Customer Reviews for

The Case for Faith: A Journalist Investigates the Toughest Objections to Christianity

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The lighthouse in the search for truth

I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelle...
I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelled in have indeed an answer. Lee Strobel faces the philosophical and scientific challenges to the Christian faith with an open mind and brings clarity to them with concrete answers. This book serves both believers and non-believers alike. The objections that I once wrestled with are followed through with rational and corroborative evidence. Like in a courtroom both sides of the story are presented, leaving out any biased testimony to rekindle accusations. From the moment the thesis is established the format of the book unfolds itself with in the road to answers, not avoiding the details of potential loopholes. From the most common brought up objection against God- the theory of evolution- to ¿It¿s Offensive to Claim Jesus Is the Only Way to God¿- this book stares at the misconceptions and delivers. The answers provided by scientists, philosophers, and other thinkers alike, not only alter the mind, but also supplies food for intellect. Finding perspective with in the boundaries of a world filled with questions about origin, meaning and destiny, it is sometimes hard to come about with convincing information to satisfy faith over reason. However, I believe this book unites the power of an intelligent faith over the cliché of blind faith. Being a student in high school, I sincerely see the need for this information to be shared with others, which is what I¿m planning to do. Many of my friends I feel would appreciate the long-awaited side of the story to the often thought of unanswerable questions to skepticism.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sloppy Journalism

This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could ...
This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could hardly get through his first interview with Peter Kreeft on 'Since evil and suffering exist , a loving God cannot', the first objection. The explanations given, would at best confuse the reader. I do not recommend this book and I'm glad I only checked it out at the library instead of buying it.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Great References

    What I enjoyed most were all the references that Lee Strobel includes in this book. For those who don't know where to begin finding books on subjects about the Bible, or your faith in general, that you've often wondered about, this book has many good references to begin with. Not only that, but this book was an excellent source within itself in helping to solidify my faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    What a great resource!

    Lee Strobel has introduced my Bible study group to a new perspective on fielding questions from interested nonbelievers. We are really enjoying each chapter and sharing the information with people outside of our group. This book handles a lot of the questions that I would never have even considered, because I already know the Lord. How wonderful to know this could help us bring others close to Him - to heal, to love, to LIVE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK

    THE CASE FOR FAITH is a companion book to the wonderful THE CASE FOR CHRIST, written by the same author. While THE CASE FOR CHRIST presents evidence for the person of Jesus Christ, THE CASE FOR FAITH provides answers to those tough questions that everyone asks and/or wonders about. I highly recommend this book to everyone--from born-again Christians to non-believers. Extremely well-written, thoroughly documented and researched. AWESOME!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    A Great Introduction To Apologetics

    In, The Case For Faith, Lee Strobel brings together some of the best minds in Christianity to answer the questions that skeptics ask. Drs. Peter Kreeft, William Lane Craig, Walter Bradley, Norman Geisler,Ravi Zacherias, J.P. Moreland, John Woodbridge,and Lynn Anderson offer some of the best reasons to believe that exist. Some of the other reviewers didn't think that this book gave reasons that would hold up to any arguments, and that clearly displayed their presuppositions concerning faith. Most of the people interviewed have debated prominent athiests and non-believers, and have done very well. (See, williamlanecraig.com, or normgeisler.com to find information on the debates)(from personal experience I have used the information from this book to witness and debate and found that the reasons to believe given in these two books win the argument because they are based on truth! This book is written in a very readable style and should be read with, The Case For Christ, by every believer. These books introduce some of the best thinkers of Christianity and are great introductions to apologetics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Simply Awful!

    This book isn't likely to convince even the most wobbly agnostic of the veracity of the Christian faith, much less win a debate with hardened atheists. Stroebel is, however, excellent at making fallacious assumptions, quoting false authority, and all in all presenting a case which a college freshman could poke holes in with ease. He even quotes, with frequency, one of the most illogical apologetics writers ever- Ravi Zacharias. This book is, if possible, even worse than his first, 'The Case For Christ'. No one who is a doubting believer and has even a smattering of intellect would find their faith reaffirmed by such shoddy 'evidence'. This is, however, a good laugh for intelligent folks with a rational mind.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    AMAZING

    An amazing book. Easy to read and to understand. Lee Strobel does an excellent point to ask the questions you are most likely to be asked by skeptics. This should become number one on any person's list of books to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    How can skeptics remain?

