Customer Reviews for

Case of Lies (Nina Reilly Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

'Case of Lies' is a smart favorite in the series

This is one of my favorite in the Nina Reilly series, and I suspect the authors favor it as well, as they seem to have rekindled their passion for it. I'm no math major, but its role in the plot was fascinating. Plus, the recurring characters all seemed to move ahead ...
This is one of my favorite in the Nina Reilly series, and I suspect the authors favor it as well, as they seem to have rekindled their passion for it. I'm no math major, but its role in the plot was fascinating. Plus, the recurring characters all seemed to move ahead in a very natural rhythm in this one. I started reading Perri O'Shaughnessy years ago because I couldn't imagine how two sisters managed to write together, especially long distance. Now, I don't care how they do it -- it just works.

posted by Anonymous on December 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Plot & Reader

I was terribly disappointed with this Audio book because of the plot and the reader. Laurel Merlington was a bad choice to read the book she can only do young American women accents. She butchered most of the male voices, the other older woman lawyer and all the forei...
I was terribly disappointed with this Audio book because of the plot and the reader. Laurel Merlington was a bad choice to read the book she can only do young American women accents. She butchered most of the male voices, the other older woman lawyer and all the foreign accents. It's clear she has never heard a German speak. The German girl's accent was annoyingly wrong. As for the plot, from the pointless foray into mathematics to the unlikely happenings e.g. where did this unsophisticated, rather stupid shooter get money from to go to Germany and find the witnesses? Why wasn't Nina Reilly shot at the masseuse's parlor? Why would the shooter hang around a Lake Tahoe? Much of the book does not make sense. I am sorry I bought it.

posted by Anonymous on July 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mixed Review for a Decent Book

    This was the first book out of the series (that I found to be quite extensive) that I read and it was easy to follow even though I didn't read the first ten. One of the suspects, whose story we get into from his point of view, was fascinating (even the heavy math parts were fascinating). The plot was gutsy with several plot twists that I didn't predict. Also, the fact that a math mystery that has yet to be uncovered is included in the plot and seeming motive is very intriguing. These three facts redeem the book, but overall it seemed to lack... "bang" I guess. It was smart and adventurous and warm, but the plotline seemed a little bland.

    Rating: PG-13 for two brief and undetailed sexual situations, brief gore, and violence.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Disappointing Plot & Reader

    I was terribly disappointed with this Audio book because of the plot and the reader. Laurel Merlington was a bad choice to read the book she can only do young American women accents. She butchered most of the male voices, the other older woman lawyer and all the foreign accents. It's clear she has never heard a German speak. The German girl's accent was annoyingly wrong. As for the plot, from the pointless foray into mathematics to the unlikely happenings e.g. where did this unsophisticated, rather stupid shooter get money from to go to Germany and find the witnesses? Why wasn't Nina Reilly shot at the masseuse's parlor? Why would the shooter hang around a Lake Tahoe? Much of the book does not make sense. I am sorry I bought it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    'Case of Lies' is a smart favorite in the series

    This is one of my favorite in the Nina Reilly series, and I suspect the authors favor it as well, as they seem to have rekindled their passion for it. I'm no math major, but its role in the plot was fascinating. Plus, the recurring characters all seemed to move ahead in a very natural rhythm in this one. I started reading Perri O'Shaughnessy years ago because I couldn't imagine how two sisters managed to write together, especially long distance. Now, I don't care how they do it -- it just works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2006

    Not a Textbook

    Overall, I really enjoy the Nina Reilly novels. However, this one just fell flat. Perri O got into way too much detail in developing the math characters. At times I felt like I was back in college studying calculus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Back to Good Story Line!!

