Customer Reviews for

Cassidy Jones and Vulcan's Gift (Cassidy Jones Adventures, Book Two)

Average Rating 5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    This book is an excellent follow up on the first book in the ser

    This book is an excellent follow up on the first book in the series "Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula". Cassidy and Emery continue in their exploration of Cassidy's powers/abilities, encounter new foes and delve further into the murky waters of teenage relationships. Elise Stokes writing is rock solid and drives the reader to keep turning pages. I stayed up well into the early morning hours finishing this one last night. You will be tempted to do the same as well. I am so looking forward to reading "Cassidy Jones and the Seventh Attendant".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Move Over Harry Potter!

    There's new kid on the block and her name is Cassidy Jones! With 'Cassidy Jones and Vulcan's Gift, shes stronger, smarter and still manages to be a fifteen year old girl. Elise Stokes is BRILLIANT and, in my opinion, ranks up there with best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    I loved this book. There is something so thrilling about a you

    I loved this book.

    There is something so thrilling about a young girl living the secret life of a Super Hero. And what a great super hero Cassidy is turning out to be. You would think that it would take precedence over everything else, but Cassidy is a teenage girl first, with teenage feelings and aspirations who just happens to be a super hero. She loves, she hurts she cries, and carries on with her day-to-day life, yet the power she yields could so easily corrupt her in ways that would make her unrecognizable to her family and her friends.

    She is trying very hard to cope with the changes taking place, and trying to control the power within her seems all-consuming at times, but with the help of her 'sidekick', the handsome and charming Emery she is coming to terms with these incredible changes. It is not always easy, but she is no pushover and is determined to succeed.

    Another reason why I love this book, and the series, is the cast of characters that surrounds Cassidy. Each character is extremely well thought out and they all fit so well into the story, each with their own personality traits, be they good or bad, which makes for really interesting reading.

    I loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good YA adventure story.

    Oh yes, Cassidy has a little brother - his name is Chazz - I want a little boy just like him, he is adorable :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    As a parent, it's so nice to know that there are still quality a

    As a parent, it's so nice to know that there are still quality adventure stories out there for our kids to enjoy that don't need a content warning label. Cassidy Jones represents a fine role model for young women, while remaining real and fun! Girls and boys alike will love the mystery and action packed into these stories, which are cleanly written and paced to appeal to today's teens. Looking forward to more from Cassidy and Elise Stokes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2013

    If you┬┐re reading this review before purchasing Cassidy Jones an

    If you’re reading this review before purchasing Cassidy Jones and Vulcan’s Gift, don’t but it. It’ll deepen your smile lines from the perm-a-grin you’ll have while reading this book. You’ll put off work, sleep, and caring for crying children.

    In this second book in the series written in first person, you learn what an extraordinary young woman Cassidy is. Though she’s a typical teenager, she’s a good child with a loving family. Her thoughts will make you chuckle often. She has all the torment you’d expect for a fifteen year old girl, yet is genuine and intriguing. I often thought I was reading a true story written by a talented fifteen year old writer, not an adult woman making up a story.

    Cassidy makes mistakes that’ll make you shake your head, all the while realizing she had to in order to stay typical for her age and sex. Cassidy fights with her twin brother and his friends as you’d expect teenagers to do. She’s tormented by other girls at school, has a crush on a guy, but can’t get up the courage to apologize for an embarrassing mistake she made in the first book, and gossips with her female friends. All the while she and Emery, the genius fifteen year old neighbor, investigates the theft of a tiger and someone with a mysterious metal suit. The fact Cassidy has heightened senses, strength, and speed after inhaling a secret formula in the first book that mutated her are secondary to this marvelous story.

    Ms. Stokes is an extraordinary writer whose only fault is she can’t write these books fast enough. The third book in the series is being finished at this time, in early 2013. This hooked fan is patiently waiting its arrival. I’ll be like Harry Potter fans years ago who waited outside bookstores for hours for the arrival of the latest in the series.

    Readers of all ages will enjoy this series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Cassidy Jones Continues to Inspire!