    Absolutely amazing! Just as the book offers, God's face is revealed through reading this work of love. Lee Strobel amplifies God's true love for us and gives solid and logical responses to the toughest challenges to God's allowance of evil. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    This book is a tremendous achievement!

    Wow -- this book managed to provide persuasive answers to my biggest objections to Christianity! I've wrestled for years with the question of why there's so much evil and suffering in the world if God is supposed to be loving, and why a supposedly loving God would send people to hell. Those are two of the 'big eight' objections to Christianity that Lee Strobel tackles in this sequel to his excellent book, 'The Case for Christ.' Other issues include whether scientific people can accept miracles, why is it rational believe Jesus is the only way to God, doesn't evolution disprove creation, why is church history filled with violence, can the Bible be trusted, and so on. He pursued answers from some of the most articulate and thoughtful Christian thinkers, including Peter Kreeft of Boston College, Norman Geisler, Ravi Zacharias, and William Lane Craig. This book doesn't give 25-cent answers to million-dollar questions. It provides substantive and in-depth analysis, and yet does so in a highly readable way. I'd STRONGLY recommend this book to any Christian who, like me, wrestles with doubts from time to time. I'm going to buy other copies to give to my friends who are skeptical of Christianity. Not only will this book help them get beyond the obstacles between them and God, but it also contains a summary of the historical evidence for Christianity that the author explored in his previous book. I'll probably have to buy another copy for myself, too, since my first one is so dog-eared and full of underlining and highlighting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This book is totally biased. Lee Strobel obviously picks and in

    This book is totally biased. Lee Strobel obviously picks and interviews only those who agree with his point of view. The arguments that are given by the interviewees are riddled with logical fallacies like begging the question or circular reasoning. Base assumptions are made that can clearly be argued.

    For instance, in Case for Faith in the section about evil is is clearly assumed that God is the only source for goodness because we can only recognize evil because we have been given a moral code to compare evil things to. The argument is that we must know what good is so we can know what evil is. The assumption that goodness comes entirely from a supernatural being can be argued against. For example, observers of certain species of primate have noticed that they have a culture and a notion of a moral code. One species (I can't recall the specifics now) mate for life and promiscuity is punished as a simple example. The point is that moral codes are being seen in creatures that are thought to not have a concept of God or worship. They just know as part of their genetic make up and it can be argued we have similar natural tendencies.

    These types of things are completely ignored making the argument biased and one sided. This book will re-affirm the beliefs of the already faithful, but will probably not go far to convert anyone who is not already of like mind to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great

    This was a great with the author using other peoples knowledge and expertise instead of simply writing a book of his opionions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Outstanding book. Very compelling arguments logically presented.

    Outstanding book. Very compelling arguments logically presented. This has armed be for a better defense of my beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Prayer requests

    Prayer requests

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2005

    This book frustrated me.

    I would rather not state all the frustrations I had when I read this book. Instead, I want to encourage the person thinking about buying this book to look at other views as well. One should take into consideration that there is more than one view on apologetics. If you want to look into various books, I'd recommend 'Always Ready' by Greg Bahnsen.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2003

    Awesome. Irrational skeptics need not apply.

    Skeptics like to whine that this book is fallacious and what not, but they just can't stand any skeptic that 'turns' and becomes a Christian. Strobel is honest about his faith and asks difficult questions and finds frank answers. Its not a logical discourse, or meant to be. It does attempt to deal with logical problems involved in Christian theism. With the right expectations, this book is a good read, especially for inquisitive teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    How can anyone prove faith?

    The author defines faith based on his own personal interpretation of the Bible. For that, Faith is more vivid and logical in the book, BORN AGAIN?TRY AGAIN!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5