BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Case for a Creator: A Journalist Investigates Scientific Evidence That Points Toward God

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful synopsis of current thought

Many of us are on the quest for God, and often you wonder, when challenged with evolution and other 'scientifically established' results if your inner thoughts are so wrong. Asking questions, finding answers, and inner whisperings are all satisfied in this book. Scient...
Many of us are on the quest for God, and often you wonder, when challenged with evolution and other 'scientifically established' results if your inner thoughts are so wrong. Asking questions, finding answers, and inner whisperings are all satisfied in this book. Scientists are beginning to realize, with excellent reasoning, that for us to be on this quest, there has to be something that exsisted before us, that created us and the quest we are on. The miracles of life, the exact conditions that make our universe and our life, could not have been accidental, nor could the complete equipment that we have, which gives us the ability to make the quest for God. If you are on the quest for God, this is an easy book to read, with lots of references for further enriched and in depth reading.

posted by Anonymous on April 25, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nothing New Here

This book is effectively the same literature that is found in other Intelligent Design/ Discovery Institute materials. The arguments are the same, just in new packaging. This book is almost solely scientific. It would be interesting to see what Strobel thinks about the ...
This book is effectively the same literature that is found in other Intelligent Design/ Discovery Institute materials. The arguments are the same, just in new packaging. This book is almost solely scientific. It would be interesting to see what Strobel thinks about the theological implications of ID. Strobel tries to align the Intelligent Design theory to the Genesis creation account, but I am unconvinced. There is a growing body of scientific evidence that disproves the arguments here and there are logical answers to the questions they pose that are not addressed. Overall, not an earth shattering book. If you purchasing it, you probably already agree with what is in the book, and more importantly want to believe in the arguments they make.

posted by GradStudentCO on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Wonderful synopsis of current thought

    Many of us are on the quest for God, and often you wonder, when challenged with evolution and other 'scientifically established' results if your inner thoughts are so wrong. Asking questions, finding answers, and inner whisperings are all satisfied in this book. Scientists are beginning to realize, with excellent reasoning, that for us to be on this quest, there has to be something that exsisted before us, that created us and the quest we are on. The miracles of life, the exact conditions that make our universe and our life, could not have been accidental, nor could the complete equipment that we have, which gives us the ability to make the quest for God. If you are on the quest for God, this is an easy book to read, with lots of references for further enriched and in depth reading.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Outstanding Scientific Material - well written

    As an engineer who appreciates well thought-out scientific investigations - this book is excellent! I Highly recommend it. After reading this book one can see it takes alot more faith to believe in evolution than creation. The author studies both sides of about 10 scientific issues. Would go one step further and say the young earth model is more accurate but the author is not trying for that angle - he establishes 'A case' for a creator. Check it out!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Prodigious

    What magnificence! For anyone who seeks the infallible truth, I recommend this book more than any other in my library. These pages started me on a vigorous Strobel 'fit.' It inspires fierce motivation for precious discovery. Relentless factual affirmations with a matter of fact approach found unflinching when persuading the faithless. Thoughtfully written, this book should be a prerequisite for belief. Don't be left behind!! I dare any atheist to investigate ... it will save your eternity.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    BLOWN AWAY

    I am still reading this book and am almost finished. My mind is just completely BLOWN AWAY. I've always loved science and philosophy and debating topics (like the ones in this book) with other people. It almost seems as if he wrote this book just for me (allthough i know that's not the case). If you have a truely open mind (athiests are welcome), then read this book. And if you know someone who is a science teacher or student, buy this for them as a gift. Probably the most thought prevoking book i have ever read, and i read a s@#$load of books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    recommended.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Whether monotheistic or atheistic, you must read this book

    I went from a die hard atheist to a practicing non-denominatinonal christian with this book, it shothat science actually points TOWARDS a God! But also lets you make your own disicion,you will lov it, I promise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    ). Lee Strobel grew up in a nominally religious home, but the n

    ). Lee Strobel grew up in a nominally religious home, but the nearly universal teaching of Darwinian evolution in his educational experience, beginning in high school biology and throughout college, led him to become an atheist. However, after the Yale-educated law journalist’s wife was converted to Christ, he began to rethink the foundations of his unbelief, embarking upon the adventure of a lifetime by using his talents as an investigative journalist to examine the facts. I purchased all of Strobel’s major books, including The Case for Christ and The Case for Faith in a combined edition and The Case for the Real Jesus, but decided to start with what I would consider “the beginning,” The Case for a Creator. After all, the Bible opens with the statement, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth” (Genesis 1:1).

    After writing about his own background, influenced by images of Darwinism yet eventually developing doubts, Strobel interviews scientific experts in several fields—cosmology, physics, astronomy, biochemistry, biological information, and consciousness—to show how their studies provide astonishing evidence for creation rather than purely naturalistic evolution. To be honest, this book sometimes borders on the academic, delving into subjects which would be far beyond the comprehension of most people, including myself. However, Strobel does try to translate the language of the scientists and philosophers he interviews into more popular style so that it can be more readily understood by those without scientific training. Each chapter also contains suggestions for further reading on particular issues of science and faith.

