Customer Reviews for

The Case of the Missing Marquess (Enola Holmes Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Characters and Plot

This is a great book! It combines the Victorian England world of Sherlock Holmes with a spunky determined heroine who wants to live her own life and shun conventions. Enola's wits enable her to solve mysteries and outwit her brothers Sherlock and Mycroft. Her heart p...
This is a great book! It combines the Victorian England world of Sherlock Holmes with a spunky determined heroine who wants to live her own life and shun conventions. Enola's wits enable her to solve mysteries and outwit her brothers Sherlock and Mycroft. Her heart pulls her to keep searching for her mother, who also appears to be unconventional for Victorian times. Enola's character will appeal to many of today's girls.

posted by Anonymous on January 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enola Holmes

Springer, N. (2006). An Enola Holmes Mystery: The Case of the Missing Marquess.
New York: Puffin Books.

9780142409336

After her mother has gone missing, Enola Holmes must call for her two older brothers, one of whom is the famous detective Sherlock Holmes. Threat...
Springer, N. (2006). An Enola Holmes Mystery: The Case of the Missing Marquess.
New York: Puffin Books.

9780142409336

After her mother has gone missing, Enola Holmes must call for her two older brothers, one of whom is the famous detective Sherlock Holmes. Threatened with boarding school, Enola instead decides to escape to search for her mother. She happens upon another mystery of a ten-year-old Marquess who is missing from his home. Enola's search for both the Marquess and her mother will take her to London where she encounters a number of different characters and dangers.

Enola's voice feels authentic to the time period. This is both a strength and weakness of the novel. While giving it an authentic feel, it may make it harder for some readers to engage with. The text is well-researched and gives a lot of sensory details to try to bring the reader in.

The experience of British women in the late nineteenth century is central to this novel. It shows the expectations upon women and the feminist experience and search for freedom within a restrictive society. And it serves as a strong start to the series of books showing Enola's mysterious cases that have followed it.

I am nerdy enough to have grown up, believing the character of Sherlock Holmes to be downright sexy. Springer, at least for a large portion of the novel, manages to challenge this perception by having Holmes wander around encouraging pity for his young sister due to her small "cranial capacity." His perception of women, while authentic and humorous, angered my feminist sensibilities. Which, you know, is the point.


Activities to do with the book:

There are many lessons that this book could be incorporated into, especially those involving the history of Great Britain, the women's movement, Western thought and philosophy, the meaning and significance of flowers or exploration of Sherlock Holmes as a character.

Students could create illustrations to accompany the story. This could take the form of portraits of the characters or even studies of flowers.


Favorite Quotes:

"I would very much like to know why my mother named me "Enola," which, backwards, spells alone. Mum was, or perhaps still is, fond of ciphers, and she must have had something in mind, whether foreboding or a sort of left-handed blessing or, already, plans, even though my father had not yet passed away" (p. 5).

"I remembered Dr. Watson's listing of my brother's accomplishments: scholar, chemist, superb violinist, expert marksman, swordsman, singlestick fighter, pugilist, and brilliant deductive thinker.
Then I formed a mental list of my own accomplishments: able to read, write and do sums; find birds' nests; dig worms and catch fish; and, oh yes, ride a bicycle" (pp. 29-30).

"What on earth was he saying? That Mum had abandoned me? I sat with my mouth ajar.
"Pity the girl's cranial capacity, Mycroft," Sherlock murmured to his brother" (p. 49).

For more of my children's literature reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com.

posted by SJKessel on March 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Great Characters and Plot

