Customer Reviews for

Case for Christ/Case for Faith Compilation

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The lighthouse in the search for truth

I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelle...
I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelled in have indeed an answer. Lee Strobel faces the philosophical and scientific challenges to the Christian faith with an open mind and brings clarity to them with concrete answers. This book serves both believers and non-believers alike. The objections that I once wrestled with are followed through with rational and corroborative evidence. Like in a courtroom both sides of the story are presented, leaving out any biased testimony to rekindle accusations. From the moment the thesis is established the format of the book unfolds itself with in the road to answers, not avoiding the details of potential loopholes. From the most common brought up objection against God- the theory of evolution- to ¿It¿s Offensive to Claim Jesus Is the Only Way to God¿- this book stares at the misconceptions and delivers. The answers provided by scientists, philosophers, and other thinkers alike, not only alter the mind, but also supplies food for intellect. Finding perspective with in the boundaries of a world filled with questions about origin, meaning and destiny, it is sometimes hard to come about with convincing information to satisfy faith over reason. However, I believe this book unites the power of an intelligent faith over the cliché of blind faith. Being a student in high school, I sincerely see the need for this information to be shared with others, which is what I¿m planning to do. Many of my friends I feel would appreciate the long-awaited side of the story to the often thought of unanswerable questions to skepticism.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sloppy Journalism

This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could ...
This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could hardly get through his first interview with Peter Kreeft on 'Since evil and suffering exist , a loving God cannot', the first objection. The explanations given, would at best confuse the reader. I do not recommend this book and I'm glad I only checked it out at the library instead of buying it.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    The lighthouse in the search for truth

    I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelled in have indeed an answer. Lee Strobel faces the philosophical and scientific challenges to the Christian faith with an open mind and brings clarity to them with concrete answers. This book serves both believers and non-believers alike. The objections that I once wrestled with are followed through with rational and corroborative evidence. Like in a courtroom both sides of the story are presented, leaving out any biased testimony to rekindle accusations. From the moment the thesis is established the format of the book unfolds itself with in the road to answers, not avoiding the details of potential loopholes. From the most common brought up objection against God- the theory of evolution- to ¿It¿s Offensive to Claim Jesus Is the Only Way to God¿- this book stares at the misconceptions and delivers. The answers provided by scientists, philosophers, and other thinkers alike, not only alter the mind, but also supplies food for intellect. Finding perspective with in the boundaries of a world filled with questions about origin, meaning and destiny, it is sometimes hard to come about with convincing information to satisfy faith over reason. However, I believe this book unites the power of an intelligent faith over the cliché of blind faith. Being a student in high school, I sincerely see the need for this information to be shared with others, which is what I¿m planning to do. Many of my friends I feel would appreciate the long-awaited side of the story to the often thought of unanswerable questions to skepticism.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very thought-provoking

    I gave this book four stars because it was interesting and it made me think. The information in the book was very well researched and Lee Strobel did a great job with his interviewing and making sure he got everyone to talk about both sides of the argument for God. I think that I would have enjoyed this book more if it had been just an article rather than a whole book but that is neither here nor there. I was excited in the beginning when they were discussing free will and how it gives people a choice to love God or not. But free will also causes people to do terrible things sometimes. The book says that only when people seek God do they find Him, and I totally agree. I enjoyed the argument about how the universe came into being. I don't think that it just appeared from nothing but it is amazing that some people do believe that rather than believing in a divine being. I enjoyed how the book also discussed rationality and how its almost more rational to believe in God than it is to not believe. Overall, great book I encourage both Christians and non-Christians alike to read this book. It has made me a stronger believer in God.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book for Thinkers

    Anyone that appreciates thinking NEEDS to read this book. Challenging and informative, this book does exactly what the back claims - strengthens the faith of Christians while answering strong objections of skeptics. This is not just a lofty philosophy book, but also one that teaches on faith, wait faith is, and how faith affects our daily lives. If you have doubts, questions or interests about the Christian faith, this book is for you.

    Reader Suggestions - A basic background on Christianity and the Bible, though not necessary, is very helpful for some parts of this book. Follow the helpful reference list for more insight.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Master of Strawmen

    The premise of the book ¿The Case for Faith¿ seems to be an exploration of Biblical Christianity through its better-known proponents by a curious and impartial skeptic. Of course, that is not the case and it is only a dishonest marketing ploy to call it a journalistic investigation and a laughable ruse to say it is the toughest objections. There is an intentional and cleverly fashioned flow in the book through a sequence of interviews by a (supposedly skeptical) journalist in a deliberate progression. These interviews are used to persuade under the illusion of investigation as the author posed questions in a manner that could be dismantled by a clever apologist. Any of Strobel¿s questions of the apologists¿ theories are short and feeble, they are strawmen. If you are a believer and want to feel more reassured, then you might find it here provided you don't apply critical thought. Also, if you are a believer - ask yourself if you want to support an author and marketing staff that distorts truth for gain. If you are not a believer, you would have to lack the ability to realize fallacious arguments and strawmen to be persuaded.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Sloppy Journalism

