fact it is not very critical at all. It does not hold up under true scholarly critical 'climbing conditions'. There are some books written by Christian scholars that do. Let me recommend two: Jesus, A Gospel Portrait by Donald Senior and An Introduction to the Gospels by Mitchell Reddish both are scholarly and easy to read.

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2005

    Interesting Read

    Interesting book if you are a person with an inquiring mind and a detective/investigative-type personality.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    On the Case

    To anyone who thinks this is a good book, here's a dare. Read it again after familiarizing yourself with logical fallacies: ad hominem, straw man, red herring, and such. Here's another: oodles of legitimate, professional scholarship on historicity is available to you. Read that.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    Jesus lives

    The title of the book 'The Case For Christ' nails down many facts about Christ. I was looking for more facts to help me spark the unbeliever as well as reaffirm my own faith. This book obviously cannot address every concept that its attackers would like to use to discredit its quality however it does present many undeniable facts that support that fact that Jesus lives.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Didn't Convince Me At all- I'm still atheist

    Again another book that can't cite proof of Christian claims outside the Bible. I admit that I read this book hoping to read, hear, or see that one thing that would convince me that Jesus is real and that there is a God. This book failed to do so. It gave some reasonable evidence but nothing that couldn't be refuted by pure logic and reason. I really doubt that Lee Strobel was ever atheist because no one who lived a life of logic and reason and scientific method would just toss it all away to live a life of blind obedience to a god he can not prove exists.

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An objective investigation for the Non-believer.

    The author, himself an avowed atheist, tracks down learned experts in their field, as he investigates the evidence concerning the case for Christ's existence or nonexistence. He cross-examines each scholar in his attempt to disprove the deity, and history of Christ, but finds overwhelming evidence to the contrary, and in the process discovers his life touched by the Son of God. The author's tough questions challenge each scholar he encounters to produce undeniable evidence of their positions on the truth of Jesus, His birth, His death, and His resurrection. This book reads like a captivating novel that continually puts the reader on the edge of his seat, and challenges him to question hos own beliefs about Christianity. The author also poses questions at the end of each interview for the reader to consider in his judgment of the information which has been propounded from the questions asked, and at the end of this riveting drama, inquires as to what the reader intends to do with the information presented. He asks in the end, "What will be your verdict in the Case for Christ?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Good Book Regardless Your Religious (or non-religious) Views

    In writing my own book about Jesus, I asked from the very beginning, 'Who is this man who claims he talked with God directly? Am I wasting my time following a madman?" "Which god was Jesus experinecing? So many religions and prophets, with so many conflicting claims. which messenger can we trust?"

    I do not agree with the concept of God that Lee Strobel has. One can read the Bible and come away with very different perceptions of exactly who/what this God really is. Is he a local God we created when we were ignorant of how the natural world functioned? Is he a product of our superstitions? Was he created within our galaxy? Is God an alien visitor with higher intelligence, just passing through on an intergalactic ship? Did God come into being at the very moment of creation? Or are we part of a multi-verse, where Universes come and go, and all atoms are simply God's box of crayola crayons to be experimented with? What is a soul?

    Many questions are not answered in this book. I do not agree with all this author believes in. I do not believe that souls go to heaven or hell, or that all can be forgiven if one just follows the rules: to be Baptised or not, to circumcize or not, to eat the meat but don't worship the cow, or worship the cow but don't eat the meat...so in spite of Strobel's best intentions, we still cannot take everything in the Bible on blind faith. There are simply too many contradictions.

    Christianity is a belief system - not a knowledge system. The idea of trying to prove everything occurred in the Bible exactly as it is written is a false foundation because everything that is written can be interpreted in many ways, or written in different ways during different times by different men. If they were all experiencing the same God, they would have written the same answers each time. They didn't.

    My own independent research has led me to very different conclusions about the Bible, and so I have become a strange sort of self-created Christian (with Buddhist underpinnings) who believes that Jesus is unique and had something important to say, but not necessarily messages that we are correctly understanding.

    I think this is a well-thought out and researched book worthy of reading if only because we will learn more about the life of Jesus.

    I spent years in India and Central Asia to follow the trail of Jesus there. I came away from the experience with a profound new respect and admiration for the man Jesus. I may not have arrived at the same conclusions as Lee Strobel about the meaning behind Jesus' life and death, but we have both come away from our investigations with a deep and abiding love and respect for the man Jesus.

    Christianity is the largest religion on earth, and is the fastest growing. This book will be an affirmation of faith for many, and an interesting biography about Jesus for non-Christian readers.