    So often sequels pale in comparison to the first book, but not so with Cassidy Jones! Instead our heroine learns to control her powers more fully and even discovers some surprising new talents in her transformation from shy school girl to superhuman mutant--running faster, flinging full grown men aside as if they were rag dolls, and even scaling Seattle's iconic Space Needle. In Vulcan's Gift, Cassidy Jones still struggles with typical teen social issues--bullying, angst, and unrequited romance--all of which makes her very relatable, but author Elise Stokes manages to seemlessly weave them throughout a compelling mystery/adventure that kept my interest piqued until the very end. Cassidy's continued friendship with her extremely resourceful young neighbor adds romantic tension throughout and is sure to create legions of Team Emery's or Team Jared's. (Team Emery, of course ;) All in all, Stokes delivers another classic comic book style tale, embellished with many fine examples of courage, compassion, kindness, and doing the right thing, even when it's not the easiest course of action. Kudos to Cassidy! I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!

    If you liked Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula, than this one you will love.

    Elise has really developed the characters and their relationship well. She all introduces more of Cassidy friends and a new enemy for Cassidy. Twice the action, twice the drama, twice the fun. She also kept her crazy, out of the world villain signature for this book. The plot was action-packed and kept me reading with a table lamp. And that plot kept Cassidy up all night, too. Big surprise at the end, one that she kept hinting, but not telling it directly. So, to keep you predicting while waiting it to come in the mail or for you to find or Kindle... It all started when Cassidy signs up for the SnOOZe at the zoo, seemed like a normal day, until night feel over them...

    Take a video of a bunch of maniacs and dip it in chocolate and you have this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    A Fun, Fast-Paced, Wild Ride!!!

    I thought the first book was a terrific. I liked this one even better. There are many one hit wonders that come and go. I'm very pleased that Stokes with the second book has shown me she is the real deal and here to stay. I can't wait for the third book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first, and I LOVED the first one!

    Have you been waiting on a series that will knock your socks off? How about a series that leaves you breathless, excited, and ready for more? If you think you are ready for something like that, then you can now go to your nearest book retailer and pick up your copy of Cassidy Jones and Vulcan¿s Gift. But make sure you are properly prepared. If you don¿t have your Sasquatch hunting gear, you may be a bit outgunned¿Just a warning!

    This is the second book in Elise Stokes¿ Cassidy Jones series. Cassidy is too much for one book to handle, Stokes had to unleash her again for a second book. If you thought she and her friends took you on a wild ride before, you have no idea what you are in for when you crack open Vulcan¿s Gift.
    We get to see all of our favorite characters from the first book, and of course, we can¿t have new adventures without new and eccentric characters. What kind of fun would that be? Did I mention there was a Sasquatch? I think that was a personal favorite of mine.

    Poor Cassidy had some ¿stuff¿ happen to her in the first book that took her from regular high school student to maiden extraordinaire! Just when she started to get used to that, life gets a bit more interesting for Cassidy. Her hard-as-nails personality takes on a whole new meaning in this book ¿ just wait until you read this one! I¿m not sure how would handle the things that she goes through. But she handles it with grace (usually) and a fierce attitude that would make a lady proud. Any young girl looking for a new role model can find one in Cassidy. Any mom would be proud to have their daughter look up to Cassidy Jones.

    This story will take you on a ride that you really will be thrilled to be on. The evil is new, but just as enthralling, and Cassidy handles it the only way she knows how: full-steam ahead. Along the way, Cassidy discovers she has a few new things up her ¿sleeves.¿ She and Emery will do what they can as a team ¿ even if it isn¿t always the best teamwork. Emery and Cassidy have a few, shall we say, issues?

    I am a Cassidy Jones fan for life. I am already getting antsy to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    AWESOME Book! A Must Read!