    This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could hardly get through his first interview with Peter Kreeft on 'Since evil and suffering exist , a loving God cannot', the first objection. The explanations given, would at best confuse the reader. I do not recommend this book and I'm glad I only checked it out at the library instead of buying it.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    THIS IS AN EXCELLENT BO9F RATHERYOU BELIEVE OR NOT.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    A soul-searching read.

    This book provides support for those who might be struggling with their faith, yet reinforcement for those who are firm in it. Mr. Strobel speaks from a personal platform, making this a soul-searching read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was better than the Case for Christ! The Introduction made me want to go and evangilize someone! The objections were really helpful (especially with Stroebel's atheistic background) I'm glad I wasn't caught without them. But the last objection was by far the most useful and important to anyone who associates with non-Christians or peole who are troubled with their Christian beliefs! If nothing else read the intro and eigth (last) objection! Praise the Lord for such a book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Required reading for doubters and the faithful

    A diligently pursued search for Truth. A great resource for those who find themselves wrestling with "intellectual concerns" regarding their faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    very good book

    This book is very insightful and inspiring, especially in how Lee Strobel came to faith. Very excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Help in Faith

    I give this to friends who are searching for answers or struggling with their faith.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Did you know Jesus is Truth?

    I had heard it, but I never thought of the implications. Everytime you accept truth, you come closer to God. I was so skeptical when I started this book, but God has opened my eyes wider than I thought possible. If you are seeking the Truth, you don't need to go any further (besides the Word, of course). This book will change your life, if you're ready to be honest yourself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Not about faith

    Are we really talking about faith here? To Christianity, faith finds great favor with God because the adherents are willing to cast their lives according to something they believe in but remains beyond proof. Why then does the book spend so much time trying to nail down proof that the belief is built on fact? If we are really talking about faith, then how is this any different from Islam? Surely, those people have as much faith as any Christian. The book is obviously not about faith but about trying to shore up Christian belief. Belief in either of these dogmas is absurd when one thinks about it. Both believe in a just and loving God. The adherents of both religions are equally fervent and sincere. Both are serving God to the best of their knowledge and ability based on the information God has provided to their particular situation. Now if God finds one more acceptable than the other, He is unjust, unfair and unloving. What more can one do but be sincere? Hence, the ultimate contradiction. Truth obviously lies elsewhere.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2005

    Wonderful

    Although I thought a few of these objections were rather simple to answer on my own, this book helped me find answers to some of the harder objections. A must read for any christian, or anyone considering christianity.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2004

    A Must Read for all Christians!

    I have just began reading this book and am already having a hard time putting it down. It addressess as the questions that are on my mind especially in light of the state of the world today. (ie: the fight against terrorism) I have already read 'The Case for Christ' and know that this book will be just as informative and life-changing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    MAGNIFICO: INSPIRADOR Y PROVOCATIVO

    I WISH THERE IS A SPANISH VERSION SO CAN RECOMMEND IT TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. ALTHOUGH GOD'S WORKS HELP A BIG DEAL TO INCREASE MY FAITH EVERYDAY; I FOUND THIS BOOK IS A BIG HELP FOR THOSE THAT USE ONLY THEIR BRAINS TO SEARCH FOR ANSWERS.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    THOUGHT PROVOKING, ENLIGHTENING, INTERESTING READING MATERIAL.

    Outstanding book! I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for answers to some of the tough questions. Answers the questions asked by many of us for a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    A Great Book!

    This book is a great look at the Christian faith. It explains each of the arguments of non-believers and gives evidence to support Christianity through science and history. It is a great read for those questioning Christianity and Christians alike. Strobel provides hundreds of facts to defend the faith that so many of us share. Pick up a copy of A Case for Christ as well, both are great reads!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Finally an answer to all your unanswered questions!!

    Please, if you read no other spiritual book, read this one!!! This book answers questions on everything that's ever made you doubt being a Christian, like if evolution can be disproven, if we really have "free" will when God knows the future, whether or not God created evil, how a loving God could send people to hell, and why Jesus claims to be the only way to God. This was written by an atheist who became saved trying to disprove the Bible! He interviewed scholars, professors, former evangelists... this book will finally solidify your faith in GOD!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Great book

    This book is great =) It helps affirm believers and answers questions for skeptics/non-believers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5