BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen: A Dix Dodd Mystery

Average Rating 4
( 100 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Recommended for 30s-40s Era Mystery Lovers

A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive m...
A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive male, and their sidekick is a quirky, wise old lady. The other concession to current trends is occasional salty language that could have been left out without harming the characters or the plot. Perhaps it is there to remind us that this is 2010, not 1935-40. That said, The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen overall creates an atmosphere that is as enjoyable as the clever mystery itself.

posted by the_curious_reader on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

530 pages

The writting was a little choppy in this novel. The characters were quirky. The plot did not run smoothly. The crimes were not horribly detailed. A fact I liked. There is some contrived humor. Some of the characters were so obnoxious, I found them extremly irritating. I...
The writting was a little choppy in this novel. The characters were quirky. The plot did not run smoothly. The crimes were not horribly detailed. A fact I liked. There is some contrived humor. Some of the characters were so obnoxious, I found them extremly irritating. Ie the cop and lawyer. This mystery was pretty good, it held my interest, yet seemed overly long as the PI rambled on and on. I did not like her being called ugly over and over again in the story. This novel was pretty well edited. There was sexual insinuations and situations, but no actual sex. The murders were the only violence, other then clumsey mishaps. The murder was not graphic. Some of the action was totally unbelievable. I got tired of reading about the PI's underwear. For adult readers. I doubt if I read this author again. This book was not bad. I just did not care very much for the author's style.

AD

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended for 30s-40s Era Mystery Lovers

    A rainy day, homemade popcorn, and you're all set to read the equivalent of an old black and white, small screen, old-time cinema detective story with similar stock characters -- except that as a modern concession the PI is a tough female, her assistant is a sensitive male, and their sidekick is a quirky, wise old lady. The other concession to current trends is occasional salty language that could have been left out without harming the characters or the plot. Perhaps it is there to remind us that this is 2010, not 1935-40. That said, The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen overall creates an atmosphere that is as enjoyable as the clever mystery itself.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Completely unrealistic but a fun, fast read

    This story is completely unbelievable but i still enjoyed it. Its very fast-paced and humorous. If you like fun mysteries that arent too serious or scary, you will probably enjoy it too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    FLOOZY

    Loved this book! Murder, mystery, and was funny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Very good!

    I enjoyed the book, didn't care for the language at times, but over all was a good book. Did not see the end coming as it did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Very enjoyable book

    Fun characters combined with a good whodunnit. I bought the next book immediately after finishing this one and look forward to the next adventures of Dix & Co.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Enjoyed!

    I really enjoyed the characters and the story. Great light reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    good read

    kept my interest

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Fun

    Easy to read and follow. Fun, language a little color like the cover. Tolf from a womans view.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Good who dunnit

    Fun book, but if you are easily offended by off color language, this book is not for you. Otherwise, enjoy the ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    This was a great departure from reading books by the same author

    This was a great departure from reading books by the same authors again and again.  I'm ready for the next Dix Dodd mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Enjoying read

    While browsing books on my nook, i decided on this one. It was a interesting read, cute and was writtento keep you hooked. I enjoyed it alot and recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Loved it

    Book held my interest right to the very end, love the relationship between Dix Dodd and Dylan. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the book, the characters, story line all kept me reading a

    Loved the book, the characters, story line all kept me reading and laughing at the antics.
    First time I have read anything
    by
    this author, will be going to read more and also continue to read the dix dodd mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Fun read

    Funny, good character development. Worth the time spent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Very interesting story!

    A bit confusing at times, but all in all a very good book. Private eyes, double lives, impersonations, and a vendetta between the cop and the private eye. One can only hope that in the next book the romantic tension simmering beneath the private eye and her hunky assistant can get to a boiling point!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Love this series

    Just finished the complete Dix Dodd series, hope more come soon, and just love Dix.....I love female detectives and I love series of lite mysteries. These books have humor, romance and a story line that keeps you guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2