Customer Reviews for

Cash: The Autobiography

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    One of My New Favorites

    I loved this book. Johnny really is a great storyteller. I'm not one for reading books more than once but I think I will with this one. If you aren't already a Cash fan this book might make you one. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    The Man In Black

    This is a superb autobiogarpghy of THE MAN IN BLACK. I think he gives us great detail of things that happened in his life. The way he came up with some of his songs and his battle with drugs. A Very interesting book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Johnny cash is the man

    Johnny Cash is more then you think. he is a man of outstanding statue. He is more then what people think he is, You can learn so much about life within this book. he had so much to offer anyone who talked to him. His life was so amazing, he did so much. Wether you like Johnny or not you sould read this book. My johnny's legend live on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2006

    Not what I expected, really, but brilliant

    Like a lot of people, I knew of Johnny Cash, and even liked a few of his songs. However, after watching Walk the Line and rediscovering his music, seeing a snippet of his life, I became enthralled. I¿ve since bought several of his albums, plan on buying more, and was quite delighted to find a copy of this book. I was expecting an autobiography, but I guess that¿s what the Man in Black is, which is sadly out of print (is anyone doing anything about that?). This book is more analogous to a journal, a collection of thoughts about Johnny Cash¿s life, career, friends, family, and music. It¿s a little disjointed, a little rambling once or twice, but who¿s journal isn¿t? It offers profound insight into the mind of one of the most brilliant musicians of our time. Anyone who has been a long time fan, or just recently discovered Johnny Cash will enjoy this book. Just don¿t expect to read the exact story portrayed in Walk The Line through Johnny¿s eyes, but do expect to gain even more respect and insight into a modern folk legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    Triumphant!

    Johnny Cash was the toughest hombre ever to walk the green, green grass of Earth. The man was built out of straps of leather and two-by-fours. Whiskey ran through his veins, and he pooped bob wire. All hail the Man in Black! Avert your eyes and prostrate yourself in his magnificent presence!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    NEW BOOK IS GREAT COMPANION!

    The new book Cash: An American Man is a perfect companion to Johnny's own autobiography. The two books go hand in hand, since Cash: An American Man is comprised of Johnny's own handwritten letters, poems, songs, memorabilia, etc. I love both books and am thrilled to have them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2004

    Cash: The Autobiography

    Johnny Cash or the ¿Man in Black¿ was one of the most influential artists, period. He is the only musician in history to be inducted into both the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the Songwriter¿s Country Music. His second autobiography gives you an in depth look at his start at Sun Records and being on the road with other legends like Elvis and Jerry Lee Lewis, the tragic death of his older brother Jack when Cash was only twelve, and living on Cinnamon Hill in Jamaica. My favorite thing about Cash¿s book was the beginning when he talked about his humble beginnings in Arkansas picking cotton with his family, and his spiritual journey which saved him from his addiction to amphetamines early in his career. His autobiography shows you all the sides to the ¿man in black¿ good and bad, from his attempt to kill himself to being robbed on Christmas Day on Cinnamon Hill in Jamaica. He was a true artist who didn¿t stop growing musically even in his last months. It¿s unlikely you¿ll find anything to not like about this book. With his tragic death last year his autobiography is a great way to remember the man in black; it gives you a greater appreciation for what he did for music. When I first began reading this book I didn¿t know much about his early life or career and soon I couldn¿t put it down. The book helps give you a better perspective on the man who broke all the rules with no apologies. With the help of Patrick Carr, Cash tells you his story as if he¿s right there telling it to you personally, intermingling life on the road and the loss of family and friends along the way. Cash¿s influence on music will be felt by everyone for decades to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2003

    Buy The REAL Cash, Not The Other Trash

    Now that the Man In Black has passed, this book is ever so essential. Don't be sucked in by the rags & trash that hit the stands trying to make a buck off of the man's name and legend. This is the real deal. By The Man himself. 'Nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2003

    Besides Man In Black, Cash is my FAVORITE!!

    Johnny Cash's books are so cool. The guy has been through everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1