    This is a great book! It combines the Victorian England world of Sherlock Holmes with a spunky determined heroine who wants to live her own life and shun conventions. Enola's wits enable her to solve mysteries and outwit her brothers Sherlock and Mycroft. Her heart pulls her to keep searching for her mother, who also appears to be unconventional for Victorian times. Enola's character will appeal to many of today's girls.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was outstanding! It takes an original and classic idea and transforms it into something bewildering! The Case of the Missing Marquess makes you wait in anticipation to see what kind of ending waits. It is the type of book you never want to put down. However, when you are finished with it, you regret you read it so fast, because it was so enjoyable! Enola Holmes mother goes missing on her fourteenth birthday she shows the ultimate courage by following her brother¿s footsteps. She investigates. When she is not satisfied with her unanswered questions she contacts her brothers who she has not seen in seven years. However, she shows a sign of reluctance because she is frustrated she could not figure it out herself. When her brothers come down they force her to try and act like a young lady and use a corset. However their attempts do not work because she rebels. A boarding school is no place for a free sprit so she does the best thing possible in the situation, she escapes, to London, disguised as a widow. The action of rebelling gives Enola a sweet taste of freedom that she has not felt in a long time. In her journey to London she hopes to find a bit of herself and her mother. While in London she reads a newspaper that says the twelve your old Marquess of Basilwether has gone missing. Enola's wild spirit decides to take on the challenge, and investigates the situation. She goes through many obstacles to save the Marquess and saves both of them from the clutches of the evil villain, known as Cutter. She also goes through all of this while keeping her whereabouts secret from her searching brothers. All of these events lead to an exiting and enthralling adventure of Enola Holmes and the Marquess of Basilweather. Nancy Springer did an amazing job on this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enola Holmes

    Springer, N. (2006). An Enola Holmes Mystery: The Case of the Missing Marquess.
    New York: Puffin Books.

    9780142409336

    After her mother has gone missing, Enola Holmes must call for her two older brothers, one of whom is the famous detective Sherlock Holmes. Threatened with boarding school, Enola instead decides to escape to search for her mother. She happens upon another mystery of a ten-year-old Marquess who is missing from his home. Enola's search for both the Marquess and her mother will take her to London where she encounters a number of different characters and dangers.

    Enola's voice feels authentic to the time period. This is both a strength and weakness of the novel. While giving it an authentic feel, it may make it harder for some readers to engage with. The text is well-researched and gives a lot of sensory details to try to bring the reader in.

    The experience of British women in the late nineteenth century is central to this novel. It shows the expectations upon women and the feminist experience and search for freedom within a restrictive society. And it serves as a strong start to the series of books showing Enola's mysterious cases that have followed it.

    I am nerdy enough to have grown up, believing the character of Sherlock Holmes to be downright sexy. Springer, at least for a large portion of the novel, manages to challenge this perception by having Holmes wander around encouraging pity for his young sister due to her small "cranial capacity." His perception of women, while authentic and humorous, angered my feminist sensibilities. Which, you know, is the point.


    Activities to do with the book:

    There are many lessons that this book could be incorporated into, especially those involving the history of Great Britain, the women's movement, Western thought and philosophy, the meaning and significance of flowers or exploration of Sherlock Holmes as a character.

    Students could create illustrations to accompany the story. This could take the form of portraits of the characters or even studies of flowers.


    Favorite Quotes:

    "I would very much like to know why my mother named me "Enola," which, backwards, spells alone. Mum was, or perhaps still is, fond of ciphers, and she must have had something in mind, whether foreboding or a sort of left-handed blessing or, already, plans, even though my father had not yet passed away" (p. 5).

    "I remembered Dr. Watson's listing of my brother's accomplishments: scholar, chemist, superb violinist, expert marksman, swordsman, singlestick fighter, pugilist, and brilliant deductive thinker.
    Then I formed a mental list of my own accomplishments: able to read, write and do sums; find birds' nests; dig worms and catch fish; and, oh yes, ride a bicycle" (pp. 29-30).

    "What on earth was he saying? That Mum had abandoned me? I sat with my mouth ajar.
    "Pity the girl's cranial capacity, Mycroft," Sherlock murmured to his brother" (p. 49).

