Customer Reviews for

The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen: A Dix Dodd Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Recommended for 30s-40s Era Mystery Lovers

A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive m...
A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive male, and their sidekick is a quirky, wise old lady. The other concession to current trends is occasional salty language that could have been left out without harming the characters or the plot. Perhaps it is there to remind us that this is 2010, not 1935-40. That said, The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen overall creates an atmosphere that is as enjoyable as the clever mystery itself.

posted by the_curious_reader on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

530 pages

The writting was a little choppy in this novel. The characters were quirky. The plot did not run smoothly. The crimes were not horribly detailed. A fact I liked. There is some contrived humor. Some of the characters were so obnoxious, I found them extremly irritating. I...
The writting was a little choppy in this novel. The characters were quirky. The plot did not run smoothly. The crimes were not horribly detailed. A fact I liked. There is some contrived humor. Some of the characters were so obnoxious, I found them extremly irritating. Ie the cop and lawyer. This mystery was pretty good, it held my interest, yet seemed overly long as the PI rambled on and on. I did not like her being called ugly over and over again in the story. This novel was pretty well edited. There was sexual insinuations and situations, but no actual sex. The murders were the only violence, other then clumsey mishaps. The murder was not graphic. Some of the action was totally unbelievable. I got tired of reading about the PI's underwear. For adult readers. I doubt if I read this author again. This book was not bad. I just did not care very much for the author's style.

AD

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for 30s-40s Era Mystery Lovers

    A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive male, and their sidekick is a quirky, wise old lady. The other concession to current trends is occasional salty language that could have been left out without harming the characters or the plot. Perhaps it is there to remind us that this is 2010, not 1935-40. That said, The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen overall creates an atmosphere that is as enjoyable as the clever mystery itself.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    530 pages

    The writting was a little choppy in this novel. The characters were quirky. The plot did not run smoothly. The crimes were not horribly detailed. A fact I liked. There is some contrived humor. Some of the characters were so obnoxious, I found them extremly irritating. Ie the cop and lawyer. This mystery was pretty good, it held my interest, yet seemed overly long as the PI rambled on and on. I did not like her being called ugly over and over again in the story. This novel was pretty well edited. There was sexual insinuations and situations, but no actual sex. The murders were the only violence, other then clumsey mishaps. The murder was not graphic. Some of the action was totally unbelievable. I got tired of reading about the PI's underwear. For adult readers. I doubt if I read this author again. This book was not bad. I just did not care very much for the author's style.

    AD

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great read

    Really enjoyed this book and the characters and plot kept me reading. Will definatly read the books from this author.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    A keeper

    Throughly enjoyed, a fast paced story line, with plenty of humor as well as intrigue. Ready for the next Dix adventure!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great read!

    Loved the mystery, the pace, the characters, the wit and humor. Just purchased the next book and can't wait to get started. Highly recommend!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Love this book

    A fun fast funny read! READ IT IN 3 DAYS would have been faster if I didn't have to work

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Completely unrealistic but a fun, fast read

    This story is completely unbelievable but i still enjoyed it. Its very fast-paced and humorous. If you like fun mysteries that arent too serious or scary, you will probably enjoy it too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    FLOOZY

    Loved this book! Murder, mystery, and was funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Loved it. Sue Grafton style.

    Nice fun mystery. Enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Excellent & funny "heroine"

    Enjoyed this book so much i absolutely HAD 2 purchase the next installment! It was witty & filled with mystery up until the very end!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Fast paced and funny. Can't wait to read the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Love

    Really enjoyed this 400+ page book! Funny, couldn't put it down. Looking forward to more of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    VERY GOOD BOOK.

    INTERESTING PLOT. MADES ONE WANTING TO READ ONE MORE CHAPTER INSTEAD OF CLOSING BOOK.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Terrific!

    Well-written cozy mystery. The characters are well-developed, the plot is full of twists and turns, and you will be up all night just to find out who the murderer was. Look forward to more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    LOVED This Book!!!

    I enjoyed reading this story, it keep you interested and the characters were fun. Only problem was I had to recharge my Nook right when the story was getting VERY exciting. Could not wait to have my Nook recharged to read on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Very good!

    I enjoyed the book, didn't care for the language at times, but over all was a good book. Did not see the end coming as it did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen by N.L. Wilson

    3 Star Review from SDCexy

    This book is the beginning of a series But I still enjoyed it. Actually, I can see the author(s) using some of these lively characters in upcoming books. Not crazy about Dix and Dylan getting involved, LOVED the playing with name Det. Richard Head. I really enjoyed how the heroine gathered everyone to reveal the culprit(s).
    Disappointed with so many typO in the book:-(

    SDCexy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    another fun book in the series!

    This series is fun, quick, and entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Good

    Loved it! Read the whole series. Great fun

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Fun read, made me laugh out loud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 97 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5