    I have been so disappointed in the last several of Perri O'Shaughnessy books that I waited until this one came out in paperback. Really enjoyed it, although the math was too much for me, I skipped over most of that part and still enjoyed the story. Nina is still 'screwy' but I liked her much better than I did in the last 2 books. The excerpt of 'The Keeper of the Keys' in the back of the paperback 'Case of Lies' has me looking forward to the October release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Case of Lies a Disappointig Read

    The Misses O'Shaugenessys have written a novel that I feel is completely out of character when compared to their other works. Nina Reilly has become one of my favorite characters, but this book took her out of the realistic likeable character I imagine her to be. Unless one is steeped in higher mathematics, it is difficult to get into the story. I admit I am not well versed in the subject, but the average reader would be hard-pressed to understand the intricate and detailed formulas used extensively in the content. Since the dialogue contained so many mathematical references, I found myself loosing the plot line. I did finish the book however, but I would not recommend it to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    Very Boring Book

    This book was the most boring I have ever read. If you are a Math Major you could enjoy it. There was too much math and not enough excitement that usually is in a Nina Reilly book. I love all these books but this one was very disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2005

    AFAIRS OF THE HEART AND AFFAIRS OF JUSTICE ARE MINGLED IN THIS ABSORBING STORY

    Laural Merlington is a keen and nimble reader who is able to give each character not only a distinctive personality but also reflects moods and emotions with practiced voice. Thus, whether Nina Reilly is fulfilling her role as a tough attorney or feeling more intimate emotions listeners become involved, all due to Merlington's performance. She delivers again in 'Case Of Lies.' The 11th thriller in the popular Nina Reilly series finds Nina back on home ground - in her Lake Tahoe law office. The case she faces may be old (two years) but it's far from finished. A new client, David Hanna, comes to her to relate the story of how his wife was shot and killed during a robbery at a casino. He feels the casino should be responsible for not providing adequate security. The shooter was never caught but there were witnesses. The victims of the robbery - three MIT students originally lied about their identities and now are staying in California to avoid being called by a Nevada court. As Nina tries to track down the truth about what happened on that night two years ago she treks to Germany to interview two of witnesses. As it turns out, they are in a village not far from where her son's father lives. Affairs of justice and affairs of the heart are mingled in this absorbing story by Perri O'Shaughnessy. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    Disappointment!

    As a huge fan of Nina Reilly, I can't believe how disappointed I was with her latest adventure. Unless you are fascinated by math (I am not), this book bears no comparison to Nina's previous, interesting cases. I skipped numerous pages on math formulas, etc. TOO much detail! As one of my favorite heroines, I can only hope the next book returns with Nina on a case not so bogged down in subject matter that detracts from the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exhilarating legal thriller

    With her teenage son accompanying her, attorney Nina Reilly feels she has gone complete circle having recently left her former lover Paul van Wagoner behind in Carmel and returned to her hometown of South Lake Tahoe to practice law. Her masseuse Chelsi offers a deal of two rubdowns in exchange for legal advice to her Uncle Dave Hanna, which Nina agrees. --- Two years ago, someone robbed three people at the Ace High Motel, but before leaving, that person shot and killed Dave¿s pregnant wife, schoolteacher Sarah. No one was caught and the three witnesses quietly fled town. Dave sued the motel, but ran out of money and wants to drop the case. His niece and brother-in-law feel he should pursue his suit. Nina accepts the case, but also hires the son of her office assistant, private investigator Wish Whitefeather to see if he can uncover the identity of the killer. Neither realized at the time the twists the investigation will take involving card shark mathematicians Yale grads, wealthy Texans, a trek to Germany, a serial killer and the return of Nina¿s ex husband.--- CASE OF LIES is an exhilarating legal thriller in which Reilly is at her best in her latest appearance, which says a lot since this series is consistently a best seller. The story line seizes the audience from the moment most of the players appear on the stage starting with readers wondering what the connection between two blackjack card-counting experts have with a motel murder and other spins follow that all seem reasonable, even the final chiller. Though more investigate than legal, series fans will immeasurably relish the newest life of Reilly CASE OF LIES.--- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2005

    A Curious Tale

    As a fan of this author, I always await her books with relish. This does not disappoint overall. The story grabs you instantly as there seems to be no real solution to the original murder. Then, when more bodies begin to mount you become more than curious. The road to this conclusion is very exciting, except for one particular explanation for the original murder which may disappoint or confuse fans of this author. This is a quick read with lots going on and a new romantic interest for the heroine which is a nice change from the dramatic relationship with Paul we have had to deal with over time. For anyone wishing to have a great summer read, this is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1