BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Case for Faith: A Journalist Investigates the Toughest Objections to Christianity

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The lighthouse in the search for truth

I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelle...
I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelled in have indeed an answer. Lee Strobel faces the philosophical and scientific challenges to the Christian faith with an open mind and brings clarity to them with concrete answers. This book serves both believers and non-believers alike. The objections that I once wrestled with are followed through with rational and corroborative evidence. Like in a courtroom both sides of the story are presented, leaving out any biased testimony to rekindle accusations. From the moment the thesis is established the format of the book unfolds itself with in the road to answers, not avoiding the details of potential loopholes. From the most common brought up objection against God- the theory of evolution- to ¿It¿s Offensive to Claim Jesus Is the Only Way to God¿- this book stares at the misconceptions and delivers. The answers provided by scientists, philosophers, and other thinkers alike, not only alter the mind, but also supplies food for intellect. Finding perspective with in the boundaries of a world filled with questions about origin, meaning and destiny, it is sometimes hard to come about with convincing information to satisfy faith over reason. However, I believe this book unites the power of an intelligent faith over the cliché of blind faith. Being a student in high school, I sincerely see the need for this information to be shared with others, which is what I¿m planning to do. Many of my friends I feel would appreciate the long-awaited side of the story to the often thought of unanswerable questions to skepticism.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Sloppy Journalism

This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could ...
This book is awful. Lee Stobel interviews philosophers who completely deny the sovereignty of God, and He completely ignores the Protestant Reformed views on 'the big eight'. These philosophers are so eager to push there views and without even using scripture! I could hardly get through his first interview with Peter Kreeft on 'Since evil and suffering exist , a loving God cannot', the first objection. The explanations given, would at best confuse the reader. I do not recommend this book and I'm glad I only checked it out at the library instead of buying it.

posted by Anonymous on May 14, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2001

    The lighthouse in the search for truth

    I have recently read the book,The Case For Faith, by Lee Strobel, a journalistic investigation to the objections of Christianity, and I couldn¿t let it down from the moment I read the thesis. Being a skeptic once myself, I see now that the objections I would once dwelled in have indeed an answer. Lee Strobel faces the philosophical and scientific challenges to the Christian faith with an open mind and brings clarity to them with concrete answers. This book serves both believers and non-believers alike. The objections that I once wrestled with are followed through with rational and corroborative evidence. Like in a courtroom both sides of the story are presented, leaving out any biased testimony to rekindle accusations. From the moment the thesis is established the format of the book unfolds itself with in the road to answers, not avoiding the details of potential loopholes. From the most common brought up objection against God- the theory of evolution- to ¿It¿s Offensive to Claim Jesus Is the Only Way to God¿- this book stares at the misconceptions and delivers. The answers provided by scientists, philosophers, and other thinkers alike, not only alter the mind, but also supplies food for intellect. Finding perspective with in the boundaries of a world filled with questions about origin, meaning and destiny, it is sometimes hard to come about with convincing information to satisfy faith over reason. However, I believe this book unites the power of an intelligent faith over the cliché of blind faith. Being a student in high school, I sincerely see the need for this information to be shared with others, which is what I¿m planning to do. Many of my friends I feel would appreciate the long-awaited side of the story to the often thought of unanswerable questions to skepticism.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book for Thinkers

    Anyone that appreciates thinking NEEDS to read this book. Challenging and informative, this book does exactly what the back claims - strengthens the faith of Christians while answering strong objections of skeptics. This is not just a lofty philosophy book, but also one that teaches on faith, wait faith is, and how faith affects our daily lives. If you have doubts, questions or interests about the Christian faith, this book is for you.

    Reader Suggestions - A basic background on Christianity and the Bible, though not necessary, is very helpful for some parts of this book. Follow the helpful reference list for more insight.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    THIS IS AN EXCELLENT BO9F RATHERYOU BELIEVE OR NOT.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was better than the Case for Christ! The Introduction made me want to go and evangilize someone! The objections were really helpful (especially with Stroebel's atheistic background) I'm glad I wasn't caught without them. But the last objection was by far the most useful and important to anyone who associates with non-Christians or peole who are troubled with their Christian beliefs! If nothing else read the intro and eigth (last) objection! Praise the Lord for such a book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Required reading for doubters and the faithful

    A diligently pursued search for Truth. A great resource for those who find themselves wrestling with "intellectual concerns" regarding their faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    very good book

    This book is very insightful and inspiring, especially in how Lee Strobel came to faith. Very excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Help in Faith

    I give this to friends who are searching for answers or struggling with their faith.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2006

    Did you know Jesus is Truth?

    I had heard it, but I never thought of the implications. Everytime you accept truth, you come closer to God. I was so skeptical when I started this book, but God has opened my eyes wider than I thought possible. If you are seeking the Truth, you don't need to go any further (besides the Word, of course). This book will change your life, if you're ready to be honest yourself.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2004

    MAGNIFICO: INSPIRADOR Y PROVOCATIVO

    I WISH THERE IS A SPANISH VERSION SO CAN RECOMMEND IT TO MY FAMILY AND FRIENDS. ALTHOUGH GOD'S WORKS HELP A BIG DEAL TO INCREASE MY FAITH EVERYDAY; I FOUND THIS BOOK IS A BIG HELP FOR THOSE THAT USE ONLY THEIR BRAINS TO SEARCH FOR ANSWERS.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    THOUGHT PROVOKING, ENLIGHTENING, INTERESTING READING MATERIAL.