    For more of my children's literature reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A good mystery ( :

    I really liked this book. It is set in 1888, a time of kidnappers, cutthroats, and gypsies. Enola Holmes is a girl in the midst of all this and to top it off she just happens to be the younger sister of Sherlock Holmes! Then on her fourteenth birthday her mother disappears. Even worse she is told that she will be attending boarding school. This is the last straw! Enola decides to go looking for her mother and gets mixed up in the case of young Lord Tewksbury who has gone missing too. Though this story may be a little hard to follow it was a very good book. Nancy Springer mixes the trouble with being a girl with the problems of trying to lead your own life in somebody¿s shadow. I strongly advise everyone to read it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Awesome

    Best book i've ever read......i'm in the next book of this seris
    :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    The Missing Marquess Customer Review

    Although this is only the first book I can tell this is going to be a very interesting series. As the author goes into the book, she starts right into the plot. You do not have to read the series in order but I would recommend it because the books are easier to follow this way. The Enola Holmes series is a great collection of books for both adults and kids the age of 11+ but the plot line might be difficult for some kids to follow. I think it was really ingenious that Nancy Springer created Enola Holmes because she is a lot easier for young girls and even boys to relate to. Sherlock Holmes is an amazing series as well but the language and terms used are more difficult for young kids to comprehend. These books are narrated by the young Enola Holmes who, when the book starts, as been abandoned by her mother on her birthday and the book continues she goe son this great adventure that continues throughout each book taking her deeper within the heart of London and its people. This is truly a touching series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Fun mystery novel

    It was an interesting and easy read. I think it took too long to introduce the actual story, but I understand the need to set up Enola's character and storyline--plus the mystery with her mother. I enjoyed the take off from Sherlock Holmes. It was a fun way to breathe life into an old mystery series. Plus, using a girl is perfect and a great way to appeal to young female teens in a typically male-dominated genre. This book is great for the late elementary and junior high set. I even enjoyed it as an adult. The next two books in the series are already on their way--I bought them as soon as I finished reading this one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Girl power!

    Enola is smart and funny. This book is a very good girl mystery book.I have never read a more interesting mystery book in my life! I don't even like mysteries but this made me rethink only reading fairytales. Even though this is a great read I don't suggest it for the younger crownd of girls. There were questionable things throughtout the series - example : drunken people and the descriptions of the people in London's streets. Overall good books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enola, a wonderful edition to the Holmes' name!

    This book is so engaging. I used it with my students, but we got so into it, I actually had to move on before we could finish it. However, they were borrowing the book from me and the library so they could know how it ended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Enola Holmes's Secret: by Gabriella Small

    I recommend this book 100 percent because even though there were boring parts you never felt unattached to the book! I thought those ciphers in the book were a big part in it! One of the ciphers, close to the end of the book made it so that everything was coming together and making sense to me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Love God

    I think this book had a very gripping story.I really liked it but I think u should read it and tell me what you think of it :)

    P:S if u liked this series u should try Nancy Drew:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Awesome!!!!

    I just read it today and i thought it was a cliff hanger.
    It is suspensful and adventerous, but it is very short.
    I would recomend this to people of the ages of 8-13 who are looking for a terrific mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Horse legs

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Great books!!

    These are great books they are clean but in one of them a thug calls a woman a b**** fyi do u knoenoma spelled backwards spells alone its mentioned in most of the books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    I have discovered the wonderful world of juvenile mystery novels

    I have discovered the wonderful world of juvenile mystery novels. The Case of the Missing Marquess is the first book in the Enola Holmes Mystery series. I adored this book! It is full of adventure, problem solving, and interesting characters. Enola herself is a strong young lady that is a great heroine to read about. She is smart and independent and not afraid to get her hands dirty.

    I love the inclusion of Sherlock Holmes in the story and the way Enola both admires and despises her famous older brother. It is very cleverly written.

    Content: Clean

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    AMAZING!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book! If you are 13-16 years old and looking for a mystery choose this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Love this!

    Enola is way better than Sherlock. Sorry, but Enola is much more engaging. She is eadier to relate to. And she is way cool. Nit tat Sherlock is horrible. But I never could understand thpse long winded stories. And this is less gruesome. Enola finds lost things. Sherlock however deals with creepy murder mysteries. Enola is fantastic! Go Nancy Springer!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Enjoyed reading this book! Can't wait to read the others.

    Enjoyed reading this book! Can't wait to read the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Syren

    In rl im 14. What does frush mean though?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Pup

    * growls and runs tsljo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2