    I love Elise Stoke's newest book, Cassidy Jones and Vulcan's Gift! It is the second in her wonderful Cassidy Jones series and this one will blow your socks off! What a great writer! Elise holds your interest from the minute you start reading this action packed book. Her writing style contains a great amount of humor, quirky characters and personal insights into Cassidy's thoughts and feelings. Cassidy Jones is bound to become the updated Nancy Drew with a twist! Cassidy has superpowers and her situations are much more complex than Nancy's ever were. This book is highly recommended for young adults and for anyone who loves to read an excellent and well written book! A 5 star book for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    "CASSIDY JONES AND VULCAN'S GIFT" (GMTA REVIEW)

    Book Title: "Cassidy Jones and Vulcan's Gift"
    Author: Elise Stokes
    Published By: Jace Publishing
    Age Recommended: 10 +
    Reviewed By: Kitty Bullard
    Raven Rating: 5

    Review: Elise Stokes has done it again, and this time she has truly gone above and beyond. After reading her first 'Cassidy Jones' book I had already fallen in love with the characters and their ability to amuse and delight me. I can say now with acute honesty that I look forward to Cassidy's adventures to continue for years to come. This is by far turning out to be one of the most amazing and well-written, middle grade to young adult series I have ever read.

    Elise's execution of character development carries a perfection that is not easy for a lot of writers to obtain within two books alone. She writes in such a way that allows her characters to grow at the perfect pace. I can't imagine anyone young or old not falling for this rewarding series. There is never a dull moment in the world of Cassidy Jones. If you truly want to buy a book series you and your kids will enjoy I encourage you to pick up both Elise Stokes' books. "Cassidy Jones and the Secret Formula" and "Cassidy Jones and Vulcan's Gift." You will not want to miss out on a single moment of this magnificent series.

    In this dynamic sequel, Cassidy and her ever-present bodyguard/best friend, Emery, are on the trail of a person that could be supremely dangerous having found an item of great power. When what should be a quiet and fun sleepover at the Catamount Zoo turns into a frightening and potentially deadly evening, Cassidy and Emery begin to suspect that the well-to-do family that owns the place may have more secrets than animals in cages.

    This book has it all, wild adventure, non-stop action, hilarious banter, family value and love, teenage angst, and excitement at every turn! Even an old urban legend makes an appearance in this delightful sequel about a fourteen year old girl that accidentally gains abilities most adults would have a hard time coping with. I cannot praise Elise Stokes or her creation enough, simply stunning and beyond superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Multi Elements Mystery, Para, Romance, Suspense. Pure awesomeness.

    Cassidy Jones and Vulcan¿s Gift is the second installment in what I believe will be a long running series that will be read for generations to come. Just eight weeks have passed in the life of Cassidy since Cassidy Jones and The Secret Formula took me on a great adventure where I fell in love with Cassidy, her family, and her friends and now Cassidy Jones and Vulcan¿s Gift picks up and runs at an amazing pace through another phenomenal story that turns out to be even better than the first. While the first adventure left Cassidy with super human strength senses and agility due to a lab accident, in Vulcan¿s Gift, she is honing in on those abilities, learning to manage herself and her ever changing emotions due to the accident, and most importantly, keeping it all a secret from everyone other than genius boy, Emery, and his scientist mother. As in her first book, Elise Stokes proves herself to be a master of suspense for tweens and teens with her ability to unfold a mystery with shocking twists and unexpected turns, all the while entertaining the reader with story lines of high school drama, relationships and pending romance. Stokes has created the perfect amateur crime solving duo with Cassidy and Emery and when circumstance throws Cassidy and Emery into another adventure of crime solving, they are not only tracking tigers and the person responsible for its escape, but they are hot on the trail to solving a murder. Not only is the suspense portion of the story well crafted, but the life experiences of Cassidy are interesting and the relationship between Cassidy and Emery is both tender and tense. Vulcan¿s Gift has all the familiar regulars who are a part of Cassidy¿s life, but new adventures brings new characters that include the strange guy next door, a big game hunter, and Sasquatch among many other mysterious and sometimes creepy personas. Elise Stokes is a gifted writer who delivers all of my favorite middle school and high school mystery novels and T.V. shows rolled into one and repackaged with a sleek, modern story line and unique thrilling characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1