    Outstanding book! I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for answers to some of the tough questions. Answers the questions asked by many of us for a very long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    A Great Book!

    This book is a great look at the Christian faith. It explains each of the arguments of non-believers and gives evidence to support Christianity through science and history. It is a great read for those questioning Christianity and Christians alike. Strobel provides hundreds of facts to defend the faith that so many of us share. Pick up a copy of A Case for Christ as well, both are great reads!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2002

    Finally an answer to all your unanswered questions!!

    Please, if you read no other spiritual book, read this one!!! This book answers questions on everything that's ever made you doubt being a Christian, like if evolution can be disproven, if we really have "free" will when God knows the future, whether or not God created evil, how a loving God could send people to hell, and why Jesus claims to be the only way to God. This was written by an atheist who became saved trying to disprove the Bible! He interviewed scholars, professors, former evangelists... this book will finally solidify your faith in GOD!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2002

    Great book

    This book is great =) It helps affirm believers and answers questions for skeptics/non-believers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Great References

    What I enjoyed most were all the references that Lee Strobel includes in this book. For those who don't know where to begin finding books on subjects about the Bible, or your faith in general, that you've often wondered about, this book has many good references to begin with. Not only that, but this book was an excellent source within itself in helping to solidify my faith in the Lord Jesus Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    What a great resource!

    Lee Strobel has introduced my Bible study group to a new perspective on fielding questions from interested nonbelievers. We are really enjoying each chapter and sharing the information with people outside of our group. This book handles a lot of the questions that I would never have even considered, because I already know the Lord. How wonderful to know this could help us bring others close to Him - to heal, to love, to LIVE!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    AWESOME BOOK

    THE CASE FOR FAITH is a companion book to the wonderful THE CASE FOR CHRIST, written by the same author. While THE CASE FOR CHRIST presents evidence for the person of Jesus Christ, THE CASE FOR FAITH provides answers to those tough questions that everyone asks and/or wonders about. I highly recommend this book to everyone--from born-again Christians to non-believers. Extremely well-written, thoroughly documented and researched. AWESOME!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    A Great Introduction To Apologetics

    In, The Case For Faith, Lee Strobel brings together some of the best minds in Christianity to answer the questions that skeptics ask. Drs. Peter Kreeft, William Lane Craig, Walter Bradley, Norman Geisler,Ravi Zacherias, J.P. Moreland, John Woodbridge,and Lynn Anderson offer some of the best reasons to believe that exist. Some of the other reviewers didn't think that this book gave reasons that would hold up to any arguments, and that clearly displayed their presuppositions concerning faith. Most of the people interviewed have debated prominent athiests and non-believers, and have done very well. (See, williamlanecraig.com, or normgeisler.com to find information on the debates)(from personal experience I have used the information from this book to witness and debate and found that the reasons to believe given in these two books win the argument because they are based on truth! This book is written in a very readable style and should be read with, The Case For Christ, by every believer. These books introduce some of the best thinkers of Christianity and are great introductions to apologetics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    AMAZING

    An amazing book. Easy to read and to understand. Lee Strobel does an excellent point to ask the questions you are most likely to be asked by skeptics. This should become number one on any person's list of books to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2001

    How can skeptics remain?

    Absolutely amazing! Just as the book offers, God's face is revealed through reading this work of love. Lee Strobel amplifies God's true love for us and gives solid and logical responses to the toughest challenges to God's allowance of evil. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2000

    This book is a tremendous achievement!

    Wow -- this book managed to provide persuasive answers to my biggest objections to Christianity! I've wrestled for years with the question of why there's so much evil and suffering in the world if God is supposed to be loving, and why a supposedly loving God would send people to hell. Those are two of the 'big eight' objections to Christianity that Lee Strobel tackles in this sequel to his excellent book, 'The Case for Christ.' Other issues include whether scientific people can accept miracles, why is it rational believe Jesus is the only way to God, doesn't evolution disprove creation, why is church history filled with violence, can the Bible be trusted, and so on. He pursued answers from some of the most articulate and thoughtful Christian thinkers, including Peter Kreeft of Boston College, Norman Geisler, Ravi Zacharias, and William Lane Craig. This book doesn't give 25-cent answers to million-dollar questions. It provides substantive and in-depth analysis, and yet does so in a highly readable way. I'd STRONGLY recommend this book to any Christian who, like me, wrestles with doubts from time to time. I'm going to buy other copies to give to my friends who are skeptical of Christianity. Not only will this book help them get beyond the obstacles between them and God, but it also contains a summary of the historical evidence for Christianity that the author explored in his previous book. I'll probably have to buy another copy for myself, too, since my first one is so dog-eared and full of underlining and highlighting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3