    I do recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Not Convincing

    I'm an Atheist with Christian friends. During a discussion with one of them I asked if there was one book I should read, outside of the Bible, which would explain the Christian point of view what would it be? He suggested The Case for Christ by Lee Strobel. After reading over half of the book I found I was not able to make myself complete it. It is full of so many logical fallacies that it could probably be used as an example of how not to think logically. Additionally, if you check all of the people he interviewed, they are all pro christian which contradicts the authors claim of neutrality in his "investigation". What would have been more impressive is if evidence could be found by both Christian and Secular sources that come to the same conclusion. Unfortunately that is not included in this book. I admit, I picked this book up with high hopes for a logical, well thought out discussion on the real world evidence for the existence of a historical Jesus as written about in the Bible. Unfortunately, I've found myself to be sorely disappointed. If you are already a believer, or even on the fence on the subject, this book will be great for you. If you are a non-believer, than this book won't do much to change your point of view.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    this is a book I have in my permanent library and will also purchase for my Nook

    I have actually had this book for quite a while, but never got around to reading it. Why? Not sure. It just never seemed to appeal to me at the time of my choosing a new book. But, I guess when the time was right, I needed a new book, and it seemed the right time to read it. So, I pulled it from my bookshelf and started. I decided I would read it for Lent, hoping it would help me tighten my bond with God. At first, I found it a little hard to get into. But, a short time into the book, I was hooked. This stuff was well-written and made SENSE! It did strengthen my own beliefs and answered some things for me that had caused to me to doubt my faith sometimes. Also, I finally had actual FACTS which I could use to answer some of the comments made by non-believers. Next year, this is the book our Small Faith Community will read and discuss each month. Also, other Christian friends have been convinced to read this. I am so happy that I have been successful in encouraging others to read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    A CASE FOR ANYTHING TO BACK UP CHRISTIANITY

    I WAS EXCITED TO HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO READ A BOOK BY SOMEONE WHO I THOUGHT, WAS A TOTALLY IMPARTIAL JOURNALIST TRYING TO GET TO THE ROOT OF CHRISTIANITY. I FOUND THE BOOK WRITTEN ON A VERY NIAIVE LEVEL AND IT MAY APPEAL TO ANYONE WHO IS ALREADY A BELIEVER AND WANTS THEIR POINT OF VIEW VALIDATED. IT DID NOT GO INTO DETAIL ON THE POINTS MADE AND WHEN THE 'EXPERTS'(WHO WERE ANYTHING BUT IMPARTIAL AND HAD AN OBVIOUS AGENDA TO PROMOTE THEIR IDEA OF CHRISTIANITY) WERE QUESTIONED WITH MR STROBELS' DOUBTS, HE MERELY ACCEPTS EVERY POINT AS BEING 100% PROOF OF THE DIVINE. IF YOU ARE AGNOSTIC OR HAVING DOUBTS ABOUT THE FOUNDATION OF CHRISTIANITY, YOU WILL NOT FIND THE ANSWERS YOU NEED FROM THIS BOOK.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Quite what I expected...

    This book was exactly what I expected it to be. All it did was offer different 'christian possibilities', and point at some holes that science can't currently fill. It offered no proof for Christianity or Christ, whatsoever. It is simply here if you are a half believer, or want to believe in christian myythology for some reason, and need some pseudo-science to somehow justify yourself... if that is you, this book will be very enjoyable, because it offers nothing concrete, in any sense of the word.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    Recommended with supplements

    I really enjoyed this book and actually, due to the overwhelming amount of information it presents, am in the process of reading it again. I do feel there are some strong arguments that the book lets slide or that it completes an argument with a fuzzy or incomplete answer. Researching the scriptures and the history is very helpful with this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Case? What case?

    I picked up this book hoping it would help strengthen my faith and but an end to my doubts. Sadly, the book failed miserablely. Too often, Strobel accepts shady facts, and pushes aside good arguements. I mean he never even attempts to investigate the claims of the Jesus Seminar. He just accepts someone else's views on them. And what about the conflicting stories of the resurection? How Luke puts it in Jerusalem and Mathew puts it in Galilee. Does the book even mention it? Nope. All in all, I found this book extremely lacking.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Case for Christ

    It's hillarious!I love evreything exept the intro!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Enlightening!

    The author truly did his research and passed on the knowledge he acquired to the reader. I highly recommend this book. Your perspective of Christ will change for the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Great for church study group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Questions answered

    This book is awsome and answered all of my questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7