    Of course, rabid atheists will dismiss Strobel’s work with a wave of the hand as nothing more than a biased attempt to bolster a dubious claim that is based only on mythology to begin with. One person said something to the effect that all Strobel did was interview creation scientists to prove creationism. However, the scientists whom he interviewed are not “creation scientists” but primarily proponents of Intelligent Design, and there is a difference. The book accepts, at least on the surface, the idea of “the Big Bang” and a billions-of-years existence for the universe, so there will be disagreement on certain points. I realize that some tension exists between young earth creationists and advocates of Intelligent Design, but even as a young earth creationist myself I believe that the two groups have common cause. Strobel concludes that, when correctly interpreted, science and biblical teaching support each other and quotes physicist Paul Davies who says, "…science offers a surer path to God than religion." With much of what passes for “religion” these days, he may be right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Nbbbbgvvbb Nnhhjm..fcvchzd p

    Hhhhyzp.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Lee Strobel Makes A Strong Case

    Through discussions with many scientists, Lee Strobel makes a strong case for a Creator. I found it fascinating that as science evolves more and more, the case for an ultimate designer of our universe is strengthened vs. weakened. At times the science speak is difficult to understand but overall this is a fascinating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    lays it all out well - a good read

    This book does a lot for providing more scientific reasons for the existence of an intelligent designer(God). The book is written well and is neither hard to follow nor boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Great Book

    I'm 14 and although I think that it is great that he wrote a student version this one is in no way too hard for anyone to understand... it is a great mix of writing styles and facts that is interesting and factually sound!

    I wasso excited to get and read this book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    While I have always been a believer, this book seals my belief in a Creator and the fact that 'accident' holds no water and that random evolution can no longer be assumed. The science is a little heavy for us 'non-science' types, but it is necessary to approach the topic that way. The book will be a confirmation for believers and a new light for non-believers. Well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    The Perfect Book For College-Aged People Seeking Proof Of God!

    I first picked up this book because I have two college-aged children who are surrounded by athiests at school. I wanted to find a reference book for them to use to fight back against the professors and other students who mock their faith. This book hits a homerun for that purpose!

    This book is not for the "uneducated" in science. But, if you (or someone you know) is educated at the college level in science, then this is the book!!!! Mr. Strobel proves, without doubt, that God exists. The fascinating way that he does it truly remarkable. He takes the arguments that agnostics and athiests have formulated (to prove that there is no God) and uses these arguments to prove that God does exist! The facts in nature speak for themselves and all of the facts, if understood, point directly to a creator.

    Please consider this book for yourself if you are in college and doubting the existence of God. If you have college aged children, this is a must buy for Christmas!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Great book!

    Love Lee Strobel. This book does not disappoint. Lots of information and resources . I liked it alot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Excellent reading

    This book explains the term "The TRUTH is out there" in a way that can not be wished away or ignored as fantacy. Evolutionists may want to avoid this book, your believs may be severly shaken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    great DVD!

    Eye opening & informative. Nicely done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    Well done!!!

    A very well done approach to showing the half-truths, situational ethics and bias of the pro-evolution side. Mr. Strobel - who starts off his adult life an athiest and confirmed evolutionist, remember - does a great job of showing thru interviews with learned bio and paleo scientists just how biased and in a lot of cases invented the 'evidence' to support Darwinism really is. Mind you, while the evolutionists try to bar discussions of Intelligent Design from occuring concurrently in the classroom claiming it not to be 'good' science, it becomes quite clear that evolution is anything but 'good' science as well. What I found particularly interesting was the lack of emotionalism behind the presentation of Mr. Strobel's case and how he ends up showing that many of the supposed supporting arguments for evolution quite clearly point to an anything but random nature to the universe & particularly to the chances of such a sophisticated happening as earth and its occupants both human and otherwise. Again, a very unemotional, rational presentation of how science did NOT end up supporting his original conviction of evolution under closer examination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Science Over And Against Evolution

    'Deliberations' Chapter 11 post analysis of 'The Case For A Creator' contrasts the essence of Science versus Evolution. Revealed in the examination of evidence, 'The Cumulative Case...' adumbrates the Creator, while author Lee Strobel's conclusion that 'Darwinism was too far-fetched to be credible' is irrefutably posited. Strobel's unrelenting sifting of scientific data presented against theoretical evolution emphasizes the bedrock reality Christians trod versus the primrose garden in which evolutionists frolic to their own peril. T L Farley, author, When Now Becomes Too Late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Must -Read on Intelligent Design

    I have read many Intelligent Design books, and this one is the most inclusive. The author basically interviews really smart scientists who have written books on Intelligent Design, and summarizes their most compelling arguments in dialogue format. If you only read one book on Intelligent Design, it should be this one because it gives you the whole scope of the arguments for God and against evolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    A Case for Truth

    In Case for a Creator, Lee Strobel interviews several top scientists who argue the case for Intelligent Design. The arguments are so compelling, one gets the sense that empirical science supports creation and disproves Darwinian evolution to the point, that atheism based on evolution is wishful thinking. Strobel interviews scientists and philosophers and covers evolution, biology, chemistry, astronomy and mathematics, as well as philosophy This is a must read for anyone whose faith is being challenged by current scientific culture. The book shows the weaknesses behind the evolutionary model, and thus atheism. It is also a strong read for anyone, who is seriously interested in these things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3